We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, staff, parking; value rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mountainside Lodge - A Shell Vacations Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mountainside Lodge - A Shell Vacations Resort to your Saves list
Mountainside Lodge - A Shell Vacations Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4417 Sundial Place, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 52 Hotels in Whistler
GreenLeadersBronze level
Tacoma, Washington
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent location, staff, parking; value rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I would stay here again. The location is excellent. The staff are extremely good, I cannot say enough about their good nature and responsiveness and willingness to proactively offer help. The rooms are more than satisfactory for the price. The water temperature of the pool was excellent with a 3 meter deep end. The pool deck is older cement and they seem to repair it regularly, for example; there were a couple of areas that needs new cement and during our stay they were getting a quote from a trades company.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    120
    43
    15
    19
See reviews for
67
117
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, BC
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We spent 3 nights at the Mountainside Lodge in July. The location is excellent. The village is just a few steps away. We liked having a well equipped kitchen with all of the appliances and cookware that we needed. The 1 bedroom suite was large, and the king size bed was very comfortable. The room was nicely updated and very clean. We also enjoyed walking down the hall for dinner at Umberto's. The fitness room is small and basic but has an elliptical, treadmill, balance ball, and I think a few free weights. Why exercise indoors when there is so much to do outside! Fanatyk bike rental is next door and provided a great range of mountain and downhill bikes, and excellent service. We have stayed at the Mountainside several times, and always enjoyed our stay and the helpful staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I recently booked two rooms for visiting family members and we enjoyed our time at the Mountainside. The rooms were bright, clean and equipped with the comforts of home. Mostly I was so impressed by how friendly and helpful the staff were. Thank you to your team, my mother was thrilled with her time here.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorba Linda, CA
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We exchanged our 3B condo in Hawaii for a week in Whistler. The pictures and the description of the property don't accord well with the size of the room. The efficiency studio is advertised as sufficient room for up to 4 people, but the room is very small. There is a pull down Murphy bed which sleeps 2, a pull out trundle bed for 1 person. I suppose the 4th person could sleep on the couch on top of the trundle bed. Even still, the studios are pretty small; they really seem to be sufficient for 2 people. You have to move the kitchen table out of the way to pull out the trundle bed, and it makes it difficult to use the kitchen. The bathroom is pretty small as well. We spoke with patrons who were in the suites and they enjoyed the spaciousness of their suites. Perhaps next time, we'll be able to trade for a suite instead of a studio.

Just a note of caution: there are windows which may be opened. This was nice, as we could let the breeze come into the room. The windows however, are not screened and it would be easy for someone or something (e.g. your pet!) to fall out of a window.

The parking is pretty cramped. It's nice to have secure parking in the attached garage, but there are not that many spaces for the guests (the garage is shared with residents of the Executive Inn, which shares the same property).

On the plus side, the property is nestled within the village, making access to activities and restaurants easy. The hotel staff is accommodating, and provided us with assistance on recommendations to eat, as well as directions to nearby activities. The property also offers free Wi-Fi, although it was a bit slow at times.

Room Tip: Try to not have a room near the elevator. The elevator squeaks and you can hear it from the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Three adults and 2 children stayed in a one bedroom suite on the third floor of the lodge. The room had everything we needed. The main bedroom was totally separate from the living/dining area. The kitchen was fully equipped so that we could prepare our own breakfasts. The unit had 2 separate entrances! This was fabulous -- the sleeping children were not disturbed in the other room. We had a comfortable pull-out coach and to our surprise a trundle bed! The youngest slept in a "play'n'pack" crib supplied by the hotel. The main bedroom had a wonderful large jacuzzi tub (the kids loved it!) There were washer/dryers available on the same floor -which also came in handy for us. Everything was clean and comfortable. The room was relatively quiet for the location. The reception at the front desk were very welcoming. I will definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayern
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
67 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

The Hotel is just nice.. you can enjoy the pool or hot tube, you have a gym and you have your own kitchen in the room which is great!
Also everything is nearby.. you can shop, go to the hill or drive to the highway, all within a couple of minutes! Parking fee are 18$ which is a lot i think, but you dont have a choice. The bed is in the cupboard (very easy to handle) so you have more free room. WIFI is working very good and without problems, i would like to come again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Mountainside Lodge - A Shell Vacations Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountainside Lodge - A Shell Vacations Resort

Address: 4417 Sundial Place, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 52 Hotels in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mountainside Lodge - A Shell Vacations Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Mountainside Lodge, you’ll find all the comfort, service and amenities you desire when you’re ready to balance your sense of adventure with something for your other senses. Mountainside Lodge is surrounded by spectacular mountain views, yet close to the delightful ambiance of Whistler Village. You just won’t find a better base for your adventure all suites have mountain views, attractive tile and rich carpeted floors, gas log fireplace and wooden blinds. The bathrooms have a jetted tub and bath amenities including a hairdryer and cozy bathrobes. The fully equipped kitchen with dining area, has a dishwasher, full size stove & fridge, microwave, iron and ironing board. You’re never far from a stylish hideaway, a gourmet meal or a rejuvenating massage when you make Mountainside Lodge your base for adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mountainside Lodge - A Shell Vacations Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountainside Hotel Whistler
Mountainside Lodge Whistler

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountainside Lodge - A Shell Vacations Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.