We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best program!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ski Esprit

Ski Esprit
Whistler Blackcomb, Whistler, British Columbia, Canada
888 403 4727
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 64 Activities in Whistler
Type: Educational Sites
Attraction Details
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“best program!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

i highly recommend this camp (now called Max 4 - but don't get confused between the camp and the group lessons of the same name). if you're new to the mountain and really want to ski it, this is a great way to do it. also good if you have skiers of different levels. you get the right amount of instruction and fun!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Really good fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

The instructors on this are absolutely fantastic. It is a bit like ski guiding with tips thrown in. Just be prepared for long days with lots of mileage!

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good socialising, great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

A good way to meet other skiers from around the world. Skilled teachers who tailor the lessons/sessions to meet the needs of the group. You can sometimes move up and down groups depending on available spaces. Video analysis mid session and drinks at the end of most days.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Ski Esprit - you won't regret it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

Ski Esprit is ski improvement and mountain guiding. As intermediate skiers, we were put into groups (max 8) of skiers of the same/similar level.

Our instructor (Lubka) was fantastic! She improved our skiing no end, knocked out some bad habits, and took us to parts of the mountain we would not have made it to on our own. Video technique analysis is included as part of the cost and on the last night a fun video is played showing all the groups from the week in action.

We had lots of laughs along the way, and enjoyed meeting some great people from around the world. We even enjoyed an apres ski beverage or 2 after a tough day on the mountain!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Simply awesome.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

What a great way to not only improve your skiing, but also get to see more of the mountain than you normally would.

From the ease of checking in, preferably done the day before, to the quality of the instructors, Ski Esprit is a must for anyone that visits Whistler Blackcombe.

The first hour or two of the first day is a little tedious, waiting for the latecomers and the instructors to organise everyone into groups, and the first half of the first day is basically a testing day, to make sure that you can ski the terrain and to the ability that you tell the instructors. Then it's all up to you.

There are five basic levels available, ranging from level two (green runs and virtually learning how to ski), up to level six (double black, steeper terrain and powder). If there are enough people booked in and the levels require it, there are upper and lower levels within each group.

Depending on your level, you'll get to see so much more of the mountain than you normally would, simply because the instructors will push you to test out your abilities, thus making you a better skier in the process.

Monday, Tuesday and Thursday nights has Apres ski. Which is literally, after ski. This is held at three different pubs around the village and includes snacks. This is a good way to get to know the people and the instructor you will be skiing with.

The only negative that I found in the whole experience it's almost expected to 'tip' the instructors at the end of the week. Understandably, tipping is a Canadian thing, though once you've paid for the week, you'd think that was it. In my case, I was so pleased with the experience and the increasing of my abilities, that I was happy to pay the extra, $10 a day is the norm.

Thoroughly enjoyable way to ski Whistler as you will meet new people and improve your skiing. I definitely recommend it for anyone visiting Whistler.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ski Esprit also viewed

Whistler, British Columbia
Whistler, British Columbia
 
Whistler, British Columbia
Whistler, British Columbia
 

Been to Ski Esprit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ski Esprit, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.