We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mountainside Lodge - A Shell Vacations Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mountainside Lodge - A Shell Vacations Resort to your Saves list
Mountainside Lodge - A Shell Vacations Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4417 Sundial Place, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 52 Hotels in Whistler
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bayern
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel, good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

The Hotel is just nice.. you can enjoy the pool or hot tube, you have a gym and you have your own kitchen in the room which is great!
Also everything is nearby.. you can shop, go to the hill or drive to the highway, all within a couple of minutes! Parking fee are 18$ which is a lot i think, but you dont have a choice. The bed is in the cupboard (very easy to handle) so you have more free room. WIFI is working very good and without problems, i would like to come again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    115
    39
    15
    18
See reviews for
64
112
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Vancouver, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We booked our whole clan into the Mountainside recently and had the worst experience ever in Whistler. We're from the valley, but my folks' home is too small to house all 20 kids and grandkids so we thought we'd try the Mountainside as my old buddy used the manage the place and it has our family favourite restaurant (the TRatt, no longer associated with teh hotel) where we'd have my Dad's 80th birthday. I complained about them being too inflexible with parking etc. for a group there to spend the sort of $$$ we were dropping and the manager was called down. He was so agitated and clearly festering that I decided to leave the premise as asked just to let the poor guy decompress...he was heading for a jammer. No huge deal for us as we simply went and stayed at our place, but by far the most bizarre hotel experience in my life. Needless to say we'll never be back nor will any of our friends, neighbours and network in the valley and Vancouver...truly an insane experience :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whistler, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Recently I booked a condo at the Mountainside Lodge for my parents visiting for the week. They were travelling from the East Coast and let's just say they aren't always the most easy going people (but I love them!). Well upon arrival at the Lodge they were certainly blown away. The room was spacious, clean and had a great view of the mountain. The amenities are up to date (nice TV, kitchen etc.. ) and the central location was perfect for my parents as they were up very early everyday (I was not) and could roam/enjoy the Village. The staff were also amazing and got to know my parents by name and was very welcoming and warm to them. They even helped me out to come up with activities to entertain them during their stay! Would definitely recommend to anyone wanting a great stay in Whistler for a great price and a good /relaxing time!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire.U.K
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at the beginning of June in a One Bedroom Deluxe.The room was fabulous.It had everything for self catering.Even though it had two bathrooms we tended to use the one with the large walk in shower,which doubled as a steam room.We didn't try it but can imagine how great it would be after a day on the slopes.Everything couldn't be nearer at hand,Bars,Shops etc.The icing on the cake was on the day we were leaving.The very helpful young chap at the front desk (sorry I didn't get your name) gave us directions to a valley where apparently trips take tourists bear watching.We didn't get our hopes up but were rewarded with seeing 4 bears feeding at the roadside on the trip up and down the valley.And a lovely waterfall at the end of the road.
The only downside for us was the $18 a day parking.Some of the hotels give free parking at this time out of season.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Our studio was nice and comfy with our own kitchen which was good. Fireplace was also nice as it was little cold outside :) Bed was nice and soft.
Also liked the pool area outside and all the shops were right outside so you could walk everywhere.
Staff were nice and friendly - this hotel is good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed one night and found the price good for the loft room. The rooms are well appointed.
The pool area is very nice. Hot tub. Lots of nice lounges. Check in was easy. Desk clerkp very nice and helpful. WiFi password given at check in.

Room Tip: Loft rooms are very nice, especially ones overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We had a smallish loft "condo" but it was well designed and really, really was a neat place to stay. Even had it's own private sauna. Located right in the village, you can walk to just about everything. Staff was very helpful. Only downside is parking is a bit snug and just a couple of luggage carts but we would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mountainside Lodge - A Shell Vacations Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountainside Lodge - A Shell Vacations Resort

Address: 4417 Sundial Place, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mountainside Lodge - A Shell Vacations Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Mountainside Lodge, you’ll find all the comfort, service and amenities you desire when you’re ready to balance your sense of adventure with something for your other senses. Mountainside Lodge is surrounded by spectacular mountain views, yet close to the delightful ambiance of Whistler Village. You just won’t find a better base for your adventure all suites have mountain views, attractive tile and rich carpeted floors, gas log fireplace and wooden blinds. The bathrooms have a jetted tub and bath amenities including a hairdryer and cozy bathrobes. The fully equipped kitchen with dining area, has a dishwasher, full size stove & fridge, microwave, iron and ironing board. You’re never far from a stylish hideaway, a gourmet meal or a rejuvenating massage when you make Mountainside Lodge your base for adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mountainside Lodge - A Shell Vacations Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountainside Hotel Whistler
Mountainside Lodge Whistler

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountainside Lodge - A Shell Vacations Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.