We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We like this place!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pan Pacific Whistler Village Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Pan Pacific Whistler Village Centre to your Saves list
Pan Pacific Whistler Village Centre
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   4299 Blackcomb Way, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 52 Hotels in Whistler
Redmond, Washington
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“We like this place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

My wife, two daughters (ages 8 & 11) and I stayed at the Pan Pacific Whistler Centre for a 2nd year in a row during the President’s Day holiday weekend. Apart from a few hiccups and a few changes, we like this hotel very much and enjoyed our stay.

Arrival/check in
We drove up from Seattle and arrived right around 8PM on Thursday night just like the previous year. Once again, not that busy, but it took several minutes for a porter/valet to come out and see if he could help. As we were waiting, there was another guy who was in the process of loading the Pan Pacific SUV with ski equipment to transfer over to the lockers located at Pan Pacific Mountainside. I couldn’t help but think that with all the stuff getting loaded, that it could be confusing when it came time to unload. Anyway, I watched him load everything, and then we grabbed a luggage cart and started unloading everything ourselves. A couple minutes into it the porter came over to help. We went ahead and valeted the car and went inside to check in. Front desk not busy, we were originally booked in a studio, and the front desk kindly upgraded us to a one bedroom on the 3rd floor. We appreciated this very much.

Room
We stayed in a one bedroom the previous year, so no surprises this time. Definitely glad we had the extra space and privacy. Everything in the room was in good working condition, the thermostat worked just fine, but we ended up using the fireplace as our primary source of heat.

Once again we faced the fire station, and luckily this time around, there was only one emergency where the fire engines had to go out in the middle of the night. A bigger issue are the drunks that feel the need to scream at the top of their lungs at 2AM, but I don’t think a higher floor would have eliminated the noise, and it is definitely not Pan Pacific’s issue, but a nuisance just the same.

Location
We really like the location of this hotel as it is only a 5 minute walk to the slopes. As mentioned before, the hotel transfers the ski equipment to the lockers at Mountainside, so you do not have to carry anything which is very nice. Grocery store, liquor store, sporting goods store, restaurants (Earl’s is right across from the lobby), you name it and it is very close by.

Equipment Transfer
One of the appreciated services is the equipment transfer service offered by Whistler Centre to the lockers at Mountainside. We did experience a couple issues that gave us pause – my daughter’s snowboard was not in the locker when we showed up to ski on the first day which freaked us out a bit. But we went to the Mountainside concierge and they had the snowboard – the room sticker fell off in transit. And the unfortunately when we checked out, we discovered on of my daughter’s poles was missing. After 15 minutes of looking for it, the conclusion was that a previous family must have taken it by mistake. The pole was not expensive, but the fact that someone could take gear out of the hotel storage on their own tells me that some processes have to be changed. Had it been a snowboard or skis, then the issue would have been much more serious.

Breakfast / Manager’s Reception
We definitely appreciate these value added services. As Whistler Centre does not have a restaurant/bar attached, they provide this to their guests and include it in the price of the room. In the previous year, the breakfast was more substantial, more choices, more selection, but still the new breakfast is pretty darn good. Had I not experienced it last year, I wouldn’t have had any other opinion. So no big deal. The manager’s reception (happy hour) was changed where before you could get wine, beer, cookies, hot chocolate, no real limit (but don’t be greedy!), and it was all on the house. Now there is a limit of one drink per person, and anything over, you pay. Similar to the breakfast, if I had nothing to compare it to, I wouldn’t think twice about it. Whistler Centre doesn’t have to do anything, so in its current format, I still think it’s nice. Hopefully they won’t completely do away with it and charge for everything.

Facilities
Every day after skiing we ended up at the swimming pool and hot tub. The pool is heated, the kids loved it, but kind of chilly for me. It is a pretty fun scene there as people bring their own beer to drink and relax, and they may even bring extra to share! Lots of kids running around, and they all end up in the pool to play with each other, while the adults drink beer in the hot tub and try to heal their tired/sore muscles in preparation for skiing the next day. We like the fact that the hotel provides bathrobes & slippers, and it’s perfectly acceptable to walk around in the bathrobe!

Overall
Apart a few of the issues and changes mentioned above, we really like this hotel and will remain loyal customers for next year’s trip to Whistler. We love staying here and highly recommend this hotel to others!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley M, Manager at Pan Pacific Whistler Village Centre, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
HI Kurt,

Many, many thanks for the exceptionally detailed report of your thoughts and experiences with us here in resort.

Firstly, please let me apologise on behalf of the team for the 'hiccup's with your equipment transfers and storage. I hope that these did not inconvenience you and your family in anyway and please allow me the opportunity to offer to replace your daughters ski poles if we can for you.

Overall we are naturally very pleased to read that once again, you all had a thoroughly good time with us here in resort and appreciated the details from your comfortable suite, the properties amenities - such as the hot tub and pool facilities and the complimentary buffet breakfast and apres hour.

Of course, we do genuinely appreciate your feedback and comments and these will be duly considered by our senior management team going forward.

Once again, thank you for kindly providing this invaluable feedback and allowing us the opportunity to host you all once more.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if I can assist with replacing your daughters ski poles or with any other matter and hopeully, we can look forward to welcoming you back in the future someday.

Warm regards,

Ashley McMillan - Guest Experience Manager - Pan Pacific Whistler - ashley.mcmillan@panpacific.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

950 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    712
    192
    30
    12
    4
See reviews for
421
323
11
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
vancouver
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for the second time during Spring Break for one week, to celebrate my husband's 65th birthday. We had a great experience. The staff were very friendly, helpful and accommodating. Not only did they arrange all our reservation requests before we arrived, but they also dealt with a disappointing experience we had with one of our reservations. The staff dealt with this in a proactive way and suggested an alternative, which turned out to be much better than the original reservation. They even remembered my husband's birthday and he found a card signed by the staff and a delicious chocolate left for him in the room. These are the "little things" that make for a great experience. The room was comfortable, the beds were very comfortable, the shuttle service they provided was very helpful. We will certainly return to this hotel next time we are in Whistler. Thank you, Pan Pacific staff...you are the best!

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor to reduce street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley M, Manager at Pan Pacific Whistler Village Centre, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Marissa,

Thank you for kindly taking the time to share your trip experiences with us.

We were thrilled to help share your husbands 65th birthday celebrations with us here in resort and only too happy to provide a little gift and card from the team to wish him the best.

I am very pleased of course, to read that you found all your interactions with our team to be nothing but helpful, friendly and accommodating and that we were able to turn one of your restaurant 'experiences' around for you.

Naturally we'd love to see you back in resort, so please stay in touch and hopefully we can welcome you back in the near future.

Warm regards,

Ashley McMillan - Guest Experience manager - Pan Pacific Whistler - ashley.mcmillan@panpacific.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

What a great place- we chose the Canuck Suite for the 4 of us and truly enjoyed our view, beds and complete accommodations. Staff was outstanding with big smiles and great recommendations. They helped us get all our lessons scheduled, tickets purchased and ski equipment rented- set us up for snowmobiles and made some great dinner recommendations too! We'll be back-

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley M, Manager at Pan Pacific Whistler Village Centre, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you kindly for taking the time to generously share your experiences online with us here.

We are thrilled that you all had such a great time staying with us here in Whistler. It is so nice to read that you so enjoyed your suite the 'Canuck Place' suite and all its amenities and that you evidently found all interactions with our team to be nothing but helpful, friendly and efficient.

We'd love to hold you to that statement and we shall look forward to hearing from you again so that we may welcome you back someday - soon hopefully.

Warm regards,

Ashley McMillan - Guest Experience Manager - Pan Pacific Whistler - ashley.mcmillan@panpacific.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

Clwe stayed here in April 2013.
Loved our stay here. The only downer really is the price. It's more than the average Whistler hotel but it's worth it.
The rooms were of nice size, clean, also breakfast was included (it was a really good and scrumptious) , location is also very good. It's far enough so you can't hear the noise from the nightclubs and pubs and close enough to walk down to the village centre literally Just down the steps from the village stroll.
Loved it!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley M, Manager at Pan Pacific Whistler Village Centre, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your recent review from your time in resort with us.

I am thrilled to read that you so enjoyed your suite and its amenities, our convenient location and the scrumptious complimentary buffet breakfast.

Hopefully, in time we can welcome you back to enjoy more of the same treatment all over again.

Best regards from Whistler,

Ashley McMillan - Guest Experience Manager - Pan Pacific Whistler - ashley.mcmillan@panpacific.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

We had reserved a 1 BR suite and were pleasanlty upgraded to 1BR/den studio. This hotel is right next to a holiday inn which sort of cheapens the whole experience. The service is very mediocre. The suite was nice but nothing of a wow factor! I have stayed at numerous Pan Pacific hotels and they definitely have better places elsewhere. My husband had tried to get recommendations for some excellent spa services prior to our travel and the hotel concierge was not able to recommend any..that was very surprising. I definitely had a better luck getting out a few recommendations from the Pan Pacific mountainside which is right by the mountain lifts. The breakfast was average with nothing to brag about, almost like what one would expect at the neighboring Holiday Inn.

In my opinion, we may have paid a tad bit too much to have stayed at a Pan Pacific but not experience any of the amenities or services. The suite was more like a 1 BR condo with a nice kitchenette, the bathrooms were what you would expect in an apartment...it essentially is that! There are a lot of other options in whistler and I would not spend a fortune to stay at this hotel again. We just made our reservations for our next vacation to Whistler in May and are hoping for a better stay and experience at the Nita Lake Lodge.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley M, Manager at Pan Pacific Whistler Village Centre, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for kindly taking the time to share your recent trip experiences.

I'm pleased to read that you were pleasantly greeted with your complimentary room type upgrade and that you found our convenient location to your satisfaction.

However, I am naturally a little disappointed to learn that you found some of our services to be below your expectations. Your comments have most certainly been passed onto our senior management team, but I would personally welcome the opportunity to discuss your experience and your feedback in a little more details so that we can perhaps better understand where we can learn and continue to improve.

Of course, your constructive feedback aside, on behalf of the whole team here, we hope that none of this detracted from your overall experience here in resort with us and we'd love the opportunity to welcome you back some day.

Yours sincerely,

Ashley McMillan - Guest Experience Manager - Pan Pacific Whistler - ashley.mcmillan@panpacific.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

We stayed here Mar 8-15, 2014 which is our Ontario March Break Week.
The hotel was busy but was never any lineups for the delicious and abundant buffet breakfast each morning from 7-10. The dining room was maintained and dishes quickly cleared plus staff always cheerful.
The 2 bdrm suite was perfect. A full kitchen meant we saved money be eating dinner in 5 of our 7 nights. Coffee was provided and all dishes and pots required. I was impressed by the supplies. The fireplace in the living was cozy and I loved our bathrooms with separate shower. Aveda bath products are also a favourite of mine. Softy cushy robes sealed the deal.
BistroLounge served 1 comp drink each day from 4-5.
The pool/hot tub/sauna was lovely. Turn up the sauna to 10 if you like it hot.
The spa offered $99 specials and 30% off midweek ... I had a facial which was very nice for a treat.
Location is key. Convenient to walking in the Village but on the edge although the partying crowd sounds could still be heard as we were on the 3rd floor.
Ski storage was ideal at their partner hotel the Pan Pacific Mountainside.
I would definitely return to this property based on location, amenities and staff.

Room Tip: Choose a room higher up to avoid street sounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley M, Manager at Pan Pacific Whistler Village Centre, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for very kindly taking the time to share your recent trip experience with our online community. Your feedback in genuinely appreciated.

We are all absolutely thrilled that you very obviously had a great stay with us during your Ontario March break.

Your detailed run down of the various areas that evidently complimented your time pretty much covers the majority of our offerings and on the whole it is pleasing to read that you so appreciated all the property amenities such as the outdoor hot tubs and pool, your comfortable but cozy suite, the complimentary drinks at the apres hour, the complimentary buffet breakfast and the convenient location of our property amongst many other areas.

We would naturally love to see you back in resort and would welcome the opportunity to host you once again.

Warm regards,

Ashley McMillan - Guest Experience Manager - Pan Pacific Whistler - ashley.mcmillan@panpacific.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

From start to finish, our stay at the Pan Pacific Village was excellent.
-Overall decor is updated and warm.
-Room was very nicely decorated and and appointed. We used the kitchen for about half of our meals. The gas fireplace was wonderful for apres ski time. Modern, comfortable and cozy all around. (We were in a 2-bedroom suite.)
-The hotel had a very good buffet breakfast included with hot and cold offerings.
-Apres ski "happy hour" with complimentary cookies, drink/hot chocolate was lovely, and the manager was there every day we went to check on our stay.
-Outdoor pool and hot tub were lovely and heated perfectly for a swim in the snow - big highlight for the kids.
-Laundry room was very good for self serve laundry, hotel laundry service also available.
-Convenient exits on multiple levels, so you can avoid stairs with small kids/stroller.
-Concierge was awesome arranging our transportation, sleigh ride, restaurant reservations, babysitting, and lending us a sled for the day.
-Katie did babysitting for us for two evenings, and she was terrific.
-Location is phenomenal, Mountain side is truly ski in/out, but this was only a five minute walk through the village.
-Complimentary ski storage at the Mountainside location in a lovely ski valet/locker room was a great benefit and made our ski days stress free.

Recommended for anyone! We would stay again!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley M, Manager at Pan Pacific Whistler Village Centre, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you kindly for your very comprehensive review and shared feedback. This is very much appreciated.

It sounds like your family had a great time in resort here with us and I'm so pleased that everything from our property and in suite amenities, to the hosted apres hour and complimentary buffet breakfast seemed to hit the right notes for you all.

I'm glad that everyone was able to assist you throughout your stay and hopefully helped enhance your vacation memories.

We shall look forward to hopefully welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Warm regards,

Ashley McMillan - Guest Experience Manager - Pan Pacific Whistler- ashley.mcmillan@panpacific.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pan Pacific Whistler Village Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pan Pacific Whistler Village Centre

Address: 4299 Blackcomb Way, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Whistler
#2 Luxury Hotel in Whistler
#2 Family Hotel in Whistler
#5 Romantic Hotel in Whistler
#9 Business Hotel in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pan Pacific Whistler Village Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pan Pacific Whistler Village Centre is an intimate, family-friendly oasis located in the heart of the Village stroll, yet a 5 minute walk from the Gondolas to both mountains. Complimentary perks include a daily breakfast buffet, wireless Internet, local calls, in-resort shuttle and slope-side valet ski/bike/golf storage. Spacious suites feature full kitchens, bathrooms and balconies and range in size from Studios to Three Bedrooms with Den. Enjoy spectacular mountain views from the sunny deck with salt-water pool and two hot tubs and sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Pan Pacific Whistler Village Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pan Pacific Whistler Village Centre Hotel Whistler
Whistler Pan Pacific

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pan Pacific Whistler Village Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.