We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed with management and policy on changes to itenerary” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mountainside Lodge - A Shell Vacations Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mountainside Lodge - A Shell Vacations Resort to your Saves list
Mountainside Lodge - A Shell Vacations Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4417 Sundial Place, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 52 Hotels in Whistler
GreenLeadersBronze level
New Glasgow, Canada
1 review
“Disappointed with management and policy on changes to itenerary”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We booked the Mountainside Lodge through Expedia.ca for a Saturday night in July. I made a mistake in our booked arrival date and showed up one night early. The hotel was full, but we were able to stay at another hotel in the village for the night and asked for a refund or partial refund since we had to travel the next day (Saturday). We provided a day's notice regarding the change and the hotel, and the village were quite busy. Checking the next day the hotel was full but a refund had been denied with the manager citing their policy of more than 3 days notice necessary. I take from this that they choose to rent the room out receiving, I think unfairly, the extra rent or were not inclined to offer to sell the room and refund any difference in costs.

I am disappointed since we had had in the past many winter and summer family vacation nights spent at this hotel. The other hotels in the village that night and during our trip were quite accommodating. I would be reluctant to book again with the policy they currently have. This was the only disappointment during our great vacation to BC, visiting many of the places we used to hike, ski and travel during our years of living and visiting the west with our children.

Room Tip: My tip would be to ensure if the cancellation policy is needed a schedule change can easily happen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shell W, Shell Social Media Team at Mountainside Lodge - A Shell Vacations Resort, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Hi Mike and Anne,

We are so sorry to hear about the refund issue you encountered. We sincerely appreciate the feedback and will do our best to prevent any similar experiences in the future. Thank you for taking the time to provide this information.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    115
    39
    14
    17
See reviews for
63
110
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a night and really enjoyed it.

The location of this hotel is excellent. You are literally 50 metres from the main walkway right through the Lower Village of Whistler which has tonnes of restaurants, stores, pubs, night-clubs and many excursion companies. The Upper Village is a short walk away so if you are debating between staying at one or the other, it likely doesn't matter as you can access both easily. Choosing where to stay in town will depend on your intended activities though. (The chair lifts are a short walk away too.)

We didn't eat at the hotel restaurant as we wanted to go out for dinner and see the town. The menu looked good and a tad on the expensive side.

The room was great. We stayed in 310. This has a pool view and had a bit more than a "peek-a-boo" view of the slopes. The wall-bed was comfortable. The kitchen is all you need if you want to stay in for your meals and/or have some extra drinks/snacks on hand. It contains all the dishes, cutlery, etc that you will need as well as stove and microwave. Everything was clean and in good shape. If you are considering a longer stay, this would be a good place to do it.

The service was good. Staff was friendly and helpful. We didn't consider room service so cannot comment on that.

Other:
-Parking is provided by a "third party" and costs $18/night underground. We were told that we have to vacate the underground parking lot by 1pm or we may get a ticket which the hotel has no control over. There is parking in large outdoor lots too. Lot 4 and 5 which is a fairly short distance away is free and if you drop your bags off first will not be a huge trek. Do not expect these lots to be available as they can get full easily. Lots 1-3 are pay parking and closer to the hotel.
-Lockers are provided in the hotel for sporting gear
-Check-out is 11AM but we easily had it changed to 12PM. We asked for later but they had already "reached thier daily quota for later check-outs". This mean that if you want a later check-out you should likely ask for one as soon as you book the room or arrive for check-in.

WE ENJOY HELPING FELLOW TRAVELLERS. IF YOU FIND THIS REVIEW HELPFUL, PLEASE GIVE US A HELPFUL VOTE.

ps- I have been to 10 different mountain resort villages in Western North America in both summer and winter and I enjoy Whistler the most, for both seasons.

Cheers,
Spencer and Holli

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

My boyfriend and I consistently come back to Mountainside. The staff are all wonderful, and they even remember us from 2 years back. We would recommend staying in the loft suite, it has your own personal sauna! Where else can you find that in Whistler? Perfect location near everything. Pool area is so relaxing. Pillows are fluffy. Rooms are always clean. Mountainside has never disappointed us.

Room Tip: Choose a loft suite! Best value
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We arrived at 3 AM and the front desk staff was extremely helpful in getting us settled in. Our suite was a delight. The bed was very comfortable---I suffer from many medical problems: disk disease in my neck and back; chronic pain, arthritis, and other medical issues. I was able to sleep well and relaxed.

The Jacuzzi Tub in our room was the best by far. It had room for the two of us and was easy to use. We appreciate the staff allowing us to sleep in and still be able to make our bed and stock our towels.

We will be back and let others know how wonderful this specific resort is. We were located close to many village attractions and it was easy walking to shop, eat, and enjoy Whistler. We want to thank all the staff and management for making this a vacation of a lifetime. Great service deserves to be recognized.

Staff were courteous, professional, and friendly. No matter what time of day it was, they made us feel welcome and appreciated. The restaurant served generous portions of 5 star quality meals. The prices were very reasonable.

We stayed 15 days and we can honestly say each day got better and better. The village is set up disability friendly. The hotel had easy access to the village and its sights. It was the perfect way to view the wonderful beauty of Canada. We will be back and we want to thank everyone who assisted us during our stay. M & A Hansen

Room Tip: Any room should be good. The easy way to the village for those with disabilities is to go through t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I would stay here again. The location is excellent. The staff are extremely good, I cannot say enough about their good nature and responsiveness and willingness to proactively offer help. The rooms are more than satisfactory for the price. The water temperature of the pool was excellent with a 3 meter deep end. The pool deck is older cement and they seem to repair it regularly, for example; there were a couple of areas that needs new cement and during our stay they were getting a quote from a trades company.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We spent 3 nights at the Mountainside Lodge in July. The location is excellent. The village is just a few steps away. We liked having a well equipped kitchen with all of the appliances and cookware that we needed. The 1 bedroom suite was large, and the king size bed was very comfortable. The room was nicely updated and very clean. We also enjoyed walking down the hall for dinner at Umberto's. The fitness room is small and basic but has an elliptical, treadmill, balance ball, and I think a few free weights. Why exercise indoors when there is so much to do outside! Fanatyk bike rental is next door and provided a great range of mountain and downhill bikes, and excellent service. We have stayed at the Mountainside several times, and always enjoyed our stay and the helpful staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mountainside Lodge - A Shell Vacations Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountainside Lodge - A Shell Vacations Resort

Address: 4417 Sundial Place, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 52 Hotels in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mountainside Lodge - A Shell Vacations Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Mountainside Lodge, you’ll find all the comfort, service and amenities you desire when you’re ready to balance your sense of adventure with something for your other senses. Mountainside Lodge is surrounded by spectacular mountain views, yet close to the delightful ambiance of Whistler Village. You just won’t find a better base for your adventure all suites have mountain views, attractive tile and rich carpeted floors, gas log fireplace and wooden blinds. The bathrooms have a jetted tub and bath amenities including a hairdryer and cozy bathrobes. The fully equipped kitchen with dining area, has a dishwasher, full size stove & fridge, microwave, iron and ironing board. You’re never far from a stylish hideaway, a gourmet meal or a rejuvenating massage when you make Mountainside Lodge your base for adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mountainside Lodge - A Shell Vacations Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountainside Hotel Whistler
Mountainside Lodge Whistler

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountainside Lodge - A Shell Vacations Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.