We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location / unit 113 = great!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glaciers Reach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Glaciers Reach to your Saves list
Glaciers Reach
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   4388 Northlands Blvd, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 52 Hotels in Whistler
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Excellent location / unit 113 = great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

One thing to know about Glaciers Reach is that the units are privately owned so every unit will be slightly different with different owners/service standards. So do your homework on the individual units, not just the complex.

That said, I stayed in Unit# 113 last weekend and had a GREAT time. The unit has two bedrooms, two bathrooms, fully equipped kitchen, a nice big dining table and comfortable living area with a hide-a-bed. The hot tub on the deck is larger than most and seems fairly new and well maintained. The TVs also looked fairly new, with flat screens in both the living room and the master bedroom upstairs. Free wifi is a bonus!

Location wise, this place was super convenient. Walking distance to Lost Lake snowshoe and x-country trails, right across the street from a grocery store, liquor store and some fast food options, and just a two minute walk from the village so you can take part in the fun and then escape the noise when you want to. There is an 11pm outside noise curfew at Glaciers which is nice if you want to get up early the next day to hit the slopes. (which you can reach by walking or free bus)

There was a bottle of wine waiting for us when we arrived, which I thought was a nice touch and was much appreciated! I highly recommend Unit 113! We booked at towardswhistler.com which is the reservation site for this specific unit. It was easy to use and the owners were definitely responsive and wanted to make sure we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Be picky about which unit you book as all are privately owned. Unit 113 was great, but if you are bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    38
    11
    14
    17
See reviews for
53
31
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stayed in a 2 bed 2 bath unit which was very nicely appointed. Glaciers Reach is on the edge of the main village, so within walking distance of the restaurants and shops, but not too noisy as I know it gets in the village. There was even a free shuttle bus that stops right opposite to take us to the lifts. Ample free parking, in a secured underground parking lot, not that we needed our car once their. We had our own private door access code, so were free to arrive at any time.
Free parking, Wifi, cable TV, Netflix, washer and dryer, gorgeous private hot tub and also the complex has a open air heated pool and hot tub. The unit was very clean, nice linens and all the sundries like cooking oil, shower gel, dishwasher tablets, laundry detergent were provided.
Thought it was fantastic and we have a new favorite place to stay !

Room Tip: Corner suites have 2 decks, layout provides open roomy feeling with lots of light. Upper floor means...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Stayed at Unit 123 last week. I don't even know where to start because so many things went wrong with the room-starting from the check in to the check out.

Checking In:
I kid you not, the checking in process took about 1.5 hours. We could not even check in at our lodge. We had to check in at a completely different location, located 15 minutes drive from our actual lodge. When we checked in, for some reason, my american credit card would not work (despite there being more than enough money), so I had to pay the deposit in cash. You would think a check in desk would have an atm close by, but no!! We had drive another 15 minutes to find an atm and drive back another 15 minutes to the check in desk.

The Lodge:
When we arrived at our lodge, it took another 10 minutes to actually find Unit 123. The Units are randomly located in no particularly number sequence-with number 95 next to 123. You just have to wander around the property and hope you find the number you're looking for before freezing to death. We ended up asking a maintenance guy where our unit was and he had to show us the way. He said that he still got lost on the property despite working there for 9 months!!! The parking is also an inconvenience. You need 2 keys to get into the parking lot and 2 keys to get out. My boyfriend compared it to Alcatraz- which in my opinion, Alcatraz would have been easier to escape from.

The rooms:
The decor is appalling! If you're looking for the set of a horror film with a 1960's run-down Texan motel kind of feel, this is the lodge for you! The furniture is all brown. It was a big brown mess. The paintings have not been modernised or upgraded probably since the construction of the building. The couches would make Grandma proud.The entire feel of the room is very stale, although kept in a tidy condition. The only plus was that we had rented a 2 floor one room unit with a private hot tub, so my boyfriend and I had plenty of room. The fire place was really good. It kept us warm the entire time. It is the only thing that saved our lodge really.

The Kitchen:
A positive is that the kitchen was nicely stocked with everything you need. It would have been nice if the dishes and pans were clean, however. My boyfriend felt ill after I had made him dinner using the bowls and the pans. I have a sneaking suspicion that it was due to the dirty dishes.

The Hot Tub:
The hot tub had an 11pm curfew which is ridiculous, considering many skiiers use the hot tubs at night after a long day of boarding. The chlorine levels of the hot tub were way too high. Every time we ended up using the hot tub, we would come out smelling like we had bathed all night in chlorine. It's actually a health hazard.

Location:
The location is great location-located a 5 minute walk to the village and to any bus stops.
It is also very easy to find the lodge.

Checking out:
This is the worst experience I've ever had in checking out, and I've stayed at 100's (no exaggeration) of hotels around the world. Because I had paid my deposit in cash, the receptionist said that she would pay it back onto my credit card after she had done all her checks. I stated that this was fine but in case the deposit did not work, would she please take down my banking details. She refused to take down my banking details and insisted on being completely rude throughout the process. I had given a deposit of $260 instead of $250 to another receptionist on the day of the check in (because atms don't give 10's) and this receptionist stated that only a $250 deposit was given according to the system. She basically accused me of trying to steal $10. I asked to speak to the manager and she refused again. In hindsight, I should have spoken to the manager.

It is a pity that the check out process ruined what may have been an okay stay at Whistler. I wouldn't come back to this lodge again. I would rather stay at a 5 star hotel for the same price and avoid all of the hassle. Because none of the 5 star hotels have private hot tubs, this is why my boyfriend and I decided to stay at Glacier's Reach. I won't make this mistake again. I'd rather sacrifice a private hot tub for better room decor and a more clean, classic feel to the room.

Ms. Saidi

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Great place to stay for 2 couples.
- Private
- Very close to shuttle (just across the street). Shuttle comes all the time.
- Very close to village
- Nice private hot tub with beautiful mountain view.
- Parking is very easy and accessible
- Unit is very clean
- Beds are very comfortable
- include all those little items, like olive oil, spices and coffee.
- Would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union City, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

First time to Whistler to ski and like this property. There is #4 free bus shuttle to ski lifts across street - no need to bring your boot bag with you. Very nice breakfast place nearby - Wildwood Restaurant has Healthy Start breakfast - 3 egg-white, toast and fruit bowl for only $10.. Walking distance to the Marketplace and main street. Parking is expensive in Whistler - $15/night. If you can take shuttle from airport to Whistler, no need to rent a car.

Room Tip: Pick a room not facing the main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed in unit 5 which was a one bedroom with pull out couch. What was not clear from our reservations is that it was a three story one bedroom. Yes, three stories. The entry way was so small, you literally had to stand on the stairs and reach down to open the door when you wanted to leave. There was a small dining table with six chairs only three of which were even possible to sit in. There was no room for any gear anywhere (this is a ski area, everyone has a ton of gear!). There are no lockers for wet skis or boards. The bathroom was 1/2 a flight of stairs up from the kitchen/living room area, and then there was another flight of stairs up to the very small bedroom. The walls were very thin and you could hear the pipes whining and clunking all night. Further, it is probably closer to a 20 minute walk to the lifts. We tried using the free shuttle, but this far out it was always full and the bus would drive right past us every time. Even getting in and out of the building was complicated and poorly designed. Stay somewhere else!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Having never been to Whistlers before, we poured over the poor map on-line trying to find the sweet spot of price, walking access to the restaurants at night and good shuttle access to the hill for skiing. Glaciers Reach was our pick and worked for us. We were lucky enough to get a backside unit (facing the tennis bubbles) so little traffic noise except late night folks walking to their units. The shuttle to the ski hill was across the street as was one end of the village walk, called Marketplace. This included a grocery story and liquor store. We were able to park the car for the 5 nights which is really what an on hill village should let you do!

Things that worked: We loved the private hot tub and think if you are skiing multi-days in a row - this is a therapeutic necessity! The fireplace was nice as we were on the ground floor and the tile floors in kitchen and bath were freezing from the car park underneath it. Kitchen was adequately stocked for simple cooking and the 2 laundry soaps supplied was a nice touch.

Things to improve: If you phoned for assistance from your room number, no one answered. If you phoned from your cell (outside line), it was answered.
The living room sleeper sofa had seen better days and should be upgraded if they are really suggesting folks sleep on it every night.
The biggest concern is if you arrived by bus - 'check in' and 'out' was a long way from Glaciers Reach up the hill in 'the Aspens'. Maybe they can make special arrangements for folks coming in without a car but it wasn't offered and would really be a bad start and finish to a vacation given the amount of luggage folks haul around on a ski vacation.

We had good weather, lots of sun! and if you don't want to haul your skis on the bus every day, you should know you can leave them and your poles in the basement of Carleton Lodge overnight for $5/pair/nt, just beware of line -ups in prime time!... sleep late, ski late!

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor would have warmer floors. Rooms on the tennis bubble side would be quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glaciers Reach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glaciers Reach

Address: 4388 Northlands Blvd, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Whistler
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Glaciers Reach 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All of our suites at Glaciers Reach have Private hot tub, year round pool, full kitchen, in suite laundry, high speed internet, living room with entertainment centre and free parking. We have been offering our guest’s quality accommodation at a resort complex called Glaciers Reach since 1999. Our vacation homes are fully equipped, well maintained and very clean. On behalf of all of us at Glaciers Reach we hope that you enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Glaciers Reach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glaciers Reach Whistler
Glaciers Reach Hotel Whistler
Glacier Reach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glaciers Reach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.