We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We saw 4 Bears!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mountainside Lodge - A Shell Vacations Resort

Save Saved
You added Mountainside Lodge - A Shell Vacations Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mountainside Lodge - A Shell Vacations Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4417 Sundial Place, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 53 hotels in Whistler
Lincolnshire.U.K
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“We saw 4 Bears!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at the beginning of June in a One Bedroom Deluxe.The room was fabulous.It had everything for self catering.Even though it had two bathrooms we tended to use the one with the large walk in shower,which doubled as a steam room.We didn't try it but can imagine how great it would be after a day on the slopes.Everything couldn't be nearer at hand,Bars,Shops etc.The icing on the cake was on the day we were leaving.The very helpful young chap at the front desk (sorry I didn't get your name) gave us directions to a valley where apparently trips take tourists bear watching.We didn't get our hopes up but were rewarded with seeing 4 bears feeding at the roadside on the trip up and down the valley.And a lovely waterfall at the end of the road.
The only downside for us was the $18 a day parking.Some of the hotels give free parking at this time out of season.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    79
    109
    37
    14
    17
See reviews for
61
103
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Our studio was nice and comfy with our own kitchen which was good. Fireplace was also nice as it was little cold outside :) Bed was nice and soft.
Also liked the pool area outside and all the shops were right outside so you could walk everywhere.
Staff were nice and friendly - this hotel is good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed one night and found the price good for the loft room. The rooms are well appointed.
The pool area is very nice. Hot tub. Lots of nice lounges. Check in was easy. Desk clerkp very nice and helpful. WiFi password given at check in.

Room Tip: Loft rooms are very nice, especially ones overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We had a smallish loft "condo" but it was well designed and really, really was a neat place to stay. Even had it's own private sauna. Located right in the village, you can walk to just about everything. Staff was very helpful. Only downside is parking is a bit snug and just a couple of luggage carts but we would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Close to everything, this is a great base from which to explore the area. Staff friendly and informative. Convenient parking in the basement. Our well-designed studio has a comfortable Murphy bed with quality bedding, a jetted tub with bathrobes provided, gas fireplace, and dining bay; Kitchenette is complete with oven and dishwasher, a good sized fridge and sufficient storage space. If you cook, bring your own salt and spices. Food prices are high. Curiously, there is a step down between kitchen-dining and living-sleeping areas that could be hazardous. We exchanged our time share week, our first time in a Shell Vacations property, and would do so again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

I had read mostly favourable reviews about "Mountainside Lodge" with a few disgruntled patrons mixed in who felt the Desk staff were unfriendly and unhelpful... That was not my experience! All of the staff that I encountered were friendly and helpful. A special thanks to Marylin and Grant at the front desk who were always very welcoming, and gave us a bunch of tips on trails and local eateries :-) thanks gang!

I usually head to Whistler 5-10 times a year, but it is always good to get the new scoop on places and things to do - so once again Thanks Marylin & Grant!

While traveling up to Whistler I called the Mountainside to see if we could at least drop our car and bags as we were coming prior to check in and wanted to hit some trails. No prob! Our room was hooked up for us when we arrived. There were 4 of us so we had booked one of the Loft rooms with a trundle bed (perfect for my 12 year old son) plus a pull out in the living room and queen bed in the loft. Even had our own private sauna off the loft! A small but effective kitchenette with dish washer, mini full sized fridge and the basics was perfect for us to prepare breakfast and dinner one night.

A short hike followed by a swim in the heated pool and lounge in the hot tub with a cocktail was a great way to ease into Whistler time. Headed to the new Mexican Restaurant in town "El Sombrero" after Marylin at the front desk told me about it. I was originally headed to Mexican corner but they had a half hour wait and we were hungry. Now you may be thinking....Mexican cuisine in Whistler??? Both Mexican Corner and El Sombrero are great and serve authentic Mexican!

So Saturday arrived and what a better way to start your day than an ATV ride. Had a groupon to burn so took my son for the two hour Bushwacker tour with Whistler ATV. Took this tour a few years back & it was even better this time. More trails, more fun! Had a great guide, Colin, who was safe, experienced but also tons of fun! Thanks Colin!!!

All in all an awesome Whistler weekend and great stay at Mountainside Lodge! Can't wait to be back.

Room Tip: Had a room overlooking the pool which was nice but just be aware...This is Whistler, you are in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

What's not to love about this place?! Well appointed and spacious room. Helpful and friendly staff. You are steps from the gondola and popular bars. The pool is lovely. Kitchenette (c/w dishwasher). I like having the option for cooking for myself as it really cuts down on the costs of going to Whistler and allows you to have some healthy eats. While i went with my hubbie, this would also be good for families and friends. (Kids love pools!). It feels like a room you could live in which i love.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mountainside Lodge - A Shell Vacations Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountainside Lodge - A Shell Vacations Resort

Address: 4417 Sundial Place, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mountainside Lodge - A Shell Vacations Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Mountainside Lodge, you’ll find all the comfort, service and amenities you desire when you’re ready to balance your sense of adventure with something for your other senses. Mountainside Lodge is surrounded by spectacular mountain views, yet close to the delightful ambiance of Whistler Village. You just won’t find a better base for your adventure all suites have mountain views, attractive tile and rich carpeted floors, gas log fireplace and wooden blinds. The bathrooms have a jetted tub and bath amenities including a hairdryer and cozy bathrobes. The fully equipped kitchen with dining area, has a dishwasher, full size stove & fridge, microwave, iron and ironing board. You’re never far from a stylish hideaway, a gourmet meal or a rejuvenating massage when you make Mountainside Lodge your base for adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Mountainside Lodge - A Shell Vacations Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountainside Hotel Whistler
Mountainside Lodge Whistler

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountainside Lodge - A Shell Vacations Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.