We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very average for the price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tantalus Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Tantalus Lodge to your Saves list
Tantalus Lodge
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   4200 Whistler Way, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 52 Hotels in Whistler
Vancouver, B.C.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very average for the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Stayed for a weekend for a choral retreat. Shared a 2 bdrm suite with four other people to defray the cost. Considering the price, I expected something with a bit more luxury, but it was very average, and even a little dated in terms of furnishings. We were on the back side so didn't deal with highway noise, but the people staying in the front rooms all complained of noise from the highway.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L_River0, Manager at Tantalus Lodge, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We have taken note of your comments and will take them into consideration.

We look forward to welcome you and your group again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    102
    45
    22
    6
See reviews for
95
28
3
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, BC, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Stayed at the Tantalus in late August. Had a 2 bedroom suite for 1 night (Friday). Room was clean and comfortable and well laid out. Staff were friendly. Place was easy to find and close to the village (7 minute walk). Unfortunately we had very noisy neighbours. The noise started at 8:30pm and went on until 4am - adjacent to our room and above it. It seems this is where the rowdies like to hang out and party.

The walls and floors are of very cheap construction and offered no sound proofing. The sofabed was flimsy and too uncomfortable to sleep on - you can feel every spring in the mattress and the whole thing collapses into the centre.

We complained no less than 6 times between 8:30pm and 4am. On two occasions (around 1am and 3am) the front desk did not even pick up the phone and it went to voicemail.

The management were sympathetic and refunded the cost our stay, but we were all exhausted after a sleepless night so the refund was scant consolation. Never again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We stayed in Whistler in late Feb / early March 2012. It was our first trip to Whistler Blackcombe so we had no idea where to stay or what to look for.

We were on a 2 week ski trip so wanted an apartment / accommodation where we could cook for ourselves if we wanted to, but more importantly have an area to relax that wasn't going to be someone's bed!
We were 4 people so wanted a 2 bedroom place. A lot of the "4 people" rooms on offer are actually 1 bed places with a sofa bed in the lounge. The Tantalus provides 2 bedroom apartments with great space for cooking / dining / relaxing in front of the tv, and had a real log fire (logs are pretty pricey though so you may just want to up the thermostat on the central heating!)
The staff were all very friendly and helpful. There is a free shuttle bus which takes you to the lift (which is actually only 100m up the road but it is up a hill so that little bus journey is quite lovely after a hard day's ski whilst still in your ski boots).

Location is great for skiing, as I say 100m (ok maybe 150-200m) to the main Whistler lift and start of what I would call the highstreet / village. It's probably about a 15-20min walk to the other end of the village. We were happy to walk in and out for dinner and didn't feel far away at all.

Facilities are good. There is sauna, jacuzzi and heated outdoor pool (time it right and you can have it to yourself), and laundry facilities.

For our 2 weeks it provided everything we needed. It was cleaned every day, we had free refills on the tea and coffee, AND most importantly it was very reasonably priced.

Having read some of the negative reviews of this place, a few people seem to have been unlucky with their neighbours... you will get that in any hotel, be it 5* or backpackers hostel. It's luck of the draw if you happen to be below a family of elephants, or next to Metallica's biggest fan. The Tantalus, I would say, has sound proofing on a par with your standard European small hotel (think small family run Austrian ski hotel). It depends what your tolerance level is I guess. But you can't really blame a hotel on the behaviour of their guests.

If you want a clean, well-located for skiing, warm apartment with plenty of storage for skis & snowboards (and free hot chocolate when you get out the hot tub) I would highly recommend The Tantalus.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Stayed at this hotel with friends because this was the only one available during Crankwokx. I think it's safe to say that the theme of this hotel is average-- average price, average facilities, average staff. It's only been 2 weeks but I can't really remember much because the place was not impressionable, good or bad. I guess this place isn't bad if you're going to spend most of your time outdoors.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L_River0, Manager at Tantalus Lodge, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments with us. We have taken note of them and will review them thoroughly.

Sincerely,

Luis Rivero
Rooms Manager
Tantalus Resort Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed at the Tantalus for two nights and worst nights of my life !
We stayed in room 322 and both nights the room below us were partying so loud we were up until 4am trying to sleep.
The suites are large in size but very old and the lights were flickering on and off.
We had asked front desk for a toothbrush and they didnt even check for us and had said they didnt have any. On our second day , we had needed extra towels and we had walked by a housekeeping lady and asked her for some. She said she would bring it to our room but we wanted it right away and they didnt spare any from their cart in the hallway. Yes it was a low rate, but i've definitely learned my lesson, never to stay here again. I thought this would've been a decent hotel since it was part of the Delta hotels, it seems that their standards are not up to par with the other hotels. Just dissapointed we barely had any sleep and the staff werent very accomodating. My weekend up in Whistler was terrible !

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L_River0, Manager at Tantalus Lodge, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

I would like to start by apologizing for the inconveniences caused to you during your stay. Rest assured these comments will be shared with my team to prevent this from happening again. We value your comments as they set a platform from where to improve.

Sincerely,

Luis Rivero
Rooms Manager
Tantalus Resort Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Recently stayed here one night with family visiting from Nova Scotia. My husband frequently stays at Delta chain hotels and is a Platinum Privilege member. We booked this hotel through his privilege account and were extremely mistaken in thinking that we would receive the same level of service that we have come to enjoy from Delta hotels. We realized after the fact when unable to check in early that they are the only "Delta" hotel to not recognize the program.
When we did check in the room, the first things I notice is 4 lipstick "kiss" marks on the wall in master bedroom beside bathroom door. Its funny that I noticed this right off yet apparently their housekeepers did not?? Harmless I suppose but does not exactly give you the impression of a classy establishment. I called down to front desk and spoke to Lisa who said she would offer to change us but they were all booked up and would comp us parking. Zero mention of sending a cleaner up to scrub the wall so the lipstick kisses stayed with us.
Later that night. my husband picked up one of the pillows off bed and there appeared to be a blood stain on one. We didn't even bother to call about that.
Questionable cleanliness aside, this hotel is really only good for groups of young people looking to party. There were people running and screaming up the hallway all evening and night plus numerous balcony parties. We were essentially chased from the pool that evening by a group of belligerent drunks who made the pool area uncomfortable for us.
So end of story and we will never stay there again. There are too many other better situated hotels and deals to be had and even if there wasn't, I still wouldn't book this place again. It is really just a couple steps above a hostel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L_River0, Manager at Tantalus Lodge, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. I have taken note of your comments and have shared them with my team. Incidents like this are not frequent at our property but we do take them very seriously. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences caused to you.

Sincerely,

Luis Rivero
Rooms Manager
Tantalus Resort Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver,BC
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We booked a 2 bedroom suite with 2 bathrooms and a full kitchen. The room was clean, spacious and comfortably slept 2 adults and 3 teen boys. Bdrm 1 had a queen sized bed and bdrm 2 had 2 single beds. The pullout sofa in the livingroom was older and would have been horrendously uncomfortable for 2 adults to share but was adequate for a teenage boy. The kitchen was very nice and provided all the dishes needed for a family to cook. We cooked most of our meals in the room which saved alot of money because Whislter Village eateries are costly...typical for a resort town. The pool and hot tubs were enjoyable. If you are planning to use the pool later in the day, grab your towels from the front desk earlier because they ran out of poolside towels every afternoon.

The hotel personnel were great. Each employee greeted us as we came/went and whenever we asked for information, we were provided our answers with a smile. There is a BBQ pit for guests to use, along with a tennis court and volleyball net...we did not use either because we simply ran out of time. The free use of the secured bike storage was great.

The location is in close proximity to the village, a 5 minute walk. The one downside was the lack of air conditioning. We were provided with one powerful fan in the room and when we were in the room we opened the 2 patio doors to get a nice cross breeze. We were on the 5th floor, which is actually accessible from the 4th floor with our room entrance in the 4th floor hallway. Once we entered our room we had a flight of stairs up to the room. Because we were higher up, there was a cool breeze blowing through when we had the 2 balcony doors open. It was very hot when we were there and the cross breeze and fan were a must.

We would absolutely stay here again. The room was comfy, large and clean and had all the amenities we needed to make it our home away from home during our vacation.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L_River0, Manager at Tantalus Lodge, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are happy to read you enjoyed our rooms and the convenience of having the full kitchen in your room.

We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Luis Rivero
Rooms Manager
Tantalus Resort Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tantalus Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tantalus Lodge

Address: 4200 Whistler Way, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tantalus Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by traditional ski lodges from around the world, surrounded by mountains and forest, let the Tantalus Lodge be your hosts during your next visit to Whistler BC Canada. The Tantalus Lodge offers 24 hour hospitality and housekeeping daily, our team will help you make the most of your time in Whistler. Each of our spacious suites has full kitchen facilities, real wood burning fireplaces and the largest balconies in Whistler. Our convenient and easy to find location is a 5 minute walk to the gondolas and the main Whistler Village where people gather from morning until night.Whatever the season or the reasons for coming to Whistler BC, make the Tantalus part of your lodging plans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Tantalus Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tantalus Hotel Whistler
Tantalus Resort Whistler

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tantalus Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.