We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a disgrace” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Whistler Luxury Condos

Whistler Luxury Condos
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Whistler Luxury Condos to your Saves list
Whistler Luxury Condos
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4211 Village Square, Whistler, British Columbia VON 1B4, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 52 Hotels in Whistler
NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“what a disgrace”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2009

Booked a penthouse. We were 4 people (with an additional 2 staying in another apartment in the same building). Paid top dollar for our "special Christmas skiing holiday". Have waited years for this! Everything was a disaster from beginning to end. Stay somewhere else!

- common areas were a construction site. construction noise all day. access codes were installed whilst there which didn't work half of the time. entry to the building for the first half of the stay was through the back door and a fire exit!

- electrical wiring obviously couldn't support the installations in the apartment. Eg. spa and sauna can't be used at once. We found out the hard way, which resulted in our hot tub being unusable for half of our two week stay. Then fuses kept tripping endlessly for the rest of the stay - couldn't use oven and hotplates at same time without causing a trip (ruining our planned christmas dinner!)

- wood, same experience as other posters. not enough wood. additional wood was supplied but reluctantly.

- piped music in common areas could be heard all night long in the upstairs bedroom through the walls

- cleaners arrived twice at 3:30 - 4pm just as we would return from skiing. not ideal. we sent them away, so our apartment did not get cleaned. Once, cleaners or management entered the apartment whilst we were out and then failed to lock the door. We returned to find the door open, but thankfully nothing stolen!

- washing machine and dryer were malfunctioning. washing machine stopped mid cycle.

- views? well as long as it doesn't snow! the slanted windows on the apartment were fine, but as soon as it snowed it made the apartment dark, and with no view at all, resulting in a claustrophobic feeling.

All of this resulted in daily calls to "management". They actually were the owner of the apartment we stayed in and they had previously lived there, so it felt as if we were imposing on their home - rather than renting an apartment. Management strained politeness but was a thin veneer.

For the price we paid, this was all shocking to us and we strongly recommend you do not stay here.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, Owner at Whistler Luxury Condos, responded to this review, January 17, 2012
Although three years have passed, I want to thank you for your thorough review. I’m sorry you and your family had a negative experience staying with us at Whistler. First and foremost, I'm sorry you felt as if you, as our guests, were imposing upon us. We’ve loved our time in Whistler, and we opened these suites so that others may enjoy it as much as we have. We rent self-service, luxury condominiums. Your condo is completely your own during your stay. The aim is for guests to enjoy an independent vacation, unlike staying at a hotel or resort. Thus we do not offer full-service attention to the guests, as a hotel or resort would. We feel that was misunderstood during your stay, as your expectations were more than we provide for guests or ever promised to provide. For example, we typically only provide the initial firewood; upon your request, we carried three cords more to your condo ourselves. Indeed, we were finishing the details of renovating the staircase at the time, and we are sorry for any inconveniences you encountered as a result. The electrical problems that persisted were not due to those renovations, however. The main electrical breaker blew during your visit because of the number of appliances in the condo that were running at the same time— an incident we've never experienced in over twenty years of managing the property. Once reconnected, the electric surge overwhelmed and broke the control panel of the hot tub, which we came and repaired for you on Christmas Eve. We tried our very best to accommodate your family and meet your expectations, given your misconception that we were a full-service lodging. Thank you again for your feedback; we have learned from this and are always improving. We hope your family still enjoyed their Christmas in Whistler, and all Christmases since.
Warm regards,
Michael Rabkin, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    2
    0
    0
    4
See reviews for
5
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2008

I stayed here with more than two people and was only given two keys and since there is no lobby or code for the main entry we struggled to coordinate getting in and out of our unit. .We also had a non-functioning hot tub which was a big selling point in selecting this facility. There was also no wireless connection from the advertised "internet accessible" computer that was in the unit (we were told that it was removed by the staff). Although the wood burning fireplace was lovely we were given only 3 logs and when we wanted to lay another log on the fire later in the evening were unable to reach the management company for a re-fill so we ended up buying our own wood from the local store.

  • Stayed February 2008
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, Owner at Whistler Luxury Condos, responded to this review, January 11, 2012
We have just begun using our TripAdvisor account, and I wanted to reach out to thank you for your review back in 2008. I’m sorry about the inconveniences you encountered during your stay. We have since undergone complete renovations to enhance the comfort and luxury of each suite. Through those renovations, we have secured wireless internet inside and working hot tubs on each private patio. In addition, we’ve installed widescreen TVs and surround sound in the living rooms and master bedrooms. We appreciate your feedback on the fireplace wood and have taken that into account as well. We hope you and your group enjoyed your visit to Whistler! In the future, we would love to welcome you back again. We know we have what it takes to impress you!
Warm regards,
Michael Rabkin
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2007

We want to get the word out to everyone to NOT every stay at Whistler Luxury Condos. We used a credit card for our stay and the management has continued to bill additional undisclosed charges. They are making false claims of damage to a jacuzzi cover which we did not do and charged our card $500.00 without authorization. We paid over $4,000 for a one week stay and would never do business with unethical individuals such as this ever again.

Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, Owner at Whistler Luxury Condos, responded to this review, January 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review us back in 2007, especially as this gives me the opportunity to address your concerns. I'm sorry for the unpleasant results of your stay a few years ago. However, the excess amount we were obliged to bill you cannot be classified as an "undisclosed" charge— it was a cost incurred by your damage deposit. The jacuzzi cover was a vinyl, foam-filled, insulated cover. In this instance, the cover could only have been broken by someone either sitting or standing on it. When you disputed the charge with your credit card company, we provided them with photo documentation of the damaged cover as well as the bill for its replacement. They upheld our repair costs and denied your dispute. We would never charge our guests unfounded, hidden charges— nor would we practice any other unethical form of business. Our aim is to ensure a comfortable, relaxing stay for all guests. Thank you again for staying with us; I'm very sorry for the misunderstanding. I hope you enjoyed your time in Whistler, and you are always welcome back.
Best,
Michael Rabkin, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whistler hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Whistler Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#11 of 52 in Whistler
4.5 of 5 stars 1,541 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sundial Boutique Hotel
Sundial Boutique Hotel
#8 of 52 in Whistler
4.5 of 5 stars 603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Nita Lake Lodge
Nita Lake Lodge
#2 of 52 in Whistler
4.5 of 5 stars 1,234 reviews
2.1 mi away
First Tracks Lodge
First Tracks Lodge
#1 of 52 in Whistler
5.0 of 5 stars 372 reviews
0.6 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Whistler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whistler Luxury Condos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whistler Luxury Condos

Address: 4211 Village Square, Whistler, British Columbia VON 1B4, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Whistler
#9 Luxury Hotel in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Whistler Luxury Condos 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury condo accommodation in Whistler, BC, Canada is the starting point of any great vacation or business trip. Located at the center of Whistler Canada Village in beautiful, world-famous Whistler Resort, our condo properties are luxuriously appointed, intimate lodge suites where enjoying life is your only obligation! Step outside your door and you are at the heart of Whistler Village. Steps to the lifts swiftly transport you up into the upper alpine of the mountains for the ultimate in skiing, snowboarding, dining and sightseeing adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Whistler Luxury Condos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whistler Luxury Condos Hotel Whistler
Luxury Condos Hotel Whistler

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whistler Luxury Condos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.