We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right in the heart of Whistler village” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mountainside Lodge - A Shell Vacations Resort

Save Saved
You added Mountainside Lodge - A Shell Vacations Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Mountainside Lodge - A Shell Vacations Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4417 Sundial Place, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 52 hotels in Whistler
Ballina, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Right in the heart of Whistler village”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Great self contained rooms, clean with friendly staff. Not a new modern lodge but very comfortable and everything you need is provided. 2 minute walk from both Blackcomb and Whistler lifts and easy access to the Whistler village. Lovely pool and hot tub both heated and Uncrowded.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    77
    108
    37
    14
    17
See reviews for
60
101
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I recently stayed at the Mountainside Lodge in Whistler and could not have had a better time. The staff was courteous and helpful. The room was spacious and well equipped. The location provided a 2 minute walk to the gondola and many restaurants and bars. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I travel to Whistler on business often and the Mountainside Lodge in Whistler is in the perfect location. You are walking distance to most everything, restaurants, shopping, ski lifts, liquor store and activities. The rooms have everthing you require, full kitchen, gas fireplace and most rooms have jacuzzi tubs. They also have great staff to make your stay comfortable. Book it!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Just recently got back from a weekend stay with my boyfriend. Stayed in a loft suite which had a nice living and dining area with a sauna and bed upstairs. The bed was very comfortable to stay in and the room overall was very cozy. Only complaint was that during the night one of the heaters was making some noise so we opted to turn them off before we went to bed. Great location to the village but nice that we didn't hear any loud noise the village can sometimes give off at night. Great value compared to what other hotels were charging, will be returning!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

My husband and I just recently came home from a trip to whistler. We splurged on a hotel for the week and decided to stay an extra night. We were going to stay at the same hotel but thought we would try something easier on the pocketbook and to see if there was a diiference so we booked a night in the suite at the mountainside for one night. We booked it on expedia, and we booked at the mountainside. but when we got there they had no record fof our reservation. So told me I had to call the mountainside excutive which is the same company but it was down the street. First I believe for good customer service he should have made thecall, but regardless I did. So then The lady on the phone at the excutive told me that yes she had my reservation. I was confused as I thought I booked at the mountianed side not excutivve. She told me that yes we were staying there but we had to come check in at the excutive. So we had to get in our vechile drvie down a block check in there and then go right back to where we were in the first place. Terrible service. If they are going to do that then they need a excutive desk in monutainside or have dual access at the front desk It was very incovenent and we had no clue .

Once we got to the room I intially thought it was cute as we walked in there was a little kitchen living room and fireplace with the bedroom in the loft. But there was a smell from the moment we walked in until when we left. I know they were reno'ed a while back but there was an old musty smell It grossed me out so much we couldn't even use the kitchenette as I didn't want to eat in the room.

When we went to bed it was comfy but during the night there was such a loud buzzing sound from one of the appliances I couldn't get back to sleep and then when I finally did I was woken up from the traffic on the street as our room faced the street and from the sunlight coming in from the skylight.

All in all we were very dispointed with this room and even though it was so close to the lifts and it had a sauna in the room that we enjoyed I would not be staying here agian and won't recommend it to anyone esle either.

Room Tip: Don't get a room facing the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mslwhistler, General Manager at Mountainside Lodge - A Shell Vacations Resort, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your recent stay in Whistler. We have forwarded the information onto the appropriate people at the Mountain Side Hotel Whistler by Executive management team for follow up.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Our group of 3 stayed at Mountainside Lodge in December. We were assigned a loft suite complete with indoor sauna upstairs, a kitchen, and a fireplace. The room was very cozy and well laid out, and was a pleasure to return to after a long day of skiing. The queen bed upstairs was very comfortable and made for a wonderful night's rest before returning to the slopes again. This was a great value considering what other hotels were charging over the holidays and we would definitely return here again. Minor issues included long wait times for the elevator and not being able to check in at the front desk (one has to check in at the Executive Inn first and then move over), but overall, a very enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mslwhistler, General Manager at Mountainside Lodge - A Shell Vacations Resort, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your recent stay in Whistler. We have forwarded the information onto the appropriate people at the Mountain Side Hotel Whistler by Executive management team for follow up.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mountainside Lodge - A Shell Vacations Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountainside Lodge - A Shell Vacations Resort

Also Known As:
Mountainside Hotel Whistler
Mountainside Lodge Whistler
Mountainside Lodge
Address: 4417 Sundial Place, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mountainside Lodge - A Shell Vacations Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Mountainside Lodge, you’ll find all the comfort, service and amenities you desire when you’re ready to balance your sense of adventure with something for your other senses. Mountainside Lodge is surrounded by spectacular mountain views, yet close to the delightful ambiance of Whistler Village. You just won’t find a better base for your adventure all suites have mountain views, attractive tile and rich carpeted floors, gas log fireplace and wooden blinds. The bathrooms have a jetted tub and bath amenities including a hairdryer and cozy bathrobes. The fully equipped kitchen with dining area, has a dishwasher, full size stove & fridge, microwave, iron and ironing board. You’re never far from a stylish hideaway, a gourmet meal or a rejuvenating massage when you make Mountainside Lodge your base for adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Mountainside Lodge - A Shell Vacations Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountainside Lodge - A Shell Vacations Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.