We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Confusing Dual Locations” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain Side Hotel Whistler by Executive

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Mountain Side Hotel Whistler by Executive to your Saves list
Mountain Side Hotel Whistler by Executive
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Building B, 4250 Village Stroll, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 52 Hotels in Whistler
Vancouver, BC
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Confusing Dual Locations”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

The Executive Inn is the management company of two properties in Whistler Village:

1) 4417 Sundial Place - Mountain Side Hotel - "MountainSide Hotel Rooms" (aka Mountainside Lodge).

2) 4250 Village Stroll - The Executive Inn - "VillageSide Hotel Rooms" (previously called The Fireplace Inn).

To add to the confusion, the Mountain Side Hotel is also managed by another company who have their front desk in the Mountain Side Hotel lobby, while the Executive Inn front desk is at 4250 Village Stroll (check my village photo for details). Fortunately, both are within easy walking distance of each other.

Our room at the Mountain Side Hotel did not look anything like the Executive Inn photos on the website, because all the website photos are interior shots of the 4250 Village Stroll location. Destination travellers should be warned that rooms may not appear as advertised & to confirm their specific hotel address and the immediate amenities on site. Our room was a studio with a murphy bed with apartment sized appliances, air conditioning, gas fire, TV, small jetted tub, & free wireless internet. Our south-facing room overlooked the pool & hot tub area which can be enjoyed by guests staying at either location. The hot water was problematic when showering, switching from scalding to freezing in seconds; prompting me to conclude that it's much better to freeze than burn, but also conclude that they need a plumbing upgrade.

The Mountain Side Hotel features its own parkade (fee) & storage lockers for equipment. The storage locker diagram both on the door & inside the locker room bears no resemblance to the lockers in the actual room nor do they match the rooms in the hotel (???), in fact, an entire row was missing including the locker that was assigned to us by the front desk (Executive Inn front desk, 4250 Village Stroll, remember!). We randomly chose a locker & used the combination lock provided to us by the front desk, then we let the front desk know that the locker assigned to our unit does not exist; they didn't seem too concerned. Dual location property management, baffling locker room, & rooms which feel like the interior of an RV - it's hokey & unprofessional!

The location of both properties is very good for access to the Whistler or Blackcomb village gondolas (<3 minute walk), but would be a 10 minute hike to the Wizard chairlift (The Wizard Chair is often the only upload option for late Spring skiing mid-week, so call the mountain for lift details or visit their website). Driving to both locations is also very convenient via Sundial Place & Village Lane. Active loading & unloading is limited to 15 minutes on the street. For other parking options, check with the front desk or the Whistler Blackcomb website. We parked under the convention center for $5 from 5PM-10AM & drove to Base II on Blackcomb.

My two star rating may seem harsh, but here's the deal: you have been sold the idea that Whistler/Blackcomb is a world class destination resort with first-class facilities; you probably have high expectations, and you should, for the price you're paying for both accommodations and lift tickets. Your expectations should be exceeded by the properties you stay in and the on-mountain facilities & terrain. The Executive Inn website is clearly misleading and that's unacceptable in a "world class" resort. If your just looking for a reasonable place to spend your ski vacation dollars, then either location of the Executive Inn is fine, but if you want a very modern, full-service, first-class experience, then I suggest you look carefully at other properties. Thanks for reading.

Room Tip: Mountain Side rooms = 4417 Sundial Place Village Side rooms = 4250 Village Stroll Separate hotel l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert H, General Manager at Mountain Side Hotel Whistler by Executive, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for having taken the time to post such a detailed review of your recent stay with us.

Certainly, there are challenges in operating a hotel with two different buildings with different amenities in each, although all of the "common area" items are available to guests in either building.

We do have posted pictures from both buildings, but depending on where you searched, you may have found pictures for only one building, we'll look into that further.

I'm not sure what happened with respect to your comments on the lockers as they are labelled with matching numbers corresponding to the guest room number, but again, we'll take another look and make sure that it is clearly identified.

I take your point in your conclusion that expectations should be high, and that we should be meeting or exceeding them and while that was not the case in your situation, we will ensure to follow up on your comments to be certain that other guests can be assured of a more positive experience.

Thank you again,

Robert Hayward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    7
    8
    6
    3
See reviews for
8
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Langley City, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Aside from the check in proceedure which is a bit different as you have to walk a 100 yards from the building you are staying to the check in desk, we were pleased with the 1 bedroom queen suite we stayed in. The kitchens and bathrooms have been updated with granite counters new cabinets and new tile floors. The TV was a nice 46 flat screen and the hideabed was even comfortable. Everything worked good. Our room was across from the Pan Pacific and the service road between did not cause any noise that would keep you up. Always bring ear plugs if you are a savy traveller anyway. One thing to be aware of is the underground parking hieght limitation. With my Yukon we had to take the skis of the rack and still the rack was rubbing against the garage door going in and out. If you are over 6'8" you will need to park else where. Pay lot number one is pretty close and its only $8.00 per day versus $20.00 in the hotel underground.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert H, General Manager at Mountain Side Hotel Whistler by Executive, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay.

We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your visit to Whistler.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

1) There was a significant amount of noise - both from people outside the hotel and from the fridge in the room which kicked in every 30 mins or so and sounded like a freight train. It was an open plan studio so no escaping the noise. Sleeping experience was poor.

2) There were no check in instructions. We arrived at the hotel and were told we had to check in at another building despite there being two unoccupied staff on the front desk. They then gave us average instructions on how to find the other building where there was no parking while checking in. Only then to have to drive back to the original building to park!

3) We checked out on the Saturday morning and requested that we leave the car in the hotel car park while we skied for the day. Despite having paid over $20 for parking we were told this was not possible since they needed the space for incoming guests. I pointed out that all other hotels in Whistler which we've stayed at (of which there are a number) let you leave the car for the day. The receptionist told me this wasn't the case - which is just completely untrue. We've always been able to leave the car for the day at other hotels. So we had to drive to the daylots nullifying any "walk to lift" benefit which they so proudly advertise and shortening our time on the slopes.

We will never be staying here again.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert H, General Manager at Mountain Side Hotel Whistler by Executive, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you for your recent comments.

As I reviewed your comments I was disturbed to see the number of issues that you encountered during your stay and I do apologize that such was the case.

We’ll follow up on your comments about the fridge noise to ensure that is corrected.

We do provide check in instructions in all of our advance communications with our guests, but again, I will re-check to see what went wrong there. I can appreciate your frustration.

Lastly, while we do have limited parking available, and demand is high from arriving guests who also want and need to park, I am sorry that wasn’t explained and handled better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed five nights over the holidays at this hotel. The location was convenient within the Village, and very close to ski lifts. We had a family of four (2 adults, 2 kids aged 10 and 13) in a Queen Loft Suite. The room was clean, had a nice layout with decent decor though it was a bit cramped with limited floor space to put things and move around. It was good to have 2 bathrooms in the room however they were not well maintained. Sofa Bed was comfortable enough for the kids and easy to pull out compared to others we've seen. They had two TV's, one upstairs and one downstairs, both of which were a good size, well positioned and in good working order.

Overall we were satisfied with our stay, however we found there were a few too many annoyances and small problems with this hotel and the rooms:
- the bathrooms were in need of some maintenance and updating...lower bathtub drain would not close, upper bathroom ceiling fan did not work, both showers' water temperature kept changing from hot to cold, and there was limited counter and rack space in upper bathroom to store toiletries and hang towels.
- maid service did not replenish toiletries and coffee so had to phone to replenish them,
- door keys often took multiple swipes before it would work, especially the one to get into the ski storage room
- elevator was extremely slow (there was only one so we waited 5-10 minutes when busy), so we ended up using stairs most of the time to walk up and down to the 4th floor when we didn't have ski boots on.
- kitchen area was well equipped and laid out, but toaster didn't work well and fridge temperature was difficult to control.
- room temperature was a bit too warm especially in the loft, making sleeping a bit uncomfortable though the bed itself was comfortable enough
- fireplace looked nice but didn't seem to generate very much heat
- wireless internet is provided but seemed a bit slow

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert H, General Manager at Mountain Side Hotel Whistler by Executive, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments.

I was disappointed to learn of the many shortcomings that you experienced and I will certainly share your comments with our team here, such that they can see the importance of attention to detail and making sure that everything in the room is functioning properly.

I was pleased to see that you found the layout and location to be convenient for you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

My family and I stayed here for a week over the Christmas holiday. We stayed in two of the 2 level suites (part of Executive Suites, which is located inside of the Mountainside Lodge) - my kids in one suite and my husband and I in the other. The location couldn't be more ideal and the rooms themselves were spacious and actually quite perfect for us. Two big problems with the rooms - first, the pillows. Now, we had a total of 12 pillows between the two rooms and they were all bricks. Literally like sleeping with your head on a curb. My husband called down and requested 6 of their softest, fluffiest pillows - they never delivered the pillows so he called again the next morning and they brought up 6 of the exact same pillows. We can't be the first ones to complain about the pillows - we are not picky people and normally don't complain about these sorts of things but they were ridiculous. Even my 9 year old daughter was complaining that her neck hurt. I was actually tempted to go out and buy some pillows since we were going to be there for a week. I just don't understand why they wouldn't invest in some halfway decent $20 pillows at Target or BB & B - it doesn't take much, we're not talking about a 200, 500 room hotel here. Upon checkout, I mentioned the pillows again and the lady at the front said "Well, you know it's just so hard because everyone likes different types of pillows." Well, the only people they are clearly catering to are those who like rock hard pillows because they have no other options. Second problem and it was an even bigger issue was the shower situation. They need to invest in a new water heater. The water was either scalding scalding hot (and this is coming from someone who likes her jacuzzi at 104 degrees) or freezing cold. If you were lucky enough to find an okay temp, it would only last for literally 5 seconds and then it would go either completely cold on you or, more often, scalding hot. We complained about this as well - it was the same for all 4 showers we had between the two rooms. It's actually a big liability/safety issue - especially for kids. After the first shower, they only took baths because it was too dangerous for them to shower. My husband called again and spoke to someone at the front desk about these issues (the management company which is actually located across the street from the Inn) and asked that a manager call him back when he was in the following day. We never heard from him. It's a real bummer we had these two issues because it's such a great location and great price. Sleep and showers are pretty vital to a long trip so we won't be going back there until we are assured these issues have been addressed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert H, General Manager at Mountain Side Hotel Whistler by Executive, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you for your comments from your early January stay.

I’m terribly sorry to see that the requested call back from the Manager was not received for some reason as you certainly should have had a call back.

I am pleased to tell you that as a result of your feedback, we did in fact make arrangements to offer different pillows to any guests who might request that of us, and, we have also made some necessary repairs to the water flow system to address your concerns with the fluctuations in temperature.

I was please to see that you found the locations to be ideal for your needs and the rooms themselves spacious and appropriate for your visit.

Thanks again for your comments, I do hope that you will come and stay with us again some time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This is not a 3.5 star hotel. Whom ever rated it was either duped, bribed, or held at gunpoint, allowing this hotel to be rated at 3.5 stars should be fired.

My first real problem was how the hotel was arranged. It is essentially separated into two parts; 1 part consisting of 4 stories above the garage, sharing a lobby with Whistler Village Inn (when you arrived there is a telephone to ring the main lobby) and a 2nd part 100 yards away where the actual lobby is to check-in.

This makes things horribly awkward and I can't imagine any of the poor folk who, unlike ourselves, having to fly all the way to Whistler to enjoy the slopes only to come that.

Decor doesn't usually bother me as we all have our peculiar tastes, however, this place did and it is not for the faint of heart. It was struggling between escaping the '70s whilst trying to be contemporary, only to fail miserably-smacking its fat face on hard wet ground. I can only describe it as black, terracotta red and yellow-ocre all over. Yuck.

Though the bed was clean, it was not comfortable. The gas fire place, though a nice and thoughtful touch had a bit of stain which looked like it could be easily cleaned by a trained professional... like one those people the hotel hires...their titles escape me but I'm sure you know who I mean.

The kitchen was descent but small. This indicated to me that the place that wasn't quite happy being a simple hotel so it had to squeeze in a kitchen and a dinning table to match the theme. If there ever was a theft of 1980s Deny's tables, I think I found one of them.

I know I mentioned the bed earlier but I felt it deserved it's own little paragraph. Now, not to brag, but I did pay for the cheapest non-hostel, non-student, flea free hotel I could find in Whistler and at $200 a night, I shouldn't have to suffer a murphy bed. NEVER. EVER. EVER.

Suffice it to say, this room is poorly laid out with the dinning table taking up most of the kitchen area, there is little room for what is suppose to be the 'sleeping area.' It is absolutely pointless to have a pull-out/murphy bed there. Because once the bed is out, you are within good TV watching distance anyways and I can't imagine anyone going through the hassle for their regular TV viewing routine on a sofa after a day on the slopes. It's either bed or couch.

But in this instance, it would have to be dinning table or couch. Equipping the room with a couple of those fold away tv trays would have kept to the look and feel of the hotel.

The people working there were friendly enough but I have to tell you that it took 12 hours to get a replacement for the cheap toaster in our kitchen. Simply wouldn't toast-kept trying all the settings; 1-6, light to cajun. Nothing. Wouldn't hold onto the bread to save it's life. I also had to clean the kettle, which was not very pleasant as the sponge below the sink was still wet from its last use. Ewww.

I also had to clean the dishes-which wasn't too bad as the kitchen had a tiny dishwasher installed. His name was Remy I think.

The bathroom was nice with clean floors but the shower was another story. There was yellowing on the head where the water came out-dating the shower somewhat. The jet/spa/bathtub had a crack resulting from an obvious botched crack repair previously.

Lastly, though our room was far enough away from the noise of the elevator and foot traffic, it sat right outside where the outdoor pool and hot tub were. It seems the uglier and fatter and drunker you get in Whistler, the louder you become. Odd.

I did not find our stay a pleasant one. If we had the option to switch hotels, we would have but I'm afraid I had to suffer this one so I could bring to light just how awful it was. No thanks needed.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert H, General Manager at Mountain Side Hotel Whistler by Executive, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you for your comments.

I regret that you found our two separate buildings to be confusing and also that you did not like the décor in those particular guestrooms, which we had only renovated 3 months prior with all new finishes, etc., as well as having put in all new pillow top mattresses. It’s certainly true that the bed in your room is in a Murphy frame, but it is in fact a custom designed pillow top mattress built to fit within that frame, to maximize on the available space in the room.

Also, our rooms are equipped with kitchenettes and dining areas as many visitors to Whistler prefer to be able to cook their own meals if staying for longer periods, to help keep their costs down, as dining out every night can be costly.

You mentioned some cleanliness issues in the bathroom and we did follow up to ensure that our room attendants are being thorough, and we do typically inspect all of our rooms prior to new guests arriving.

It is unfortunate that you did not ultimately enjoy your Whistler experience as much as we would hope and is the case for most visitors to the Whistler area.

Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mountain Side Hotel Whistler by Executive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Side Hotel Whistler by Executive

Address: Building B, 4250 Village Stroll, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 52 Hotels in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mountain Side Hotel Whistler by Executive 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mountain Side Hotel is a famous ski lodge in the heart of Whistler Village. Operated by Executive Hotels and Resorts, this hotel is perfect for pleasure-seekers and boasts Whistler's best location. Our Mountain Side lodge style rooms are set back from the village with a stunning outdoor pool and Jacuzzi deck offering outstanding views of both Blackcomb and Whistler mountains. This Whistler BC boutique hotel is where high style meets serenity where beautiful people retreat to in seclusion and comfort with the dazzling Whistler Mountain as its backdrop and the celebrity chef driven restaurant, Trattoria, by Umberto Menghi and Whistler's hottest après ski lounge on the ground floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mountain Side Hotel Whistler by Executive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain Side Hotel Whistler by Executive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.