We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average, Nothing More” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gone Whistler Village Eatery

Gone Whistler Village Eatery
4205 Village Square, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
604-938-1990
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #53 of 165 restaurants in Whistler
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Vancouver Island
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Average, Nothing More”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Went here on a recommendation of a local for lunch, but were not impressed. Food seemed rather bland and ordinary.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    24
    26
    3
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
washington state
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Unique Little Cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Just came back from a weekend in Whistler, BC. Did some research on tripadvisor and read about the Gone bakery. Without tripadvisor reviews we never would have found this place. Yesterday we picked up food for dinner. My partner had the beef stew with jalapeno bread and I had the chicken curry with brown rice. The beef stew was a bit too thick and was bland. The bread was quite good. I really enjoyed my curry dish but wished it had a bit more curry in the sauce. The price for dinner was really reasonable - around $17.00. The next morning we went for breakfast. We both had lattes, my partner had the breakfast kaiser and I had the breakfast wrap and we got a cookie to go. The cost was $27.25 which I felt was a bit steep for breakfast. The only thing I feel was a bit too high were the lattes. It's unusual to go to a local coffee joint and pay more than Starbucks would charge. We were both happy with our breakfast sandwiches but both agreed that my wrap was the better of the two although I had asked for the tomatoes to be put on the side - when it came there were some on the side but they also put them in the wrap which I had asked them not to do.

This is a walk up to the counter to order and pay kind of place. They will bring your food to the table but don't check back with you. In other words, if you want to be waited on this is not the place to go. However, if you want to find a laid back place that offers a really interesting variety of food then you should try it. I would go back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“2 Words! Breakfast Wrap”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

This place is well priced, especially on a backpackers budget! Their food literally kept me going during some rough times! The homemade aspect was great - nice hearty food to warm your belly :) As well, the breakfast wrap, I found to die for, and a great start to the day before going up the mountain! (Also, great for a hangover)! Wifi's set up well and the place feels really cosy & casual! Lovely little place, if I end up in Whistler again, I will definitely be dropping in :)

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Keenly Priced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Stopped here for a coffee prior to going dog sledding (they share premises with Whistler Dog Sled Co). Friendly service, well priced organic drip coffee - only $2.50 for 16 oz cup. Cozy spots to sit and also has free wifi and computers (paid for) and a printer in the internet cafe part of the shop. More of a locals vibe than some overpriced places on the Village Stroll.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great place to get some work done!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I've looked all over Whistler for places to work and this one is the best! They have free wifi and great soups, coffees, hot chocolates... all the ingredients to keep you focussed! It's also fairly quiet as it's hidden away behind a book store. Staff are friendly and will attend to you occasionally (to offer food/drinks) if you say you are working.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gone Whistler Village Eatery also viewed

Whistler, British Columbia
Whistler, British Columbia
 
Whistler, British Columbia
Whistler, British Columbia
 

Been to Gone Whistler Village Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gone Whistler Village Eatery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.