We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gr8 Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tantalus Lodge

Save Saved
You added Tantalus Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tantalus Lodge
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   4200 Whistler Way, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 53 hotels in Whistler
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Gr8 Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here with my partner for a ski Weekend. Hotel is very nice and has a comfortable & cozy feel. Gr8 for a ski vacation. The rooms are good sized, clean and nicely decorated. All staff I came across were extremely friendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L_River0, Manager at Tantalus Lodge, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are happy you found our spacious rooms comfortable.

Our friendly staff and I, look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Luis Rivero
Rooms Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    56
    90
    37
    16
    5
See reviews for
77
23
3
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sechelt
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I absolutely loved this hotel. We stayed in the 2 bedroom premier suite on the top floor. It was huge, great kitchen and so very comfortable. 5 minute walk to the village, but without all the noice of the village. We will definately be back!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L_River0, General Manager at Tantalus Lodge, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review, we
were so pleased to hear your comments about our
property and we look forward to welcoming you back
in the near future!

Mike Kohari
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

Room was huge and had a nice view of mountains. Close walk to village but quiet at night. Unlike other hotels you don't hear the night time noise from the stroll. Stayed at a 5 star and this was comparable in service and cleanliness without pretentious guests. Front desk staff helpful. Amenities were wonderful and tidy.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L_River0, General Manager at Tantalus Lodge, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you for your feedback! We hope you get to stay a bit longer with us the next time your in
Whistler, we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Mike Kohari
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

I chose this hotel because the proximity to Whistler Village, amenities and price and was VERY pleased with absolutely everything I encountered during my stay.
The rest of my friends had chosen to stay dead in the middle of Whistler Village, and upon viewing my suite at Tantalus Lodge, hey REALY regretted their choice and wished they had also biked at the Tantalus Lodge.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L_River0, General Manager at Tantalus Lodge, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you for your feedback, we're pleased to hear you enjoyed staying with us and we hope to see you again soon.......with your friends of course!!

Mike Kohari
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

Concerned as previous reviews mentioned noisy guests and unhelpful staff. No need to worry, staff were great, rooms were well equipped, comfortable and no noise. Hot tubs are a great way to end the day. Location is only 10 minutes stroll, no problem in summer months, with ski gear, maybe a drag, I understand they have a shuttle bus. Overall a good stay.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L_River0, Manager at Tantalus Lodge, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Thank you for great review! We appreciate when our services are recognized. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, B.C.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Stayed for a weekend for a choral retreat. Shared a 2 bdrm suite with four other people to defray the cost. Considering the price, I expected something with a bit more luxury, but it was very average, and even a little dated in terms of furnishings. We were on the back side so didn't deal with highway noise, but the people staying in the front rooms all complained of noise from the highway.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L_River0, Manager at Tantalus Lodge, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We have taken note of your comments and will take them into consideration.

We look forward to welcome you and your group again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Stayed at the Tantalus in late August. Had a 2 bedroom suite for 1 night (Friday). Room was clean and comfortable and well laid out. Staff were friendly. Place was easy to find and close to the village (7 minute walk). Unfortunately we had very noisy neighbours. The noise started at 8:30pm and went on until 4am - adjacent to our room and above it. It seems this is where the rowdies like to hang out and party.

The walls and floors are of very cheap construction and offered no sound proofing. The sofabed was flimsy and too uncomfortable to sleep on - you can feel every spring in the mattress and the whole thing collapses into the centre.

We complained no less than 6 times between 8:30pm and 4am. On two occasions (around 1am and 3am) the front desk did not even pick up the phone and it went to voicemail.

The management were sympathetic and refunded the cost our stay, but we were all exhausted after a sleepless night so the refund was scant consolation. Never again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tantalus Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tantalus Lodge

Address: 4200 Whistler Way, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Whistler
#18 Family Hotel in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tantalus Lodge 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by traditional ski lodges from around the world, surrounded by mountains and forest, let the Tantalus Lodge be your hosts during your next visit to Whistler BC Canada. The Tantalus Lodge offers 24 hour hospitality and housekeeping daily, our team will help you make the most of your time in Whistler. Each of our spacious suites has full kitchen facilities, real wood burning fireplaces and the largest balconies in Whistler. Our convenient and easy to find location is a 5 minute walk to the gondolas and the main Whistler Village where people gather from morning until night.Whatever the season or the reasons for coming to Whistler BC, make the Tantalus part of your lodging plans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Tantalus Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tantalus Hotel Whistler
Tantalus Resort Whistler

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tantalus Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.