We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of First Tracks Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added First Tracks Lodge to your Saves list
First Tracks Lodge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2202 Gondola Way, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B2, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% Off Midweek Special
Ranked #1 of 52 Hotels in Whistler
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

My wife and I stayed hear in August 2013. The room was huge. Much larger than I expected. It could actually sleep six. There was a bedroom with a private bath and TV. A nice kitchen with a large fridge. The living area had a pull out couch and its own TV. There was a seperate room with a sliding door that closes, off the living area. It too had a pull out bed and TV. There was a separate full bathroom with shower. The room was clean with nice furniture. Very high ceilings. There was a fireplace and heated floors (these were turned off in the summer). You do have to check in at its sister hotel. But its a two minute walk. We had a lot of luggage as we had gone grocery shopping on the way to the hotel and the hotel in which we checked in at sent a bellhop to help us to the room. He arrived at our hotel before we did and was waiting for us in the underground garage. Please note that the parking is in an underground garage. You need to swipe your hotel key to open the garage door. Only small negative was that the A/C is shut off at night. The room gets a bit stuffy. Also, our rooms faced the pool. The pool closes at 10 but if you have the windows open the noise from the pool is disturbing. Ask for a room not facing the pool.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    52
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
174
75
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We spent two wonderful nights in Whistler at the First Tracks Lodge....great deal on a 2 bed & 2 bathroom. Very clean, spacious and comfortable. 4 TVs and only 2 remotes though and it took quite a bit to find the 2nd one. One disappointment is that you have to bring your own coffee, they provide one pouch only. We don't drink caffeinated coffee and tried to swap it for de-caf....nope they don't carry it. We used the pool and hot tubs both nights and it was so nice, no one there.....mid October is not a popular time for Whistler, no crowds...awesome. We took our bikes and biked to Whistler Village thanks to wonderful directions from the front desk....the young people we encountered at First Tracks Lodge were all so helpful, efficient and polite.....the following day we took the truck to the Village to have breakfast/lunch and shop and the fellow at the front desk told us where to park for free, very nice. On thing we did find disappointing is that no pets (dogs and we have 2) are allowed to stay here but they can stay at Evolution Lodge but the rooms are not as nice. We will certainly be back again and during October the prices are great!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Whistler Blackcomb.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Lovely spot, we have been a few times now as friends own a place there. Rooms at the front south side would be quietest. The quality of the furnishings and cleanliness is top notch. Pool area is lovely. You can walk to groceries and Starbucks etc and of course, during ski season, ski in ski out :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Set at the base of Whistler Mountain, in the Creekside Village, First Tracks Lodge is literally steps from the Creekside Express Gondola, shopping, fine dining and après ski. We booked this 3 bedroom condo for our daughters wedding, and it was the most suitable condo for our purposes. The kitchen has everything you can ask for and the space in all of the bedrooms as well as in the dining and living room is sufficient for a family of eight. Our daughter and her friends got ready in our apartment in the morning of the wedding, and we all had enough room to accommodate them , even the hairdresser.
The pool area with a BBQ to use at any time makes going out for dinner not a necessity. Specially nice for a Family with young children. The view onto the gondola from our apartment would even be better in the winter. We would love to come back in the winter.

Room Tip: I assume all apartments are awesome in the First Track Lodge, try and book one with a view towards t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ovations, Director of Sales at First Tracks Lodge, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Firstly, thank you for taking the time to provide the wonderful feedback of First Tracks Lodge. Secondly, congratulations on your daugther's marriage! It's great to hear that everything worked out so nicely, and that you all enjoyed your time at First Tracks Lodge and in Whistler Creekside. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Jaime
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We arrived at the hotel at around 7pm, it is a slight inconvenience that you can't actually check in at this hotel, you have to check in at the neighbouring hotel and after quite a few hours I was initially not that impressed. However, this all changed when I entered the hotel, the underground parking is well located for the hotel and then we went to our room. We had the one bedroom self-catering suite and it was amazing. I couldn't believe how big it was, I have stayed at some good hotels but the facilities in this apartment were of a very top quality. Underfloor heating is standard in the bathrooms and kitchen and the kitchen is equipped with everything you could want to prepare a meal! Unfortunately there were quite a few stains on the carpet, but i'm sure that will be corrected by the start of the winter season.The local supermarket is very expensive for tourists and I advise you go to the bigger market in Whistler village if self catering for food.
The Jacuzzi bath was amazing and the bed very comfortable, unfortunately we didn't realise that coming towards the end of September a lot of the activites are closed. We couldn't get the skyride or get up the mountain at all as it only opened on weekends, the pool was closed for maintenance, and the hotel was generally a ghost town, so my advice don't come at the end of September!
So to summarise, amazing hotel despite the pool being closed, the apartment was fantastic everything you need for a weeks trip. Local supermarket is expensive, and lots of things are closed including some of the local eating establishments. We will be back in season and see this hotel running at it's full potential. Only side note is I left my wedding band on the bedside table, I have emailed the hotel twice and they still haven't replied.......... I hope the staff are honest and it will be returned......

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ovations, Director of Sales at First Tracks Lodge, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your stay at First Tracks Lodge. While I am happy to hear that enjoyed your room, I do apologize for the confusion surrounding the location of our check-in desk. Our 24 hour check-in location is situation in the building next door. We make mention of this in the reservation process on the phone, as well as include a note in our confirmation letters. It seems we may need to review how we communicate the check-in location so it is made more clear.

With regards to your note about your wedding band, I apologize for you not having heard back from anyone yet. I have replied to you in a direct message so we can take this offline.

Kind regards,

Jaime
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Everything about this hotel is amazing. Check in was easy and once we made it to our room we were amazed. It was perfect! It is a very cozy lodge style room which would be great in the winter. It also has very up to date appliances and nice flat screen TV's in the bedroom and living room. The room is a great size with a full kitchen and dining area in addition to a huge bedroom and bathroom. It is also extremely close to the creekside Gondola up whistler mountain (it was closed for the summer but opens up again for ski season)- it is literally right outside the back door. This would be very convenient for skiing in the winter. I really enjoyed that this hotel was in the creekside area instead of whistler village because it was so quiet at night. It was probably the most peaceful night that I have had in a long time. Overall, I would recommend this hotel to anyone. We loved it so much that we booked our next stay on the same day that we checked out. We are going in the winter next time and I am sure that it will be even better!

Room Tip: Book early if you want to stay in the winter. It is September and already most of the weekends in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath W. Sussex
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stayed with some friends for four nights as part of a fortnight's holiday in B.C. The main purpose of our holiday was to go hiking and Whistler presents endless opportunities.

Check-in was very straightforward. The room key gives you access to the underground car park. Some of the spaces are quite narrow when you're not used to driving a big American MPV!

Our room was huge. An enormous double bed, excellent well equipped bathroom, very well equipped kitchen and a comfortable living area. There were two flat screen TVs - one in the lounge and one in the bedroom. Outside was a lovely balcony with comfortable chairs and table. One of the other reviews mentioned about the thermostat - ours was OK but our friends had a problem which the hotel put right.

There is a nice pool area and hot tub.

First Tracks Lodge is only ten minutes drive from Whistler where you can park all day for free in Lot 4.

I would love to return to Whistler and if I did I would certainly use this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to First Tracks Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Tracks Lodge

Address: 2202 Gondola Way, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Whistler
#1 Family Hotel in Whistler
#2 Romantic Hotel in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — First Tracks Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located ski-in, ski-out at the base of Whistler Mountain in Whistler Creekside, First Tracks Lodge is an upscale, condo style hotel. This all suite hotel features suites ranging in size from one to four bedrooms. Each suite offers a full kitchen with upscale appliances and granite counter tops, a living area with a gas fireplace, private balconies and one full bathroom per bedroom. This property truly offers all of the comforts of home in a most convenient location. In addition, the Creekside Village is just steps away providing convenient access to a grocery store, liquor store, ski and board rentals, Whistler kids programs as well as a few coffee shops and eateries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your First Tracks Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1st Tracks Lodge
First Tracks Hotel Whistler
First Tracks Whistler

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage First Tracks Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.