We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome 2 bedroom” 5 of 5 stars
Review of First Tracks Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added First Tracks Lodge to your Saves list
First Tracks Lodge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2202 Gondola Way, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B2, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Ski and Stay Packages
Ranked #1 of 52 Hotels in Whistler
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Awesome 2 bedroom”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We had a lovely stay at First Tracks lodge. It is right by the creekside Gondola - great spot if you like quiet evenings and hanging out with your group.

The pool was very nice, service was great.

The room was spacious and the beds were super comfy. Parking was a reasonable (for Whistler) $15.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    50
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
162
70
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We were a family of five and stayed at First Tracks for 9 days at Easter. The journey from Vancouver is relatively straightforward but following 15 hours on two flights it was an extremely tiring.
Check in was at Legends which is just round the corner and was quick and efficient.
2 bed apartments are plenty big enough for 5 people (one on a bed settee) with a fully fitted kitchen and open plan dining area. Both bathrooms are en-suite with baths and separate showers with the master having a Jacuzzi bath. The accommodation is very good quality and there is maid service daily. There are pools and a large outdoor Jacuzzi which get the sun in the afternoon, as well as a steam room and gym.
The apartments are located approximately 3 miles out of Whistler village at Creekside which is something you need to consider for eating out and nightlife. There are only a few options within walking distance so it’s taxis or the local bus. They are however literally right next to the lift and ticket office so from a skiing perspective they are perfect.
The skiing is fantastic and there is plenty to do for all ability levels. Conditions were not right for off-piste but I can imagine it being really good. Whistler and the surrounding area is picture postcard beautiful.
In summary, we had a great holiday and would definitely recommend First Tracks, however, when we go again we will stay in Whistler village, because there is far more going on. We will also spend a few days in Vancouver which looks like a great city.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed for a week with family. The chalet was perfectly kept, and convenient with plenty of extra bedding and things like soap for the washer. The Creekside gondola is maybe 20 steps out the back door and grocery store, ski rentals and great restaurants just across the street. We were in the hot outdoor spa, overlooking the snow and pines, most evenings. We didn't do alot of cooking, but the kitchen seemed well equipt if we had wanted to take greater advantage of it. Would certainly stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ovations, Director of Sales at First Tracks Lodge, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you very much for your recent trip advisor review. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the hot outdoor spa most evenings. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back on your next trip to whistler.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia beach
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at First Tracts for a week in April for spring skiing. Check in and out were easy. The one bedroom with living and dining areas and full kitchen were very nice. The king bed was very cozy. Nice balcony. We had a view of the pools. We could hear ponies, but it was not much. We had to take the bus to go to Whistler Village to shop and to meet friends, but the Creekside Gondola provides quick access to the slopes. Would stay there again. Our room was much bigger than our friends' who stayed at the Westin in a one bedroom. No complaints from me and I am prone to complaining!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ovations, Director of Sales at First Tracks Lodge, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experiences at and photos of First Tracks Lodge. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the quick access to the slopes and the spacious suites. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This was our first time at Whistler and we had a great time and glorious weather (mid-day would be sunny and in the 50s), with lovely spring-break skiing. My kids are the skiers/snowboarders primarily, and they traversed most of the big slopes, pronouncing the variety and conditions excellent (except for the half day that we departed, when things had gotten icy and rough overnight). So great to be right next to one of the gondolas. I should note that for rank beginners, the big, flat beginner slopes at Whistler are at the "Olympic Station" area up the Whistler Village gondola. The green slopes off of the Creekside gondola were more advanced greens & the slopes toward the bottom of Creekside all looked steep to me!
First Tracks is a very good value and I don't think there was a similar type/price of condo accommodation located as close to the Whistler Village gondolas. While people on TA say they prefer Creekside to the Village, I would have liked to be closer, perhaps five minutes walking distance, rather than a car or bus ride away. Overall, I think the resort was only half or 2/3 full while we were there, but we did end up going over to the Village every night for dinner or at least drinks. The Village did seem to have gaggles of 20-somethings roving around, though no one was rowdy. Creekside is bustling enough during the day (we enjoyed Dusty's), but it is nice having the critical mass and choices that the Village offers in the evening. Intrawest should have put in a monorail to link the areas better. My kids, though, thought it was really cool that they could go so many different places via skiing and lift ticket! They had a bit of a challenge the first couple of days determining the exact sequence of slopes needed to get back to Creekside, but that was part of the fun.

The 2 bedroom unit we had was clean and in good condition though by no means deluxe. The kitchen had granite counters but mid or low-end everything else. Pots & cooking utensils & gadgets were all "there", but not good quality or in great condition. The peeler couldn't peel anything firmer than butter-- we had to use a cutting knife to peel our apples & potatoes. The top rack of the dishwasher would only pull out about 8 inches -- the usual extension rail was missing. A really serious hazard, however, was the seating, especially the counter stools which were the most unstable I have ever encountered. They would not be safe in the presence of babies, toddlers or anyone infirm. Their base is really small, and the seat on top is heavy. The slightest brush while walking by made them topple! Sitting on them took more effort than was worth. We needed to catch them from tipping over several times each day -- thank God we were all sturdy adults. The dining chairs were only slightly more stable.
The wifi worked well for us, and our cell phones (AT&T) provided good service, even when the kids were way up on the mountains (there were just a couple places up there with weak signals.) Our unit was facing the entrance, not the slopes, & noise was not a problem.
We appreciated having the underground garage, but it was a challenge navigating with the mega-sized rental SUV we had, especially since so many garage spaces are "reserved", and others with similarly oversized cars were blithely taking over 2 spots (which we also ended up doing on occasion.) If your parking skills are not superb, consider downsizing the rental if you can!
I'm probably sounding whiny, but the reason I've given it 4 stars and not less is that it was priced well for its size, condition & location. Also, in Vancouver, we had just come from a couple days at the super-deluxe L'Hermitage condo/hotel (which was similarly bargain priced, for some reason.) Just thought I'd provide some specifics about what you get and don't get.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to First Tracks Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Tracks Lodge

Address: 2202 Gondola Way, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Whistler
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Whistler
#4 Romantic Hotel in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — First Tracks Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located ski-in, ski-out at the base of Whistler Mountain in Whistler Creekside, First Tracks Lodge is an upscale, condo style hotel. This all suite hotel features suites ranging in size from one to four bedrooms. Each suite offers a full kitchen with upscale appliances and granite counter tops, a living area with a gas fireplace, private balconies and one full bathroom per bedroom. This property truly offers all of the comforts of home in a most convenient location. In addition, the Creekside Village is just steps away providing convenient access to a grocery store, liquor store, ski and board rentals, Whistler kids programs as well as a few coffee shops and eateries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your First Tracks Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1st Tracks Lodge
First Tracks Hotel Whistler
First Tracks Whistler

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage First Tracks Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.