We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location & Comfortable Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Symphony Townhouse

Symphony Townhouse
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Whistler
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Symphony Townhouse
Save
You added Symphony Townhouse to your Saves list
4385 Northlands Blvd, Whistler, British Columbia, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 52 Hotels in Whistler
Victoria, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good Location & Comfortable Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We just stayed in unit 26 and, to be blunt, we were a bit worried because some of the reviews were not stellar and because some of the photos appeared to be generic for the complex rather than the unit.

It turns out our experience was great; here are our observations:

- Check in at Blackcomb lodge was close and very quick/convenient;
- Furniture is definitely a bit dated but was comfortable throughout; (Sleep rating is midling only because some of us are spoiled from amazing beds in Westin's and other high end places);
- Kitchen was well equiped; water pressure in kitchen was a problem until we realized that there was a ridciulous water saver in the tab that could be unscrewed easily enough during the stay;
- Main bedroom (off the living room) is a bit dark but otherwise totally comfy;
- Underground secured parking for 2 vehicles;
- Getting your stuff into the unit from the parking garage was a bit of a chore up one flight to ground level and then another flight to the unit which is on the 2nd level of the complex and itself has two levels; good pre-skiing warm-up!
- We were surprised that the hot tub was part of the "common" property (not a big problem, we just hadn't caught that from the description);
- Location was quite good for the price (Under $300/night for 6 of us) - kitty corner from the marketplace ... albeit a healthy 15 minute hike to the lifts if you're hauling your ski/board gear (one day we simply drove and parked which took 3 minutes and cost $8 for the day);
- Good Internet router;
- Unit had dish washing liquid (for handwash and dishwasher) but no laundry soap;

I would stay here again given the price/value combination.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    7
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

My 2nd visit to Whistler.
Great location, stayed here for a 5 day weekend with a buddy. 4 nights cost us $128 per night from March 29th to April 1st and FREE parking! I'll say it again, free parking. Hard to find in whistler, especially if you opt to rent a car. Walking distance to the grocery store + beer store. There's also 2 bus stops (free local bus) really close by, short walk with ski boots.

We had a queen bed an a double sofa bed (studio, no room), both comfortable with a full kitchen, full bath, and gas fire place. The decor is absolutely outdated, but who's complaining at that price. The hot tub access is also nice. Everything was clean and tidy, would stay again if looking for a budget stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

The Symphony townhouses are well located, close to stores and within walking distance of the village and lifts. There is a bus if you dont like to walk in ski boots! The decor is a little out of date but the units are kept clean and tidy and have all you need to self cater. There is a gas fire which is nice and BBQs on the balconies. There is access to a hot tub which is always good after skiing. There are pull out sofas if you have extra heads.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012 via mobile

#30 A little dated but comfy beds, large kitchen and eating area. 15 minute walk to hill. Very close to grocery. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

We stayed at Symphony unit #9 and booked through the Whistler/Blackcomb website. This was our second stay, we had the same unit last year. The location is excellent, easy walk to the marketplace shopping area and the rest of the main village. Free village shuttle is just across the street and drops right at the Whistler/Blackcomb gondola base. Unit has 2 bedrooms, with a king, 2 twins (which can make another king), a pullout sofa and 3 full bathrooms - very useful! Kitchen was well equipped (with the exception of an undersized kettle) so we could do our own meals. Made a great base for a ski trip, and the car could stay underground out of the snow for the whole time. The internet was not working and the property office was unable to help. We called the local cable/internet company and they reset the connection in about 30 minutes.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

Stayed in Unit #38 at Symphony, two bedroom, one with a queen, other with a double plus twin. Ideal for families with children, there were also a couple pull out couches. Was worried at first about the distance to the lifts, but the free shuttle is right in front and passes frequently, it also drops-off and picks up at convenient spot lift side. The IGA grocery store is just next door and it is a easy 10 minute walk to nice restaurants further in the village, and 3 mins to the many fast food options at the marketplace (McD's, Greek, Chinese, KFC, Dup's Burritos(very good), Quiznos.. etc) There was free underground parking and unit was very easily accessible for loading and unloading luggage and equipment. The LCD TV had multiple inputs could easily plug in laptop for viewing movies, fireplace was great as well. Complex has a hot tub, but did not utilize it on this stay. Room was very clean, more than expected. Good washer and drier and separate area for storing equipment. Great value as this was one of the cheapest units when I was looking to book. Only negatives, the rooms were a bit small and were told pipes could be frozen in one washroom, reason why water wasn't draining fast enough. Will probably request this unit on my next trip to whistler.

Room Tip: Use the free shuttle! Usually Lift Ticket deals when buy 2 or more in advance and kids should be ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

We traveled to Whistler in april for 8 nights of fun in the snow as a family (2 adults, 3 children). The apartment was in a great location, ground floor, short walk to the free bus.

The supermarket and McDonalds (the kids loved this) were diagonally across the road. The apartment was clean and roomy, beds were really comfortable and the spa was pretty much right out the front door.

I believe the apartment came with a car park too, but we didn't need to use it. I would definately reccommend for family and friends to stay here, it was the perfect location and lovely a quiet too.

Andrew, the owner, lives in Hong Kong, but was so incredibly helpful with any questions we had regarding Whistler as this was our first trip to Canada.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Symphony Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Symphony Townhouse

Address: 4385 Northlands Blvd, Whistler, British Columbia, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 52 Hotels in Whistler
Number of rooms: 103
Also Known As:
Symphony Townhouse Whistler

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Symphony Townhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.