We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, cozy and comfortable room!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mountainside Lodge - A Shell Vacations Resort

Save Saved
You added Mountainside Lodge - A Shell Vacations Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Mountainside Lodge - A Shell Vacations Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4417 Sundial Place, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 52 hotels in Whistler
Aldergrove, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Clean, cozy and comfortable room!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed up at Mountainside Lodge Whistler by accident. Executive Inn sent us over there to use their internet to book online because the rate was cheaper! Big mistake. I guess the two are affiliated some way. Anyway... we got an incredible room for a great price. The steam room suite was clean, comfortable and located close to all amenities. We loved chatting with Marilyn the lady at the front desk. She was polite, courteous and made us feel very comfortable. We will be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    77
    108
    37
    14
    17
See reviews for
60
101
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights as a romantic getaway without the kiddos. Got a great off-season deal, and really felt we got a fantastic room for the money. The full kitchen was fully stocked with dishes and utensils, it was so nice to have a normal size fridge, a stove, and a dishwasher! We even used the oven to bake cinnamon rolls. It was great to have the table in the dining area too. Our studio had a murphy bed, and since the other reviews on it were good, I wasn't too nervous. Turns out it was the best hotel bed I have slept on in a long time. Fireplace was awesome, woke up to light snow in the morning. The only downside is it was really loud noise from the street. Sounded like the windows were open even though they weren't. Not the best for sleeping in. Maybe this could be remedied by requesting a room away from the street side? We will be coming back someday, and as long as we can get a room away from the street, we would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

This is actually a time share where the owners rent the studios on occasion. A fully equipped kitchen, a dining area and a living room with a fireplace. The murphy bed seemed a little odd but was very comfortable and very easy to handle, much better than most fold-out couches. You can picture it in ski season with four skiers and lots of boots. The location is great at one end of the village within walking distance of most things. There's a parking garage and a sauna.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

I stayed here one night for a chance just to see Whistler. My room was on the first floor with a murphy bed and that really set off alarm bells for me initially, but being on the first floor was not a problem at all and the murphy bed was fun! The studio room I was in had a kitchen area against the wall, eating area for at least four people (not sure why 4 people would be eating in a studio hotel room) and then there was a step down to a living room with a couch and a murphy bed that came down from the wall - very cool! (You remove the pillows from the couch and the murphy bed folds down on top of the couch) The bed was as comfortable as your "normal" bed. The living room also had a fireplace. The room was clean and the free Wifi worked great. One negative is the parking charge of $18. Although most hotels in Whistler Village area charge for parking, the price seemed steep considering it was the off-season and there were about 10 cars in the parking garage. This is not downtown Vancouver! Another negative is the lobby and front desk area is really small, so every time you leave the hotel you pass by the front desk, directly by it. I'm the type where after I check-in, I do not want to see or have to say hi to the front desk!

The location of the hotel is outstanding. It is very close to the Whistler Village and appeared to be close to the ski lifts (was not there during the ski season). In the Village area there are a lot of restaurants to choose from and a grocery store which was handy to get groceries and put them in the fridge in the room. In all a good stay and would recommend it, as long as you are prepared to pay for parking!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Easy to find driving in from Vancouver. Check in was painless, reception staff friendly & helpful.
Pleasantly surprised by the size of the room, full kitchen & good size bathroom. Pull down wall bed was comfortable. Everything you'd need was in the room. Would be happy and comfortable in this hotel for more than a night.
Parking was expensive in underground car park, but although checkout was 11am we were allowed to stay in the car park which enabled us to look around Whistler before moving on.
Plenty of restaurants, bars & shops within walking distance.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

I recently stayed here for the second time with my partner, and we both recommend it highly. It is great value for Whistler village, particularly as all suites come with a full kitchen. We have stayed in both the small suites and the loft - both are very nice. The outdoor pool area and hot tub are great. The rooms may be a bit small, but are very well designed and show great attention to detail (robes, fully stocked kitchen, nice fireplaces, pillow toppers on the beds, flatscreen tv's etc). The service on both visits was first-rate. The location is perfect for the village. Parking does cost $18 a day, but you will get that anywhere you stay in the village. We will definitely be back again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Just completed a 3 night stay.
Pros: Location to Blackcomb and Whistler gondolas is perfect. Secure parking directly under Lodge. Well stocked kitchen. Pool deck area is clean and well maintained. Proximity to Village, grocery and shopping is great.
Cons: Old building so many features are failing or not in service at all. Building is HIGHLY illuminated at night which makes sleeping extremely difficult. No curtains only wood slat blinds. No in unit washer/dryer. Poor quality sleeper sofa. Twin trundles are only addequate for children or adults under 5 feet (1.5 meters). Bathrooms are extremely warm with inadequate ventilation. Some units only have tubs, no shower. Be sure to inquire.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mountainside Lodge - A Shell Vacations Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountainside Lodge - A Shell Vacations Resort

Also Known As:
Mountainside Hotel Whistler
Mountainside Lodge Whistler
Mountainside Lodge
Address: 4417 Sundial Place, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mountainside Lodge - A Shell Vacations Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Mountainside Lodge, you’ll find all the comfort, service and amenities you desire when you’re ready to balance your sense of adventure with something for your other senses. Mountainside Lodge is surrounded by spectacular mountain views, yet close to the delightful ambiance of Whistler Village. You just won’t find a better base for your adventure all suites have mountain views, attractive tile and rich carpeted floors, gas log fireplace and wooden blinds. The bathrooms have a jetted tub and bath amenities including a hairdryer and cozy bathrobes. The fully equipped kitchen with dining area, has a dishwasher, full size stove & fridge, microwave, iron and ironing board. You’re never far from a stylish hideaway, a gourmet meal or a rejuvenating massage when you make Mountainside Lodge your base for adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Mountainside Lodge - A Shell Vacations Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountainside Lodge - A Shell Vacations Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.