We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the Best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Resort and Residences Whistler

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Four Seasons Resort and Residences Whistler to your Saves list
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Whistler
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   4591 Blackcomb Way, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 52 Hotels in Whistler
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Simply the Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We recently stayed at The Four Seasons Whistler - and what wonderful service they provided. The staff were extremely pleasant, helpful, polite, attentive and a real asset to the Hotel. We thoroughly enjoyed our buffet breakfasts which set us up for the rest of the day. Alberto and Oskar looked after us well, as did Grace too. We enjoyed the complimentary wine tasting in the afternoons with Joey and the meal we had at the Sidecut restaurant was simply out of this world. It is rare to find such wonderful service from all staff throughout out stay. It is little wonder that the Four Seasons brand is so admired by everyone. They have fantasic staff that really make a difference. Thank you once again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
afonso c, Manager at Four Seasons Resort and Residences Whistler, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Dear BysMelynyellowstone

Thank you very much for your kind comments and for staying with us during another ski vacation.

We much appreciate your feedback and I'll make certain to share your comments with the teams, specially with Alberto,Oscar and Grace They will be delighted to learn, they truly made such an impact on your stay.

On the same note and If you feel your stay was "Simply the Best", we would appreciate if you could score us a ten (10) when filling out the electronic survey that you will receive shortly.

Looking forward to welcome you back and be of assistance if your vacation plans include another visit to the Four Seasons Resort and Residences Whistler


Warmest Regards

Afonso Cunha
Resort manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    912
    168
    60
    22
    15
See reviews for
274
567
31
108
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

We have spent a wonderful week at The Four Seasons Hotel in Whistler. The Hotel is very cosy, sofistivated, classy but whithout extravagances.Lovely. And the service was perfect. They were very polite , nice and helpful all the time! Everybody all the time. In special Diogo , the shuttle driver Daniel the recepcionist and Afonso the manager. The Hotel is really close to the Ski Lifts and have a very helpful Ski Concierge. Wei didnt need to care about the ski equipment in and out the lifts. Vivian Calissi and family

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
afonso c, Manager at Four Seasons Resort and Residences Whistler, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Dear Vivian C

Thank you very much for your kind comments and for staying with us during another ski vacation.

We much appreciate your feedback and I'll make certain to share your comments with the teams, They will be delighted to learn, they truly made such an impact on your stay.

On the same note and If you feel you had a "Excellent" stay, we would appreciate if you could score us a ten (10) when filling out the electronic survey that you will receive shortly.

Looking forward to welcome you back and be of assistance if your vacation plans include another visit to the Four Seasons Resort and Residences Whistler


Warmest Regards

Afonso Cunha
Resort manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

It was our Honeymoon from the moment we got there we were made to feel very special the staff were all fantastic. The rooms were fantastic and everything was available even Ice packs for ski injury's what service

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
afonso c, Manager at Four Seasons Resort and Residences Whistler, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Dear 800Alan

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your positive experience with special remarks to the our rooms and the staff

We are very fortunate to have such wonderful team and we have shared your kind words with all of our employees. They will be delighted to learn, they truly made such an impact on your stay.

On the same note and If you feel you had an outstanding stay, we would appreciate if you could score us a ten (10) when filling out the electronic survey that you will receive shortly.

Looking forward to your return and to be of assistance if your travel plans bring you back to Whistler.

Warmest Regards

Afonso Cunha
Resort manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Incredible service and wonderful facilities. Worth the spend. The staff is very well trained. Be careful not to take a room that backs on to the fairmont parking lot. Backing up plow with beeper will wake you at 7am sharp daily. Very annoying!!

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
afonso c, Manager at Four Seasons Resort and Residences Whistler, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear chadskee

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your positive experience with special remarks to the staff and the overall service levels..

We are indeed very fortunate to have such wonderful team and we have shared your kind words with all of our employees. They will be delighted to learn, they truly made such an impact on your stay.

On the same note and If you feel you had a "Great trip", we would appreciate if you could score us a ten (10) when filling out the electronic survey that you will receive shortly.

Looking forward to your return and to be of assistance if your travel plans bring you back to Whistler.

Warmest Regards

Afonso Cunha
Resort manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
205 helpful votes 205 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

The Four-Seasons Whistler is, without shadow of a doubt, the best hotel I have ever had the pleasure of staying at.

Staying for a one-week ski holiday with my partner of 13-years, and having planned on a surprise proposal on our first night, the trip was truly unforgettable. From the moment of arriving at the front door on the first evening, the attentive staff were immediately at our service and made our stay even more special. I had liaised with the reservations staff beforehand and they had helpfully organised flowers and chocolates to be delivered on the night of our engagement (and offered a complimentary upgrade to a gorgeous executive suite). I had also liaised with the restaurant (Sidecut) weeks before our meal to arrange the perfect proposal in the courtyard in front of the outside stone fireplace and again the staff could really not have done any more to assist. The 100 pink and white lilies and indulgent chocolate deserts were outstanding.

Our deluxe executive suite on the 6th floor was extremely spacious and luxurious in every sense. The room amenities, features, accessories and furnishings were all high-class. The bathroom (and the second bathroom - suites have two!) were stunning and invited immediate relaxation. The lounge and bedroom were both furnished and decorated to the highest standards and were very comfortable. The thick terry bathrobes and towels, and cosy down duvet and pillows were very much appreciated after a long day of skiing! Twice-daily room service ensured maximum comfort and experience.

The ski concierge was incredible, nothing more to say about that. The stroll from the hotel to the mountain base and back is beautiful, particularly as you can concentrate on admiring the surroundings, rather than trying to walk in ski boots and carrying skis.

The hotel amenities and services were again impeccable. The infamous daily hot chocolate offered slopeside and at the hotel. The pool and spa pristine and lavish. The poolside bar-service was a welcome addition.

In summary I must repeat how I began - this is simply the best hotel I have ever stayed at. I hope we can return in the near future. Thank you to all the staff at the Four Seasons for making our trip so incredibly unforgettable, particularly to Laura in the Sidecut restaurant, and Pete at the poolside.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
afonso c, Manager at Four Seasons Resort and Residences Whistler, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear dr- owain

First and foremost my sincerest congratulations on your engagement and thank you for staying with us and for sharing your very positive experience with special remarks to the staff- Laura and Pete, the spa, the guest rooms and the restaurants.

As I mentioned in previous responses, we are indeed very fortunate to have such wonderful team and we have shared your kind words with all of our employees. They will be delighted to learn, they truly made such an impact on your stay.

On a last note, Four Seasons does e-mail short surveys to our guests. These will be used to measure the level of service our employees provide. If you feel they deserve the best score, we would appreciate if you could take a moment to fill out this quick survey. Most important is to know, only 9 and 10 are considered great scores. u very much for considering our request.

Looking forward to your return and to be of assistance if your travel plans bring you back to Whistler.

Warmest Regards

Afonso Cunha
Resort manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

We spent 11 fantastic days at this resort and having visited the Fairmont during our stay, there is no comparison (other than the breakfast options which I mention below). Although it was near faultless, we were not expecting it to be such a casual four seasons resort, and casual compared to leading five star hotels in London/Europe. This is not to say the service isn't excellent but there are differences.

Certain traditional etiquettes you might expect to be rigidly enforced are more relaxed and the staff in general have a very casual laid back approach to service. This is not to say they were too relaxed, or slow or lazy or that this is not a slick five star operation - because it is, because underneath the incredibly friendly, relaxed and unpretentious service is the undeniable four seasons approach where nothing could ever be too much trouble, nothing is ever a problem and every little detail is taken care of. For example we had to call twice for a replacement hair dryer after the original and replacement were broken and the transformer provided was also missing a fuse - within minutes of the second call a manager was up to personally apologize for us having to ask more than once and whilst there proceeded to provide hair dryers, transformers for UK voltage and then checked every aspect of our stay was perfect - from the time of the turndown service to the food.

The hotel was completely full for part of our stay and yet the resort still maintained its exclusive homely feel. Throughout our stay there were always plenty of staff everywhere and the incredible thing is they all want to have a chat if you are willing. From the shuttle driver to the pool bar service they all want to hear how your day on the slopes was and they have so much time for you and so much to offer - it makes the place special in a different sort of way, a homely way. I have no idea how they have managed to find so many professional yet friendly members of staff without a single whiff of that pretentiousness that can often take out the enjoyment of a luxury hotel.

We had a premier room, for two people you really don't need more, the bathroom is nice and big, the small walk in wardrobe was perfect and it was nicely furnished with a cosy fireplace and super nice bed. Our view was fantastic but we were lucky as we were on the 8th floor with mountain views. It can get noisy early in the morning when the roads are cleared of snow (the reversing beeping sound was a pain) but they can't help that too much! When we return (which we will) we will go for a basic resort room, we spent so little time in our room that a slightly smaller room won't make a difference.

Ski concierge and the in-hotel rental shop made the ski process seamless. Friendly, efficient and helpful it made the boring parts of skiing enjoyable. We went to the rental shop on the morning of our first ski lesson and there were no queues and it only took about 5-10 minutes to sort out all our ski equipment which was then waiting for us at ski concierge at the base of the mountain about 5 minutes later - not bad for a Saturday morning! On the way to the base the shuttle driver would give you a breakdown of the weather report and snow conditions as well as the recommended runs of the day, the ski concierge get your stuff ready and even offer to help you put your boots on, then your skis are waiting outside. Concierge often offered us some tips and recommended some runs we should try. In the afternoon on returning there are amazing cookies and hot chocolate available in the Ski Concierge which goes down well after returning from the slopes. There are also four seasons tents by both base lifts (blackcomb and whistler) so you can ditch your skis and poles and proceed to après ski without worrying about where you left them or, in the case of blackcomb, in case you don't want to walk 10 seconds to the ski concierge.

The hotel location isn't the best for the village but the very nice shuttle bus solves that. Also, if you are going to head to a restaurant or bar slightly outside the Village (see recommendations below) then the four seasons have two very nice complimentary 4x4 Mercedes to drop you off and pick you up - a fantastic perk. There is also a big advantage to the location, as most hotels are located at the village it means skiing from the blackcomb base is a lot quieter and less congested. We found the blackcomb side is generally less busy and we found that the conditions were far better than the whistler side as a result. The peak 2 peak makes it easy to switch onto the Whistler side for some skiing (and it worth doing for the views).

The spa is great, the outdoor hot tubs and heated pool are particularly quiet in the evening once the pool bar is shut, all it takes is a quick call on the phone they provide to order some drinks.

Whistler is generally a super casual place, even at the fine dining establishments like Araxi people do not really dress up much, jeans and a jumper is average, women don't often wear heels and a few people wear casual shirts. My shirts and smart shoes didn't get worn. At the hotel bar and restaurant you would be in the majority in a hoody, jeans and trainers than in a shirt and shoes.

Room for improvement - we got a treat from the turndown team once in 10 days, not sure if you are meant to get one everyday, but it was lovely when we did get it, it would be nice to have one every day next time! They did run two shuttles some evenings, but when they didn't it can be a cold 15-20 minute wait. The 8020 bar can lack atmosphere at times, shame they didn't have the fantastic live music on more often.

Recommendations

Don't have breakfast in the hotel, whilst it is fantastic - it is needlessly expensive when there are so many great places for breakfast. We liked Portobello Market in the Fairmont which is right next to the four seasons ski concierge, they did everything you could want, nicely. Sidecut is worth going to for dinner at least once.

Take advantage of the wine tasting, every day they serve guests a different half a glass of red and half a glass of white which a little bit of cheese if you turn up between 4 and 5. It was great to try local wines which were surprisingly good.

Do go to Araxi and Rim Rock for fine dining but don't bother with Bear Foot Bistro. Araxi was good, but probably a bit over priced at £230 for 2 for 3 courses and an average bottle of wine. Rim Rock was better value and the food was better.

Do go to creekbread if you like pizza - big wood fired oven and great pizzas in a lovely environment. It is a bit out the way but the hotel will take you and pick you up again in the 4x4.

Do go to Splitz for a subway style burger - the best CAD$30 dinner you will ever have!

If you are having skiing lessons and are a beginner ask for Marcel (everyone at ski school knows him and he was great unlike some of the other instructors).

Don't fly with Air Canada - they were terrible and so so rude.

Don't bother with a private taxi transfer, we paid £200 for a one way transfer and it was slow, painful and the driver was terrible. On the return we paid £60 between us for the pacific coach transfer which was great and the views incredible.

If you are heading to Vancouver - don't bother staying in the four seasons Vancouver (see my separate review) and do eat at the five sails restaurant (which was simply amazing and the best food on the entire trip).

Room Tip: High floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
afonso c, Manager at Four Seasons Resort and Residences Whistler, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Dear JPSP-SHLC

Warm greetings from Whistler. Thank you very much for your kind comments and for staying with us during your ski vacation.

We much appreciate your feedback and I'll make certain to share all of it with the teams, they'll be very happy to read your very thoughtful note and use it as an extremely valuable training tool.

Looking forward to welcome you back and be of assistance if your vacation plans include Whistler and the Four Seasons Resort and Residences Whistler

Warmest Regards

Afonso Cunha
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ewingsdale, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Skiing is expensive. The older you get the more it costs. This place is not for the budget conscious. If you are prepared to pay a little extra then it is well worth it. There is no shortage of staff to assist with any request or enquiry. The hotel is not ski in ski out but it's a short walk to the ski concierge and the slope. We had 7 nights at the hotel and would find it hard to find fault with any of the services or facilities that were provided. I did visit the competition and the vibe was very different as is the case with larger branded hotels. I would have no hesitation in going back to the 4 Seasons when next visiting Whistler.

Room Tip: For a longer stay a suite is the way to go. Having a separate siting / bedroom is a real plus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
afonso c, Manager at Four Seasons Resort and Residences Whistler, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear Byron B

Thank you for staying with us and for choosing the Four Seasons Resort Whistler for your ski vacations. I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and the service in general.

We are very fortunate to have such wonderful team and we have shared your kind words with all of our employees. They will be delighted to learn, they truly made such an impact on your stay.

On the same note and If you feel you had a "Fantastic" stay, we would appreciate if you could score us a ten (10) when filling out the electronic survey that you will receive shortly.

Looking forward to your return and to be of assistance if your travel plans bring you back to Whistler.

Warmest Regards

Afonso Cunha
Resort manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Seasons Resort and Residences Whistler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort and Residences Whistler

Address: 4591 Blackcomb Way, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Whistler
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Whistler
#2 Romantic Hotel in Whistler
#2 Spa Hotel in Whistler
#3 Luxury Hotel in Whistler
#4 Family Hotel in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort and Residences Whistler 5*
Number of rooms: 273
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, TIG Global and Tingo so you can book your Four Seasons Resort and Residences Whistler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Seasons Resort Whistler Hotel Whistler
4 Seasons Resort Whistler
Four Seasons Hotel Whistler
Four Seasons Whistler
Whistler Four Seasons

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Resort and Residences Whistler, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.