We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and very comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Marquise

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Marquise to your Saves list
The Marquise
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   4809 Spearhead Drive, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Torquay, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great location and very comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

We read a lot of bad reviews about the Marquise but were convinced to book into unit 412 after talking to the owners, Westwind Properties. There are a number of units that are managed by the main operators and some by private owners. We were fortunate with our unit, it was very well appointed, clean (cleaned every third or fourth day while we were there) and comfortable.
In summary we are very happy with the experience and would certainly return.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    24
    11
    10
    6
See reviews for
16
13
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woodinville, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

Good location above the Blackcomb base area. Walk-out access of about 250 m to the lower slope just abovet the lifts.Ski-in access deposits you directly across the street.The building itself is a bit dated and would benefit from a face lift. There is a large poll/spa/fitness room in reasonable condition. Suite 607 is a large top floor unit with lots of windows and a view over the Fairmont and Four Seasons hotels in the Upper Village. Would be nice if the kitchen had more matching glasses and a teapot etc. The advertised bed arrangement was not accurate, but there were extra sleeper sofas. Good value for the price, considering its Whistler.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave_Mitchell_WP, Front Office Manager at The Marquise, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time ti post this review of your stay at The Marquise #607 managed by Whistler Premier Resorts. As you mentioned the views from the 6th floor are great with Sproat and Rainbow mountains being seen above the Fairmont and the Four Seasons.

I have passed along your concerns regarding the glasses, tea pot and and bed arrangements.

Thank you for choosing Whistler Premier Resorts for your Whistler accommodation needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossland, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

We stayed at Unit #614 after searching through Trip Advisor for reviews about this place. The units are owned privately - so the quality of lodging will vary tremendously. We chose the Marquise for its location. In Upper Village, it is quieter, further from the crowds. This condo does have ski-in -ski out just outside the main gate (but you do have to cross the road). we do not downhill but Cross Country - so access to Lost Lake Trails were just a quick walk out of the door, across the road and down the ski in ski out trails - 10min. The free village shuttle (currently #5, Upper Village/Benchlands) stops just outside the main gate.
Booking this unit was easy, the owners responded very promptly and efficiently. The check-in instructions were comprehensive, with entry codes for the main door, internet access and ski lockers.
The unit (614) itself was warm, well appointed, had a full kitchen with ample supply of kitchen utensils (only thing we wanted that wasnt there was a pasta scoop), dining area cosy a very comfortable living room with huge flat screen TV. WIFI access was wonderful (one of the main reasons for choosing). The bedroom was slightly small, but the bed was huge and very comfortable. Duvets were a bit too heavy (in our opinion). Bathroom and shower had good quality fittings.
Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Not all Units in the same condos are alike - ask which unit you are thinking about renting
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

As the Marquise is owned by individuals, each suite will have a different experience, hence the mixed reviews. We stayed at the Marquise several years ago, with very good accomodation. So we booked again, different suite, this time Unit 614, which was excellent and great value. New smart fresh decor, very cosy and easy to heat. Full kitchen, quite well equpped, good bed and pillows, 2 flat screen televisions. Great access to village via shuttle bus which stops at the top of the driveway. Our views were across the courtyard below to the mountains, dormer style windows, Our one and only criticism is that the bedroom is quite bright in the early winter morning as the window blind is not a blackout one. Otherwise, this must be one of the best in the area. the building is older style. We were supplied with a code for the door by the owner by email so no problem with checking in as some have mentioned.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

Booked through American Express Travel Australia/SkiMax/Quest Apartments. We stayed in Apartment 605, the apartment was very generous with 2 bedrooms plus a loft which was huge with only 2 single beds in it. One bedroom had a comfortable King (I think 2 KS pushed together), bedroom 2 had a Queen bed - not so comfortable. Two bathrooms, full kitchen and there was a washer and dryer in the apartment which was an unexpected bonus. The outlook was beautiful, on the 6th floor with large windows looking out towards the Four Seasons Hotel (not close) and the mountains beyond. Very nice clean, white linen, the towels were changed every 4 days. The place was clean except when we arrived, the filter in the dishwasher had not been cleaned from the previous tenants. Ski lockers in the basement with a combination lock. The apartment is tired, and needs freshening up and updating, all the appliances are quite old but everything was in working order, the fridge has a noisy fan which seemed to go alot, it didn't bother us but would some. The dryer door was held shut by a bit of wood, effective but shabby. Instructions for the dryer would have been useful, the dial was a bit cryptic but we managed. There was a cupboard under the stairs which had all sorts of odd bits and pieces in it, I felt this space should have been locked if it was the owner's storage area, similarly there was a large television stored in the hall cupboard, that just shouldn't have been there. Very strange high dining table with high bar style chairs around it. A picture in the main bedroom had fallen down and was broken behind the chest of drawers, the hook bare on the wall, my husband fixed it and put it back up!
I HAVE AN IMPORTANT MESSAGE FOR THE OWNERS OF THIS APARTMENT - ON DAY 4 OUR DAUGHTER HAD A BATH IN THE BATHTUB, PREVIOUSLY ONLY USED FOR SHOWERS, NO WATER WAS SPLASHED OR WENT ON THE FLOOR OF THE BATHROOM BUT DIRECTLY AFTER THE BATH WE NOTICED THE CARPET IN THE DINING ROOM, WAS ABSOLUTELY SOAKED, 4 OF THE LARGE BATHTOWELS AND 4 HANDTOWELS WERE USED TO SOAK UP THE WATER AND THE CARPET WAS STILL WET, THAT IS A SERIOUS AMOUNT OF WATER! INITIALLY WE THOUGHT IT WAS THE DISHWASHER LEAKING BUT AFTER INVESTIGATION BY MAINTENANCE, WE ALL AGREED THE WATER CAME FROM THE BATHROOM. MY CONCERN IS THAT MAINTENANCE THOUGHT IT WAS FROM WATER SPLASHED ON THE FLOOR, BUT THERE WASN'T ANY! THEY WERE GOING TO COME AND RE-DO THE SILASTIC (IT'S OBVIOUS THIS HAS BEEN DONE MANY TIMES PREVIOUSLY) THE SPA JETS MUST BE LEAKING FOR THERE TO BE THAT MUCH WATER!!! THE CARPET LOOKS FAIRLY NEW BUT IT WILL BE RUINED IF THEY KEEP TRYING TO PATCH THE SILASTIC WHEN THAT ISN'T THE PROBLEM. No-one had a bath for the remainder of our stay which was 10 more days and not surprisingly, no more water problems!
The Marquise is considered a ski-in/ski-out location which is the case when there is enough snow, from the locker room you can walk out of the building and across the road to a path which you can ski along and then down to the Wizard lift. Conversely, on the way home you just hang a right off the ski slope, ski along the path until you reach the road, click off your skis and walk across the road, BUT only when the snow allows. The shuttlebus stop is right outside the Marquise and the bus runs every 15 minutes taking you into the Village, I think it runs until about 11:30pm. The walk to Whistler Village is only about 15 minutes and there are shops and restaurants only a few minutes walk away too.
I know I have complained somewhat about this apartment but I have to say that we had a wonderful stay, we found the location good, the roominess and outlook was great, it just needs some updating and tidying up and someone really needs to fix that bath.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

As said in the title it does feel like the place needs a little update. However it is very clean, got eveything we need, great location and with good views. Compared to European stays the size is good. Hot tub was boiling!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

My family is 4 strong and this unit was perfect for our current requirements. Small, compact and nicely appointed with serviceable appliances, clean comfortable linens and easy access to the Blackcomb base (and ski school!).
The bedroom is roomy and the bed comfortable. The kids sleeper couch was, as all sleeper couches, a little rough for an adult, but the children liked it. The TV was good, if old, and the full cable service a nice bonus.
We'll be back.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Marquise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marquise

Address: 4809 Spearhead Drive, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 57 Specialty Lodging in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Marquise 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your The Marquise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marquise Hotel Whistler

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Marquise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.