We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bucket List Item Knocked off the list” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coast Range Heliskiing

Coast Range Heliskiing
218-4293 Mountain Square, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
18007018744
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 65 Activities in Whistler
Type: Ski/ Snowboard Areas
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Coast Range Heliskiing is Whistler's premier boutique heliskiing and boarding operation, offering the most authentic backcountry powder experience available. We fly in small groups of 4 to 5 guests, ensuring every experience is tailored to the group or individual. With over 200,000 acres of diverse terrain from big mountain powder lines to secluded tree skiing, you can be sure no two days with Coast Range Heliskiing are ever the same! Book your CRH adventure today and see what makes us Whistler's boutique heli-skiing outfit of choice!
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Bucket List Item Knocked off the list”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I posted this same review on Yelp...

"All of the Heli-trip companies are good, but the one the locals scrounge their pennies up for is Coast Range". This is what a season pass-holder from Seattle told us while hanging out at the hot tub at the Westin.

My wife and I came to Whistler for our honeymoon and decided to knock off one of our bucklet list items. Had the previous 2 years in Tahoe been decent, we would probably be in Tahiti. We did some research and decided on CRH because they only take groups up to 5.

We got picked up at 745 at our hotel and met our fellow skiers and got to out pick up point about 1/2 hour later in Pemberton. We met our guides Tyler and Graham. They had pastries, fruit and coffee waiting for us. They then sat us down to go over the saftey gear which included the avalance transponders. When the helicopter arrived the explained the procedure and saftey rules. Never once did we feel we would be put in harms way.

They picked a peak about 10-15 minutes away. We booked the 6 runs option (were dying after 4), had lunch after 5 runs and paid for two additional runs. The had sandwiches, salads and soup waiting for us. Every run was on percect unbelievible terrain. For any avid skiier, this is a must do.

Only negative...we were their last trip of the season and you'll have to wait till December.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    0
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
1 review
“Best Heliskiing experience of my life!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

I've Heliskied around the world and enjoyed all of it. But after my first heliski trip with CRH 11 years ago, the consistent quality of terrain, safety, consideration for all guests and great times, I had to write a recommendation. From my experience, this is the best heliskiing in the world. I had a good feeling from these guys as soon as I rang up for my first reservation. They are a simple outfit of local people who Love what they do. The amount and quality of terrain is unbeatable. The guides and staff are super knowledgable, safe, and genuine. They know this Terrain and always find the best snow. Whether you come to Heliski with CRH for a week or just for a day away from Whistler, they always come thru! Thanks guys!!!!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
“Great service, terrain, and company!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

This is a top notch operation from start to finish! The day starts in Whistler Village where they pick you up for a short 30 minute drive to their base in beautiful Pemberton. After breakfast, a short meet and greet with your guide and introductions to your ski partners for the day we receive about 45 minutes of avy/beacon training before we started for the day. We were at the top of our first run by about 10am and managed to squeeze in 8 by the end of the day, including about 45 mins for a mountain-top lunch. They offer two packages of 4 or 6 runs, which you will almost certainly exceed, seems like the average is more like 8-12 for the keenest groups. At $95 a pop for extra runs, this can add up quickly but when you're out there it seems totally worth it! I will definitely return for another day next season, thanks for a great day out!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whistler, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best snowboarding day ever. Period.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I'd been wanting to go Heliskiing or catskiing for over a year now without ever being able to make it happen but when some mid-March snow fell with forecasted blue skies for the days after I knew this was the chance for me and some friends.

We looked around the village at various operators but from the start Coast Range Heliskiing stood out. Friendly staff in the resort shop introduced us to what Coast Range Heliskiing offered and from there we were sold. Small groups of no more than 5 per helicopter (unlike other companies), knowledgable guides and a 200,000 acre playground in the Pemberton area!

The day started early with a pick up in resort before being taken to the base of operations outside of Pemberton. Here we received a weather and snow briefing along with a continental breakfast before becoming acquainted with our avalanche transceivers under the enthusiastic guidance of Jeff our guide for the day. 30 minutes later and we had been introduced to the helicopter and we're heading up the valley by shuttle to the first pick up of the day.

From here the day passed into the best day snowboarding I've ever had. We signed up for six runs and ended up doing an additional seventh because it was THAT good!

To summarise it succinctly isn't possible but at no point was there not the chance to take fresh lines in the lightest powder I've ever experienced and all under an amazing blue sky. We tackled steep alpine pitches, gullies and gladed tree runs but on top of the great conditions and blue skies it was Jeff and Tyler (our guides for the day) who really made the difference. They were genuinely excited to be skiing the same lines and kept enthusiasm up all day - although it didn't take much!! They take pictures of you throughout the day and at the end put on a slideshow along with a complimentary beer and snacks - a great touch! Don't worry about paying for the pictures either as they'll send you them for free - added bonus!!

In summary if you are on the fence for heliskiing or boarding then do it, you won't regret the expense once you're up there! If you are in Whistler and on the fence with who to go with then go Coastal Range Heliskiing. Small helicopters means small groups and a personalized service. Coastal Range have a lease on over 200,000 acres of land for themselves and the guides are fantastic which, when combined, means you'll always get the best conditions with no one else around! Thanks Tyler and Jeff, will not be forgetting that day!

Tony

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Day started out slow with all the safety class/information but i fully understand why we needed the safety training. After that, the day was a BLAST. Great guide (thanks, Ty), beauiitful sights and wonderful snow. Memories forever....thanks.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coast Range Heliskiing also viewed

Revelstoke, Kootenay Rockies
Whistler, British Columbia
 
Whistler, British Columbia
Revelstoke, Kootenay Rockies
 

Been to Coast Range Heliskiing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coast Range Heliskiing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.