We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At Whistler Village enjoy the Mountainside Lodge” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mountainside Lodge - A Shell Vacations Resort

Save Saved
You added Mountainside Lodge - A Shell Vacations Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mountainside Lodge - A Shell Vacations Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4417 Sundial Place, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% Off Discount
Ranked #21 of 52 Hotels in Whistler
Seattle Washington
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“At Whistler Village enjoy the Mountainside Lodge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Now it's summer but just today I recalled our wonderful time at Whistler the end of February, 2012. The timing of our arrival couldn't have been better. There had been a dump of 20 inches of snow the night before. Not 5-6 cm like usual, but 20 inches! Locals told us they had the best skiing in years. We did, too. The other part of "wonderful" was staying at the Mountainside Lodge. I'd stayed here twice before and liked the lodge, the great outdoor pool and Jacuzzi, and being in the center of Whistler Village where all the action is. This handy location is less than a block to walk to the Whistler gondola...with or without skis.

This time we had a room on the 5th floor next to the elevator and with an unblocked view of the Village and where skiers gather to take the Whistler gondola. We also enjoyed watching people swim and steam rise from the pools next to a huge mound of snow. Another plus is Umberto's Italian restaurant inside the lodge. Excellent and elegant though expensive.

Our cozy loft room had a flatscreen TV and toasty-warm gas fireplace with raised hearth in the small but attractive sunken living room. The couple with us enjoyed their queen bed loft with bath and even a dry sauna and large closet. In the living room my friend slept on top of the couch rather than open it to a sofa bed and take up space. I slept on top of the day bed that served as seating for the dining table rather than use the trundle below. This may sound awkward, but both of these sleep arrangements worked fine. The small kitchen was adequate enough to make French toast for breakfast. Delicious, I might add, on a snowy morning.

Front desk people were friendly and helpful on the phone as well as in person. Parking and ski lockers under the lodge are convenient. The only drawback is the sometimes slow elevator. The cost for four of us was less than $800 for 3 nights including parking. Very reasonable I think. So, if I go to Whistler again, I'll stay here...unless I stay at the Fairmont Chateau Whistler.

Room Tip: Up high, 5th floor with a view of Whistler Mt and the Village.
See more room tips
Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    112
    38
    14
    17
See reviews for
63
108
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed in a loft suite during the Crankworx Festival. This hotel is in an excellent location and the service is good. Some maintenance and updating is required as the sink drain was plugged and the closet door became jammed on its track. I would definitely stay at this hotel again, however here are some things that guests should be aware of:
1. The loft suite has a skylight that cannot be covered. It's daylight in the room at 5:00 AM in summer.
2. There is no wheelchair ramp or access to the lobby. People who can't climb stairs have to enter through the underground parking garage.
3. The underground parking is only 6' 8" height. My 4x4 pickup would not fit under it and the only other parking I could find was $28.00 PER DAY under the Pan Pacific across the street.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Whistler Blackcomb.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Very nice resort - great location. Though Whistler is known for its activities and nightlife, this resort still managed to cater to families and guests of all ages. Nicely done.

PRO's: Great location - though it is in the heart of Whistler, it wasnt too noisy. It was a bit loud at night, but just put on the AC unit and you will be fine. Close to all activities: hiking (Lost Lakes was our fav. Gondola - short walk frorm resort (we didnt do the peek to peek but loved hiking the Alpine Trails - gorgeous views!) River Rafting - Wedge Rafting is great! Groceries: MarketPlace IGA (10 minute walk) It has ok prices (food is expensive in Whistler, so be prepared to pay a bit more than usual). Pool & Deck: Very nice - good size. Rooms: Very nice size- we had a 1 bedroom and there was so much space - kitchen is very nice and has everything u need. A/C: Other reviews complained of poor air circulation but we were fine - we had 2 A/C units and they were sufficient.

CON's: Surprsingly can't think of any other than the price of parking ($18 per day), but that's cheap for Whistler!

TIPS: We were there during the Crankworks Festival which was a lot of fun, BUT, expect it to be loud at night (i used ear plugs and was fine)
TIPS: The Village can be a bit confusing so orient yourself to it during the early morning hours when it isnt busy - so that you dont get lost.
TIPS: Best Swimming: Lost Lake (beautiful views and they have nice bathrooms too)
TIPS: McDonalds - if you want a cheap meal, McD's is within walking distance
TIPS: Best Hiking: Alpine Trails - need to take the gondola & chairlift

Room Tip: Though we were only 2 people, we chose the 1 bedroom rather than the loft and were happy with this d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

We came from 3 nights at the pan Pacific across the way and stayed 3 nights. The downgrade was obvious and dissapointing. First off, one of the staff was argumentative with me even though THEY made a mistake about the booking( I had the email confirmation). The whole place reaks of garlic from the restaurent in the building. There is only one small elevator- expect wait times around checkout. The rooms were spacious and clean but extremely cheaply finished. The small old tub had jets that did not work. The pool area is right beside the restaurent which opened their sliding doors- awkward for us and likely the patrons. there are lots of good places to stay in whistler for better quality/ cost. We would not return.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I , have been travelling around Canada for 3 weeks now and have just had a week in a 1 bedroom unit with full kitchen at Mountainside Lodge. It is very comfortable, homely accommodation and the staff in reception are very friendly and helpful. We have enjoyed our stay immensely! The decor may be a little dated but everything is clean and functional.Our only complaint is the noisy frig. - it sounds like a loud , ticking time bomb ! The loft area is lovely and the bed was very comfortable, with lots of pillows. Would highly recommend this well located resort !

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

My wife and I stayed in one of the loft rooms at the Mountainside for 5 nights. As others have noted, the A/C is hardly adequate to cool the loft during hot days, so running it all day along with the overhead fan is necessary. The loft also has a skylight, which is a positive most of the time but I found I woke up to the first rays of sunlight. There is a full bathroom both upstairs and downstairs and the kitchen is complete. We bought groceries at the local market and found the food reasonably priced, unlike the rather expensive restaurant offerings (eg., $15 hamburgers), Our room on the fourth floor overlooked the pool but we never got in as there were always lots of kids. The hotel is situated close to the bike park and to the gondola ride up Whistler mountain. Other locations in the village are easily accessed by foot. Getting to the lake requires renting a bike. The room had a sauna--we did not use it, but it likely would be great on a cold day. There is no fitness center so I walked to one behind the grocery store ($12 daily fee). We had no trouble using the available washer and dryer but needed to get coins from the front desk ($2 to wash and $2 to dry a load). The hotel's restaurant is Italian and must serve good food as it was crowded most nights.

Room Tip: The lofts are well designed and a good value with the full kitchen and dining table.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mountainside Lodge - A Shell Vacations Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountainside Lodge - A Shell Vacations Resort

Address: 4417 Sundial Place, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Whistler
#18 Family Hotel in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mountainside Lodge - A Shell Vacations Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Mountainside Lodge, you’ll find all the comfort, service and amenities you desire when you’re ready to balance your sense of adventure with something for your other senses. Mountainside Lodge is surrounded by spectacular mountain views, yet close to the delightful ambiance of Whistler Village. You just won’t find a better base for your adventure all suites have mountain views, attractive tile and rich carpeted floors, gas log fireplace and wooden blinds. The bathrooms have a jetted tub and bath amenities including a hairdryer and cozy bathrobes. The fully equipped kitchen with dining area, has a dishwasher, full size stove & fridge, microwave, iron and ironing board. You’re never far from a stylish hideaway, a gourmet meal or a rejuvenating massage when you make Mountainside Lodge your base for adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Mountainside Lodge - A Shell Vacations Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountainside Hotel Whistler
Mountainside Lodge Whistler

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountainside Lodge - A Shell Vacations Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.