We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best in Whistler” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rim Rock Cafe & Oyster Bar

Rim Rock Cafe & Oyster Bar
2117 Whistler Road, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B2, Canada
(604) 932-5565
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 167 Restaurants in Whistler
Price range: $0 - $51
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Local cuisine, Romantic, Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Hwy 99
Transit: Reliable and frequent local transit service will drop you conveniently at our driveway.
Description: In its 23rd year, the Rimrock Café has delighted diners with its innovative, fresh cuisine and emphasis on the finest fish and game, artfully prepared with inventiveness and flair. The restaurant is consistently recognized as a local’s favorite for atmosphere, service and a sublime eating experience. Behind the large glass window of our lit cellar, all manner of wines from the glamorous and recognizable to the intriguing and new seem to hum seductively. Two fireplaces cast an ambient glow over the chatter and energy of our rustic dining room. In summer, enjoy your meal on a sunny patio. The seafood antipasto for two is the perfect start to your meal. Stunning presentation meets succulent, vibrant flavor among the six exquisite tasters. Try our Venison tenderloin, served with a porcini cream and homemade spatzle. For the seafood lover, our main course Trio is a harmony of seared Ahi, nut crusted Sablefish and grilled prawns. Complete your meal with Whistler's favorite desert.
London
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“One of the best in Whistler”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Been to the Rim Rock a couple of times over the years - people keep telling us it's the best restaurant in Whistler - but even now I don't get it!

It's good - really good - staff exceptional - beautifully presented food - and tastes great.
Surroundings quite simple - in keeping with the Ski Lodge theme - and yes it's a great night out.

Worth the $20 taxi trip each way? Yeah

Better than Araxi? No.

but definitely worth a visit

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    600
    108
    25
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Worthy of all the praise and more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

We had dinner at the Rim Rock cafe last night and can safely say it's head and shoulders above what we've experienced in Whistler for both food and service.

Our table was initially close to a boisterous party of 6, dreading the evening ahead, we asked if we could be moved and minutes later we were shown to tucked away table. The reason I mention this us that they were packed, whilst we were waiting people were being turned away at the door and yet they still found the time to move us. Gold star for service!

The food was sublime. We've been quite lucky and have dined at a few Michelin stared restaurants and felt this was easily worthy of a star.

I could go on about the successful marriage between delicate flavours and lovely fresh produce but I'd drag on a bit.

Do yourself a favour, if you're in Whistler, book up and try it yourself!

Highly recommended

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best meal......ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Visited Rim Rock Cafe as we liked the look of the menu. Service was wonderful! Lovely atmosphere and the food was to die for.
If you're ever in the Whistler area, be sure to visit for a meal and definitely try the prawn cocktail, salmon or lobster mash.
We ate here a few times during our stay in Whistler, andxwere not disappointed. Each meal was incredible. Can't wait for our next visit for another meal!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New London, Connecticut, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good food but very slow service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Had dinner here last night. Had 8:45 reservations. waited 20 minutes in the front entry room which was not very comfortable area to sit or stand in. No seats available. Dinner was very good but we were so tired after skiing all day and each course seemed to take forever. The couple next to us were falling a sleep at their table because they were waiting and waiting and waiting for their food like we were. And this was on a Weds. nite so imagine the wait on a weekend.
Food was very tasty but don't be vey hungry when you get there,

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Simply amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

This restaurant was recommended to us by friends. My husband and I enjoyed a fabulous meal - from appetizer to main course to dessert. The service was attentive, friendly and without pretension. Will definitely make this a regular dinner spot on future visits to Whistler. (P.S. If you are a fan of Sticky Date Pudding, or even if you aren't, you need to try it!).

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rim Rock Cafe & Oyster Bar also viewed

Whistler, British Columbia
Whistler, British Columbia
 
Whistler, British Columbia
Whistler, British Columbia
 

Been to Rim Rock Cafe & Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rim Rock Cafe & Oyster Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.