We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice quiet retreat in the mountains” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tantalus Lodge

Save Saved
You added Tantalus Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tantalus Lodge
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   4200 Whistler Way, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 52 hotels in Whistler
Victoria, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice quiet retreat in the mountains”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We really enjoyed our three night stay at this lodge in the mountains. We had a two bedroom suite with kitchen and balcony, The suite was immaculately clean, well appointed and furnished and equipped. It also had its own fireplace in the suite. Staff was polite and helpful and it was an easy 5 minute walk to the centre of the Whistler Village with all its fine restaurants and shops. The lodge itself was very quiet as it is surrounded by a golf driving range and forest. It also has a decent heated pool and hot tub. It was good value and would stay there again.

Room Tip: Getting a suite is worth the extra dollars
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L_River0, Manager at Tantalus Lodge, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review! We appreciate when our services are recognized. We look forward to seeing you again!

Sincerely,

Luis Rivero
Rooms Manager
Tantalus Resort Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    57
    91
    40
    17
    5
See reviews for
82
24
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

The Tantalus Lodge is an older property at Whistler, not luxurious but well maintained. Great for families as they have a well equipped kitchenette in the suites, not sure about all the rooms.
Excellent location for winter sports and also for summer activities, close to Whistler Village, about a 10 minute walk.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor, which was fine, cannot give any tips on room location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L_River0, Manager at Tantalus Lodge, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments. We are happy you had an enjoyable stay and found value on our offer.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.


Sincerely,

Luis Rivero
Rooms Manager
Tantalus Resort Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESSEX
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Stayed here with family, had lovely 2 bed room with full kitchen and lounge area overlooking the front with views to the mountains. The beds were so comfortable and the kitchen fully equipped with everything you could possibly need including a dishwasher. It's an easy walk into the village with all the shops and restaurants close by.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L_River0, Manager at Tantalus Lodge, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive comments. I am happy to read you found our kitchens functional and well supplied.

Sincerely,

Luis Rivero
Rooms Manager
Tantalus Resort Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

When arriving by car, you are presented with a significant array of no parking signs but you have to ignore these in order to unload the car and check-in. Parking in a remote parkade is $18 a night, a bit cheeky but not a lot you can do about it as parking is strictly controlled in Whistler. The suite was very clean and comfortable with plenty of room. There is no food available at the Lodge but a well equipped kitchen allows you to do what you want. The only problem we had was the noise from people in the apartment above moving about, it sounded like a herd of elephants at times above our heads, mostly late at night. It's just the construction of these places allows a very annoying boom boom noise in the apartment below when anyone walks about in the room above.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L_River0, Manager at Tantalus Lodge, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our property. I have taken note of your comments regarding the parking and will review them accordingly. I am saddened to read your stay was not as enjoyable as expected due to noise generated from your neighbours, we hope this will not deter you from choosing us once again when visiting whistler, as we would like welcome you back.


Sincerely,

Luis Rivero
Rooms Manager
Tantalus Resort Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We have stayed at Tantalus 8 of the last 10 years. This year was even better than the previous years as the beds are much more comfortable and the kitchen was not missing anything we needed. We are a group of gals but all of the mom's in the group commented that the bunk room would be awesome for their families.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L_River0, Manager at Tantalus Lodge, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was great hosting your group at our property. Thank you for your warm comments.

We look forward to your visit next year?

Sincerely,

Luis Rivero
Rooms Manager
Tantalus Resort Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Stayed here with 3 teenagers. Great sized rooms with full kitchen (being able to cook helped to reduce the cost of the trip and the amount of junk food consumed). Hotel and rooms are very clean. We needed an oven tray and exhaust fan over stove didn't work, but once reported these items were immediately fixed. Heated pool and spas are great. Only suggestions would be to not charge for use of the computer in the lobby (we stayed in 10 hotels during our 6 week trip and this is the only hotel that changed for use of a PC), and that the reception staff (who were nice and helpful) be a little more informed about the village and snow reports etc. Would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the mountains as they're magnificant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L_River0, Manager at Tantalus Lodge, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I have taken note of your suggestions and will review them with my team.

We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Luis Rivero
Rooms Manager
Tantalus Resort Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

this was our 7th visit and we never want to stay anywhere else

We first visited in 1981 and have come back many times

The suites are very spacious and ideal for 4 people or more if it is a family

There are two bedrooms and two bathrooms which works well

The outdoor hot tub is fun as is the outdoor all year pool

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L_River0, Manager at Tantalus Lodge, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are happy read this was your 7th visit to our property and we were able to meet your expectations.

We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Luis Rivero
Rooms Manager
Tantalus Resort Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tantalus Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tantalus Lodge

Address: 4200 Whistler Way, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tantalus Lodge 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by traditional ski lodges from around the world, surrounded by mountains and forest, let the Tantalus Lodge be your hosts during your next visit to Whistler BC Canada. The Tantalus Lodge offers 24 hour hospitality and housekeeping daily, our team will help you make the most of your time in Whistler. Each of our spacious suites has full kitchen facilities, real wood burning fireplaces and the largest balconies in Whistler. Our convenient and easy to find location is a 5 minute walk to the gondolas and the main Whistler Village where people gather from morning until night.Whatever the season or the reasons for coming to Whistler BC, make the Tantalus part of your lodging plans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Tantalus Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tantalus Hotel Whistler
Tantalus Resort Whistler

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tantalus Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.