We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad, but is it the best” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rim Rock Cafe & Oyster Bar

Rim Rock Cafe & Oyster Bar
2117 Whistler Rd, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B2, Canada
(604) 932-5565
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 164 Restaurants in Whistler
Price range: $0 - $51
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Hwy 99
Transit: Reliable and frequent local transit service will drop you conveniently at our driveway.
Description: In its 23rd year, the Rimrock Café has delighted diners with its innovative, fresh cuisine and emphasis on the finest fish and game, artfully prepared with inventiveness and flair. The restaurant is consistently recognized as a local’s favorite for atmosphere, service and a sublime eating experience. Behind the large glass window of our lit cellar, all manner of wines from the glamorous and recognizable to the intriguing and new seem to hum seductively. Two fireplaces cast an ambient glow over the chatter and energy of our rustic dining room. In summer, enjoy your meal on a sunny patio. The seafood antipasto for two is the perfect start to your meal. Stunning presentation meets succulent, vibrant flavor among the six exquisite tasters. Try our Venison tenderloin, served with a porcini cream and homemade spatzle. For the seafood lover, our main course Trio is a harmony of seared Ahi, nut crusted Sablefish and grilled prawns. Complete your meal with Whistler's favorite desert.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not bad, but is it the best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

This is a good restaurant, and very rarely have I had a bad meal here. However equally very rarely have I had an exceptional meal, or even a great meal. The prices have been going steadily up over the years, and while whistler is never going to be a cheap place to eat, rim rock is comfortably up there with the most expensive in town. It also no longer feels as relaxed to me as it once did, maybe that's just personal bias.

The long and short of it, this is a solid restaurant and if you are looking for a place to eat out tonight I doubt you will regret this choice. However is it the best in town, for me the answer is no. Would it be in my whistler top 10, yes for sure, would it be in my top 5, maybe not.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    491
    92
    19
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food and ambience, Whistlers go to”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Fabulous, really hits the mark with food with amazing flavours and presentation, being really picky the service was a little slow and no house wine. Great spot for a special occasion.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whistler, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“4 Courses; $41; FULL BELLIES”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

My husband and I went for dinner on Sunday night; a great Christmas gift from my mom; and we had an excellent experience. This isn't our first trip here, nor will it ever be our last.
We were greeted at the door by Bruce, very friendly and professional. Several of the servers said hello as they passed as well. The hostess sat us at a quiet table by the fireplace (being it's Mid-May it was off, but the ambiance was still there). Our server Murphy, came and told us to take our time, to enjoy the experience, it was our night, and did we ever. We started with cocktails, the Pomelo is highly recommended if you enjoy sweet and tart; my husband enjoyed a micro beer from Montreal, apricot flavoured. We then placed our orders, roasted beet salad for me, and the seafood antipasto for my hubby, both were delectable. We decided on a very reasonably priced Pinot Noir ($45). For our 2nd courses, I had the seafood antipasto, and hubby had the carpaccio, YUMMY! We followed with venison for the boy, and the tuna and salmon special for me. Just when we thought it couldn't get any better; it did, and we were definitely not disappointed.
Murphy told us to take our time, and the Chef would prepare dessert when we were ready. There were 2 choices for dessert, a deconstructed creme brulee with fresh fruit, and sticky toffee pudding. Well if I could have licked the plates, and we were at home, I most likely would have. They were that good!
I did ask my husband if we could just 'roll home', with full bellies, exceptional service, fantastic ambiance, the Rim Rock never disappoints!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington state
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Sublime!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Made reservations for a Friday night at 6pm. No window tables available but they seated us at a table that was apart from other customers. This was one of the nice touches that I noticed. Unlike some other restaurants, they did not seat their customers for the convenience of wait staff but rather to the benefit of the customers. They also employ enough wait staff to ensure that customers get individualized care. The hostess seated us and right away a woman came up to our table asking whether we wanted still water or sparkling water. This was brought right away. Our waiter (wish I would have asked his name) appeared soon after and for the next 2 hours took extraordinary care of us. He was extremely knowledgeable regarding the menu and wine offerings. He also presented a variety of specials for us to choose from. At his suggestion, we opted for the 4 course menu. Just as he said, the portions were just right - enough to satisfy without being too filling.

We started off with a delicious lobster bisque. For an appetizer my date had beef carpaccio and I had the chevre baked in filo with fig puree and rosemary honey, which was a superb blend of flavors. Main dishes were the halibut for me and a salmon and ahi tuna combo for my date. We swapped bites and all three of the fish selections were cooked to perfection. For the final course we both opted for their signature dessert, the sticky toffee pudding with vanilla ice cream. Our choice of wine was a 2011 Cedarcreek Viognier, which was an ideal accompaniment to each course. Our waiter kept our bottle refrigerated, appearing from time to time to refill our glasses right before they were about to be emptied.

The overall experience was top quality from start to finish.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESQUIMALT
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Delicious Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

First of all, calling this restaurant a cafe doesnt make sense. This restaurant has top of the line food, beverage and service. We had booked online and mentioned it was our anniversary, and arrived with trepidation as it was bound to be busy as it was also Mother's Day. We waited to see what would happen and were delighted to be seated by a nice private table by the window. Our server was clearly a seasoned expert with extensive food and beverage knowledge. We enjoyed delicious chilled martinis prepared to perfection. We were surprised to see the 3 course dine around menu for $31 included so many special offerings, so we were delighted to try the oysters, lobster bisque, calamari (absolutely fabulous), mussels, venison, and the seafood trio...and delicious toffee pudding for dessert. Amazing offerings, expertly prepared, perfect food temperature, served on warm platters and dishes, delivered with true grace in presentation. All of this with a full house and large noisy groups to cater to. The manager even dropped by to ask us if we enjoyed our meal and thank us. Thats how its done people ... look no further.

We drove here from Blackcomb, and there was ample parking on site, so advise is to take a cab if you'd like more than one beverage. Its worth it. Thank you to the staff at the Rim Rock for a memorable and delicious evening.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rim Rock Cafe & Oyster Bar also viewed

Whistler, British Columbia
Whistler, British Columbia
 
Whistler, British Columbia
Whistler, British Columbia
 

Been to Rim Rock Cafe & Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rim Rock Cafe & Oyster Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.