We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two night stay in October” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mountainside Lodge - A Shell Vacations Resort

Save Saved
You added Mountainside Lodge - A Shell Vacations Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mountainside Lodge - A Shell Vacations Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4417 Sundial Place, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 53 hotels in Whistler
Kamloops, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Two night stay in October”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Close to everything in the Village. Short walk to all restaurants and shops. I got upgraded to a very nice suite with full kitchen facilities and other amenities. Reasonable rate for October and the suite had everything I could have needed.
All in all, a very nice place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shell W, Shell Social Media Team at Mountainside Lodge - A Shell Vacations Resort, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. We are so glad you enjoyed the unit accommodations and resort location. We hope you come back to stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    79
    109
    37
    14
    17
See reviews for
61
103
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

I booked the Mountainside Lodge in Whistler as it was accommodating three people in one room, I was not however expecting such a large apartment. We were given a loft apartment, this had two bathrooms, one with a Jacuzzi bath, a fully fitted kitchen, dining area, sitting room and an upstairs with bedroom, bathroom and sauna. Staff were really helpful and friendly, this is also a great location in the village. No complaints at all here, a great location, room and price.

Room Tip: Book a loft suite..
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

I wasn't sure what to expect when I arrived at this accommodation as we had got a good rate on Agoda. However, we received a warm welcome by staff on arrival and every time we walked through the door. On staff advice, we upgraded our room to better suit our needs and we were not disappointed. Room was very well equipped and comfortable. It's well located to everything in the Whistler Village - a 2-5 minute walk from most things. Would definitely stay again although parking was a bit expensive at $18pn.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shell W, Shell Social Media Team at Mountainside Lodge - A Shell Vacations Resort, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for providing this feedback along with some helpful tips for future guests. We are glad you enjoyed the resort location and unit amenities. It’s always great to hear that our friendly staff was able to fully assist with any needs during your visit. We hope you come back to stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Canada
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I never win anything so I was amazed to catch a 2 night Whistler vacation package offered by Tourism Whistler (Mountainside Lodge, Araxi Restaurant, and a spa treatment at the Westin Hotel). Whistler is a nice spot to get away from the hustle and bustle of Vancouver. The Mountainside Lodge is within the village and walking distance to most establishments. The lodge staff was cordial and pleasant. The only incident was when my credit card was billed (post check-out) for close to CAD150 because housekeeping did see the room merchandise in it's usual place. In fairness to the lodge the erroneous billing was promptly reversed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Hawaii, Hawaii
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

This place is definitely not a 5-star lodging but the location is GREAT, the kitchenette is very handy and well stocked with the basics one needs to prepare your own meals, free wi-fi is great, free parking too if you're Shell owners (which we are) and the Murphy bed is surprisingly comfy. The decor is kinda outdated and housecleaning only comes in every 5 days so if you stay for more than 1 week and are messy, things can get untidy. But front desk, housecleaning and maintenance are very good about fixing anything that might need fixing and providing with whatever you need if you just ask. We have stayed here twice so far, 2011, 2013, and will be back next year for Ironman!

Room Tip: Choose room not facing Executive Suites. Guests over there can be noisy late in the evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Stayed for one night at last minute. Had to pay cash deposit (instead of credit card which neither of us have) which was $250...WHAT!?! Most I've ever paid is $200. I know you get it back, but...

Regardless, AWESOME location. Steps away from all the great nightclubs, "The Grocery Store" and the large open parking lots. (Lot 4 is 24hrs & FREE for parking.. save yourself the $18/night during non-peak season.)

Basic room has great set-up for entertaining. We fit about 10 people comfortably. (Not sleeping there, obviously..) Bed folds down from wall & is decently comfortable. Extra pillows/bedding available in the closet.

Decently sized bathroom with soaker tub.

Kitchen is awesome. Full stove/oven, fridge/freezer & dishwasher. All utensils/plates/cups as well. Could do with some saran wrap &/or tin foil.. but that's just my opinion.

Only bad is the noise at 2:15am when all the bars/clubs let out. Typical of any hotel in such a great location, though. (And I'm usually the one creating said noise anyway, lol.)

Overall great place to stay. I paid $109+tax on a Saturday night... not too bad for non-groupon price in Whistler!

Room Tip: Had #111 - first floor, close to pool entrance & front lobby. Not bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

Well, it should have been a great stay, but they turned the hot water off. Aparrently this was scheduled maintenance and we were told it was only temporary. Not so, the hot water was off all day and the next night. Ok, so maintenance has to be done, but why not during the night when we sleep? The most frustrating thing was that noone gave us a straight answer as to when we could take a shower. I didn't (though I actually did) pay for this.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mslwhistler, General Manager at Mountainside Lodge - A Shell Vacations Resort, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. We are sorry to hear that we fell below your expectations. There are times that building maintenance has to be done at times that will cause problems for some guests. The mechanical work that was done during your stay was unexpected and was a major undertaking. The hot water being off did disrupt all three businesses that operate in the building. The work was coordinated through the buildings Strata Management Company but was not the type of work that could be done overnight, unfortunately. Once again we appologise and hope we can do better next time.

Mark Tremblett
Mountainside Lodge - A Shell Vacations Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mountainside Lodge - A Shell Vacations Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountainside Lodge - A Shell Vacations Resort

Address: 4417 Sundial Place, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mountainside Lodge - A Shell Vacations Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Mountainside Lodge, you’ll find all the comfort, service and amenities you desire when you’re ready to balance your sense of adventure with something for your other senses. Mountainside Lodge is surrounded by spectacular mountain views, yet close to the delightful ambiance of Whistler Village. You just won’t find a better base for your adventure all suites have mountain views, attractive tile and rich carpeted floors, gas log fireplace and wooden blinds. The bathrooms have a jetted tub and bath amenities including a hairdryer and cozy bathrobes. The fully equipped kitchen with dining area, has a dishwasher, full size stove & fridge, microwave, iron and ironing board. You’re never far from a stylish hideaway, a gourmet meal or a rejuvenating massage when you make Mountainside Lodge your base for adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Mountainside Lodge - A Shell Vacations Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountainside Hotel Whistler
Mountainside Lodge Whistler

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountainside Lodge - A Shell Vacations Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.