We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't get any better” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Powders Edge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Powders Edge to your Saves list
Powders Edge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4293 Mountain Square, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1b4, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 52 Hotels in Whistler
Abbotsford
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Couldn't get any better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

My wife and I, along with our son and daugther-in-law just spent 3 nights and 4 days in this location. This was amazing. The rooms were clean, spacious, and having a private hot tub on the balcony was an incredible way to end the day. The upstairs master bedroom suite was great. The room comes with all you need to do your own meals if you want to. But there are so many food locations nearby you don't need to.
Being located at the base of the mountains it also meant it was quiet at night as the party crowds head up into the main village area (only a couple of minutes walk from the room). Also, you have access to the Hilton Resorts fitness center and out-door pool.
The staff were very helpful. They offered a later check out and allowed us to keep our cars parked after check out until we were ready to leave early afternoon.
We tried to book for a week at the beginning of September, but it is sold out. But the staff is working to help find us other suitable accommodation.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    2
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
Couples
0
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Monroe, new york
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

You can not get any closer to both gondolas. We could see exactly what was going on from our windows. Large 6 person hot tub overlooking the mt. Steam shower in extra full bathroom. Clean and has use of the hotel pool and gym without going outdoors. 2 bedrooms plus a loft bedroom plus a sleeper couch. Love it.

Room Tip: Only 6 condos at this location. Any one of them is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bothell, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I hesitate to write about this place for fear that the secret will get out. I have visited Whistler many times and this was my favorite place to stay. The condo is less than 50 steps from the entrance to the Whistler gondola. We could watch the line out the living room window and decide when to go out to beat the crowd. We had 4 adults and 2 13 year old boys in this condo. It was perfectly comfortable. There is a small hot tub (3 person) on the patio, and you can use all the Hilton pool and hot tub facilities (attached to the rear of this place) as well. Even though it is in the heart of the base, it is relatively quiet at night. The only noise is from other tenants in the hallway. We will definitely try to rent this place again in the future.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

The accomodation is given superb reviews by friends BUT we were completely unable to find it under any general listing for rental properties - whistler village accomondation.
It is the closest property to the Gondola and it has a hot tub. We have 2 sets of friends who stayed here in past years but they were not available to help us find it. The result, we could not find it using the internet!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Despite making a reservation several weeks in advance via Expedia, Powder's Edge property managers (Whistler Places) waited until 5 days before our trip to inform us that the property was overbooked. That was even after I had called after making the reservation to make sure they saw it in their system and everything was confirmed. Whistler Places tried to move our entire group to one of their other lower-priced properties (Valhalla). The properties are not comparable -- Powder's Edge is right in front of the Whistler/Blackcomb gondolas. From Valhalla it is a very long walk (far end of Village North) to the Gondolas so must people ride actually ride a shuttle. This was not going to work for our large family with little kids.

Management of Whistler Places was not willing to make this right in any way. The management team had informed me late in the afternoon of the issue, and then they were not willing to stick around to try to find an acceptable solution. I had to call around on my own to find suitable replacement properties, but of course none were available for the same or lower pricing at the last minute. Whister Places refused to pay the difference between their property and a more expensive replacement property even though this was their fault.

That is when they starting threatening me. They said that they could cancel the reservation and refund the money and there was nothing that I could do about it. They said that the problem was caused by an owner who decided he wanted to use his property for the weekend. At this point, I thought my hands were tied because even threatening legal action against Whistler Places was not going to help me find a last-minute room. Luckily, after talking with Expedia for a couple of hours, Expedia helped my family out and agreed to pay the difference to put me in suitable replacement.

Moral of the story: Be warned about Powder's Edge and Whistler Places! They may claim that the property you booked is full at the last minute and try to move you to a cheaper and less convenient condo!

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2011

5 20somethings stayed at Powder's Edge early Feb, 2011.
Things we liked:
-location (closest accommodation to Whistler Gondola)
-price
-number of bedrooms
-full kitchen
-big apartment
-free wireless
-free international calls

Things we didn't like:
-hot tub not being on a balcony - 'room' would get very hot. Saying that, we still enjoyed the hot tub!
-little pillows
-called maintainance to report broken toilet roll holder (it had come completely off the wall) and nothing was done about it
-not that we had to, but if you want new sheets or towels it's expensive
-had to remove own rubbish and recycling - we paid to stay, but had to tidy after ourselves (we're pretty clean anyway)
-no information on how to check in - we had to go into the hilton to found out where to check in

However, we would definitely stay there again because the location was excellent!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2008

Powder's Edge condos, managed by Whiski Jack, are just steps from the gondolas to both Whistler and Blackcomb mountains. They are attached to the Hilton, and guests are allowed to use the Hilton pool area. There are only six units in this building.

Our unit had an upstairs bedroom with a king-sized bed, a first-floor bedroom with a queen bed, a loft area with a queen sleeper sofa, and a queen sleeper sofa in the living room. We also had a hot tub room off the dining area, which received plenty of use!

The unit could use a little updating in the kitchen and baths, but overall was very clean and spacious. We knew it was not a Gold Crown resort going in, so we did not expect granite counters and a five-star experience. I will say that our family was very comfortable in the unit all week. Powder's Edge does have a quirky outside hallway on the third floor for entrance into each condo. Skis are to be stored in lockable racks in this outside hallway.

They provide ample towels for the week, so there is no towel exchange or housekeeping visit. Each unit has a washer and dryer. One underground parking stall is provided per unit.

I could not get over the location - this is the closest resort to the Whistler gondola, with two easy-access staircases from the strip of shops below. There is also elevator access from the connector hallway to the Hilton.

The skiing is absolutely incredible on clear days. You need a week to fully explore all the mountains have to offer in your skill range. Cloudy days can provide quite a challenge to the beginner-intermediate crowd. Thick clouds can settle in directly at mid-mountain, causing a nearly-blind trip down. Luckily, you can download on most lifts and gondolas if the weather is too difficult.

The village provides plenty of entertainment and shopping, and is easily walkable all the way from the base area to the Marketplace in Village North. Even the Blackcomb base is accessible in 5-10 minutes via a walking path. Parking in the main village is all underground, so the main area is pedestrian-only.

We visited during the first week of April 2008. Plenty of snow everywhere. We can't wait to return to Whistler, and would gladly stay at Powder's Edge again!

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Powders Edge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Powders Edge

Address: 4293 Mountain Square, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1b4, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Powders Edge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's all in the name. . . Powder's Edge places you mere steps from the Whistler Express Gondola. So much more than a hotel room, the luxurious two-bedroom + loft condos feature full kitchens and private hot tubs. Oh, there's more: Guests also receive full access to the outdoor pool, hot tub and fitness area of the Hilton Whistler Resort. Provided in-suite is HD cable TV and complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Powders Edge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Powders Edge Condominiums Hotel Whistler

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Powders Edge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.