We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, But not all two bedrooms are created equal...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sundial Boutique Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sundial Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Sundial Boutique Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4340 Sundial Crescent, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Scandinave Spa Package
Ranked #6 of 52 hotels in Whistler
Walnut Creek, CA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, But not all two bedrooms are created equal...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed at the Sundial for a week and I have to say it was one of our better lodging experiences in whistler. We have been coming up to Whistler every year for the past 15 years and this property ranks up there in the top five. We rented a 2 bedroom 1 bath, we were traveling with my 13 month old son and another couple who had a 4 year old. As stated by other reviewers the staff is outstanding! They will go out of their way to make sure you stay is comfortable. We requested a crib and humidifier to be in our room before arrival and sure enough it was there. By the second day the front desk knew our names, they would get our skis without even having to ask which room number. They played with our son every time we passed through the lobby. Plus you can’t beat the location, right next to the lifts and my favorite restaurant (sushi village) right on the second floor (Blacks is not bad either).

The downside…. Not all the two bedrooms are equal. We found this out the hard way. After our third night we requested a tour of the two bedroom two bath unit in anticipation of returning next year. Our unit (802) had a wonderful master bedroom and what I can only describe as a closet for a second bedroom without an actual real door or any windows. It also had the central vent going through the second bedroom from the basement to the roof making a constant humming noise, this was not bad for us as it created a white noise for our son to sleep, but I can see it would bother others. Due to this vent the second bedroom also got extremely hot, we had to leave the door open, which created issues with a sleeping toddler. We debated talking with management when we took the tour but we were all settled in and with two kids it would have been rather hard to move. I am sure they would have moved us if we requested and space was available.

The hotel website has a wonderful tool where you can see the layout of each floor and unit. As far as I can tell the central vent goes through units XX2 (ie 402, 502, 602, 702 and 802) I would stay away from these units if possible. You can see it in the second bedroom with a square notch. I find it hard to believe they charge the same for these 1 bedroom, 1 closet, 1 bath units as they would for a full 2 bedroom (with windows) units.

Overall we would return to the hotel, for its location and staff. But we would book one of the two, two bedroom / two bath units to make sure we stay away from the darn converted closet.

Room Tip: The hotel website has a wonderful tool where you can see the layout of each floor and unit. As far...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    337
    105
    27
    2
    3
See reviews for
152
180
7
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

All I can say is that the location is awesome, the room is amazing (1 bedroom deluxe private hot tub) and the staff is great. Responsive, very attentive and uber friendly. Question about the hot tub came up and it was handled quickly. This will become my home when I come to Whistler from here on out. Thank you Sundial for making my vacation so awesome and relaxing, I needed this.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Normally we rent a condo in The Lagoons but post 2010 Winter Olympic cost cutting led to poor bus services so we decided to bite the bullet & spend on the best possible location...enter Sundial. It is literally at the base of Whistler Mountain & you can upload to both Whistler & Blackcomb mountains within minutes of leaving the front door. We stayed for two weeks so can conclusively advise, the staff are all very friendly, genuinely helpful & pleasant. One chap even took the empty laundry basket back to the basement for us when he saw us at the lift with it! House keeping could be improved: they just skipped days & we had to make a point of telling reception we were out & planned to be back a certain time so to ensure the room had been serviced in that time on 3 occasions however the quality of cleans/tidy up was very good. Wifi access could be improved: falls over frequently as signal tends to hotspots in the hotel/room. We recommend the room we had but we are not telling which one because we want it next year, heh-heh... it has its own hot tub on the balcony & superb view of the Sunday evening Fire & Ice Show. The down side of this location is the noise on Friday & Saturday nights but its nothing that a pair of ear plugs can't block out so as they say, location, location, location.

Room Tip: We recommend the room we had but we are not telling which one because we want it next year, heh-heh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We had a wonderful time at the sundial hotel, would highly recommend it if you are going to whistler, great location, super friendly staff, high quality service by everyone we dealt with...nothing was a problem, wish the service was this good at every hotel.

The hotel made this one of the best family vacations we have had, the valet ski service just tops off the super service.

We will be coming back again next year for our ski vacation..

Ken

Room Tip: Go for the two bedroom with the mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We were guests of the Sundial hotel for 12 nights over the Christmas New Year 2012/3 and have only positive things to report from our stay. Even during the preliminary stages of our holiday planning the guest relations staff provided travel advice that was perfectly in alignment with our needs and enabled us to have a wonderful total experience at Whistler. Upon arrival the service and "can do" attitude of the staff was apparent always. Happy clever people a real asset to the business. The location the cleanliness of the rooms and the staff unparalled. Well done and thank you.

Room Tip: Mountain view well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed in Whistler for 3 days at the end of the Summer season with my parents. We got a great deal on this aparthotel and it was worth every penny and more. We arrived a day earlier than planned and so we ended up staying in a 1 bed on the first night and then a 2 bed for the two nights after.

Both apartments were really well equipped. Top notch furnishings - excellent beds, lovely bathrooms, well equipped kitchen. The recpetion staff were helpful and polite. The reception is furnished nicely with a real fire. The hotel couldnt be better located. its right beside the ski lifts and in the middle of town beside all the restaurants. The rooms were quiet even though it was centrally located.

1 bed: sofa bed was so comfy. not your normal sheet thin mattress but a proper mattress. Easily the best quality sofa bed we've stayed in.

2 bed: fantastic views over the mountain. jet bath in the main bathroom. Both bedrooms excellent size with massive comfy beds.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Currently staying at the sundial. Great hotel great position great room and the best friendliest staff I have ever encountered in a hotel anywhere in the world. My god who trained these people. The blond young lady at reception who always remembers your room number.( sorry I didn't get your name), the night manager who asked me if they were my glasses I left behind .You people are brilliant.
THIS is the hotel to stay in whistler.

Room Tip: Choose room 504 double bed room and great view of mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sundial Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundial Boutique Hotel

Also Known As:
Sundial Boutique Whistler
Hotel Sundial Boutique
Address: 4340 Sundial Crescent, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Whistler
#5 Luxury Hotel in Whistler
#7 Family Hotel in Whistler
#7 Business Hotel in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sundial Boutique Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sundial Boutique Hotel is located in the heart of Whistler Village right next to the Whistler and Blackcomb Gondolas. This location in Whistler Village makes it convenient for shopping, dining, and enjoying all the entertainment Whistler has to offer. All 49 luxurious one and two bedroom suites feature master bedrooms, full kitchens, flat screen tv's and gas fireplaces, including eight suites with private outdoor hot tubs. Personal service is not just a philosophy here, but a part of the way each day unfolds. Sundial Boutique Hotel suites provide breathtaking views of the mountains, and complimentary amenities such as high speed wireless internet, local phone calls, roof top hot tub, and ski concierge services ensure you have all the modern conveniences of home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Sundial Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sundial Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.