We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel with excellent setting but not our cup of tea” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sundial Boutique Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sundial Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelocity Booking.com
and 8 more sites!
Sundial Boutique Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4340 Sundial Crescent, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Scandinave Spa Package
Ranked #6 of 52 hotels in Whistler
oeselgem
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“hotel with excellent setting but not our cup of tea”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Afters seeing wonderfull places in the rockies and BC , whistler was quite a shock. It reminds us of Disneyland. Looks beautiful but very artificial and not a place where you liked to spend more then 2 days. we were glad just booked one night here.

The hotel was nice , reception was professional but just gave the basic information. Rooms were huge but the cleaning could have been better.
The view was magic and in winter season it must be extraordinary.
A bit noisy because of bars and restaurants just in front of the hotel.
Very hot rooms even with airco.
The children liked the swimming pool at the hotel in front just a few steps away.
Very expensive parking lot .

For many people this luxurious hotel and the town with all the amenities muts be heaven but definitely not our cup of tea.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    337
    105
    27
    2
    3
See reviews for
152
180
7
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nederland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

The hotel was luxury and the rooms have lots of space.
The Sundial Boutique hotel is at the start of the Whistler village stroll.
This is the pedestrian area where all the shops are, so the location is top notch.
Whistler itself is a great town as well.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Returned to the Sundial because I was so impressed by the room lay out. We enjoyed a bedroom, kitchen and living room with views of the Whistler gondola and mountains. Really comfortable bed and heated rock floor in the bath makes your bare feet feel good. Decor and furnishing are cosy, neat and new looking. Really nice staff.

We booked the day before when we decided to add a few more days to our Vancouver vacation. That meant that the only rooms open were facing the noisy side of the hotel. This meant cool views of everything going on right in the center of the activity. My wife said she felt like we were in the middle of a bee hive.

One night was kind of loud with music playing and party goers in the restaurant and bars below us. But, the second night we heard almost nothing.

Next time we will be sure to book a room on the quiet side and forgot the views.

Whistler is like being in one big party. We like it a bit more quiet. The last time we dined at the Westin and enjoyed the break from the bustle of places crowded with people.

Wish we had brought swimsuits for the jacuzzi and -- we learned -- the pool available at the hotel next door.

The best thing is the great summer price we got. They also give a break for returning guests. Really -- the room likes like a $400 a night place.

You can park for free across the street, but I paid the $20 a night for the convenience of having our car near by.

If you want to be in the center of everything Whistler, set your sights with the Sundial.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

My family stayed at the sundial for two nights end of July. We had suite 802, a two bedroom with kitchen. I have two teenagers and we never felt in each others way. We arrived hours before the 4pm checkin and were told that our room was available which was such a nice welcome. When we all walked into the room my kids gasped with delight at their first site. Modern decor including slate tile flooring, black appliances including DW, Fridge, microwave, bar height table with four chairs, fully stocked cupboards and appliances. The open living room could easily accommodate us four in two armed chairs and the sofa sleeper as well as more guests if we chose to entertain. Also provided were gas f/p and flat screen. The views of the mountain from the two living room windows were beautiful and we also had a village view from the master bedroom.
The beds were very comfortable - the pillows were fluffy wonderful. The kids fought over who would get the queen bedroom but decided to take turns. Come to find out one child actually preferred the sofa sleeper in the end!
The queen bedroom is a bit of a closet. One side is pushed up against a wall and the other side accommodates a dresser, luggage rack and tower fan. Not a lot of floor space. No windows either. If a couple shared this room one would have to climb over the other to exit the bed.
The king bedroom was huge! A large double window with a beautiful view, dresser, chair and seperate entry to the bathroom.
The bathtub was so long! One of the largest I've seen for a hotel. I was very tempted to try the tub but chose the hotub on the roof. Both times we visited the hotub it was empty. It was like a secluded oasis. A new wood fence wrapped around the large spa area for both privacy and ambiance, the flooring was nicely done so you weren't walking on tar paper or roofing material. Planters with flowers everywhere. Outdoor shower. But the view was spectacular especially at night. One could watch the mountain bikers on their decent at the base of whistler during the day.
The service was wonderful. From the clerks that greeted us upon arrival and allowing us an early checkin, to the maid that did my sink dishes (kind of embarrassing since I had a DW) and the other personnel that always warmly greeted us and were eager to answer questions. I especially liked feeling alone on the 8th floor and the non-intrusiveness of the employees. They were always available if needed and eager to assist yet appreciating our privacy. One night we decided to run up for a hotub which closed in 15minutes (11pm) and we decided to push our luck and ended up getting a full hour in before we took our wrinkled selves to the room! It's nice to not have uptight staff!
So only a couple of mentions: you must keep your room key with you or you run the chance of being locked in the stairwell where no one can here you knocking! This happened twice to us - thank goodness for cell phones!
Another issue was only one AC unit for the whole suite! We had the AC cranked the whole time. It is located by the sofa sleeper aka living room. Perhaps supplying one more fan for the master besides the one in the queen bedroom would be a simple solution.
And a word of warning: garbage pickup is Monday morning :(. Regardless of being as high as the 8th floor you cannot escape the sounds of the truck doing its business. When we stYed at the Executive two years prior we had the same early morning wakeup. It seems that street noise that loud bounces off the walls! Remember your earplugs & make sure your windows are closed.
The location in the village was excellent. I would definately, with no hesitation stay there again! I love Whistler in the summer!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitecourt, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Fantastic two bedroom suite with kitchenette and balcony. Room for the whole family. Right in the village so walking distance to everything. Polished professional staff. Only down side, onsite parking not high enough to accomodate a truck with canopy and roof racks, so quite a walk to non-secured parking.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogis-Bossey, Geneve, Switzerland
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Excllent appartment like hotel, that has access to restaurants, but does not cater directly itself. The view from our rooms was fantastic, directly on the reputed Whistler bike park. The latter has a reputation but technically speaking is not leading anymore given some of the bike parks in France and Switzerland. The personnel is very friendly and helpful, though one wonders about being in Australia, as the "Down under" dialect is quite preponderant. The rooms were kept very tidy and clean. Definitely will return to stay at the Sundial in the heart of Whistler for some skiing.
The only downside are the rather loud, predominantly boozed people wandering across the street during night. Noisy!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We spent 2 nights at the Sundial Boutique Hotel in a 2 bedroom 2 bathroom suite. We were very pleased with the suite overall although a few touches could drastically improve the experience.

The kitchen is very well stocked with all the things you can think of to cook meals in the suite, from all the basic utensils and equipment, down to the salt, pepper, a variety of tea bags and great coffee! However, in the second room with twin beds, air conditioning was not connected and so we had to open the windows to get some fresh air. This would have been OK except that our suite was facing the village and the noise of late night partiers prevented us from sleeping until the wee hours, although the beds and pillows were very comfortable. Another negative was the very dim light with no light in the closets, making it very difficult to reach inside for clothes when it is dark.

The suite inside was clean but I noticed a bottle of water filled with cigarette butts on the balcony in the corner behind the door. Not a pleasant sight, for sure. I do not expect housekeeping to clean the balcony and make it spotless but this is something that should be removed for sure.

The location though is great, being close to the village and all its action and the Upper Village. It is also across the Carleton Lodge where you can book many tours so very convenient.

I would definitely go back to the hotel despite these little inconveniences as it is great value for what you pay for. I would make sure this time to bring ear plugs if it is summer time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sundial Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundial Boutique Hotel

Also Known As:
Sundial Boutique Whistler
Hotel Sundial Boutique
Address: 4340 Sundial Crescent, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Whistler
#5 Luxury Hotel in Whistler
#7 Family Hotel in Whistler
#7 Business Hotel in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sundial Boutique Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sundial Boutique Hotel is located in the heart of Whistler Village right next to the Whistler and Blackcomb Gondolas. This location in Whistler Village makes it convenient for shopping, dining, and enjoying all the entertainment Whistler has to offer. All 49 luxurious one and two bedroom suites feature master bedrooms, full kitchens, flat screen tv's and gas fireplaces, including eight suites with private outdoor hot tubs. Personal service is not just a philosophy here, but a part of the way each day unfolds. Sundial Boutique Hotel suites provide breathtaking views of the mountains, and complimentary amenities such as high speed wireless internet, local phone calls, roof top hot tub, and ski concierge services ensure you have all the modern conveniences of home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Sundial Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sundial Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.