We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I hate Glaciers Reach” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Glaciers Reach

Save Saved
You added Glaciers Reach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Glaciers Reach
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   4388 Northlands Blvd, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 52 Hotels in Whistler
Seattle, Washington
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“I hate Glaciers Reach”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed in unit 5 which was a one bedroom with pull out couch. What was not clear from our reservations is that it was a three story one bedroom. Yes, three stories. The entry way was so small, you literally had to stand on the stairs and reach down to open the door when you wanted to leave. There was a small dining table with six chairs only three of which were even possible to sit in. There was no room for any gear anywhere (this is a ski area, everyone has a ton of gear!). There are no lockers for wet skis or boards. The bathroom was 1/2 a flight of stairs up from the kitchen/living room area, and then there was another flight of stairs up to the very small bedroom. The walls were very thin and you could hear the pipes whining and clunking all night. Further, it is probably closer to a 20 minute walk to the lifts. We tried using the free shuttle, but this far out it was always full and the bus would drive right past us every time. Even getting in and out of the building was complicated and poorly designed. Stay somewhere else!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    36
    10
    14
    17
See reviews for
52
31
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Having never been to Whistlers before, we poured over the poor map on-line trying to find the sweet spot of price, walking access to the restaurants at night and good shuttle access to the hill for skiing. Glaciers Reach was our pick and worked for us. We were lucky enough to get a backside unit (facing the tennis bubbles) so little traffic noise except late night folks walking to their units. The shuttle to the ski hill was across the street as was one end of the village walk, called Marketplace. This included a grocery story and liquor store. We were able to park the car for the 5 nights which is really what an on hill village should let you do!

Things that worked: We loved the private hot tub and think if you are skiing multi-days in a row - this is a therapeutic necessity! The fireplace was nice as we were on the ground floor and the tile floors in kitchen and bath were freezing from the car park underneath it. Kitchen was adequately stocked for simple cooking and the 2 laundry soaps supplied was a nice touch.

Things to improve: If you phoned for assistance from your room number, no one answered. If you phoned from your cell (outside line), it was answered.
The living room sleeper sofa had seen better days and should be upgraded if they are really suggesting folks sleep on it every night.
The biggest concern is if you arrived by bus - 'check in' and 'out' was a long way from Glaciers Reach up the hill in 'the Aspens'. Maybe they can make special arrangements for folks coming in without a car but it wasn't offered and would really be a bad start and finish to a vacation given the amount of luggage folks haul around on a ski vacation.

We had good weather, lots of sun! and if you don't want to haul your skis on the bus every day, you should know you can leave them and your poles in the basement of Carleton Lodge overnight for $5/pair/nt, just beware of line -ups in prime time!... sleep late, ski late!

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor would have warmer floors. Rooms on the tennis bubble side would be quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This unit has two narrow steep stairwells if you rent it as a two bedroom. One bedroom, one steep narrow stairwell... The living space is very small and the dining room table is pushed against a wall barely fitting 4 people. Very closet phobic feeling. Had issues with disposal and sink backing up with not much help from the property owner. Noisy DW and water heater. Inadequate and old kitchen stuff including chipped dishes. Experienced dirty sheets, mattress pad and sweaty stained pillows! No working exercise equipment. Next time we will stay elsewhere so we don't have to deal with mechanical issues while we are on vacation. Too expensive for the quality. The only thing going is the location to the market and bus stop.

Room Tip: Choose carefully when you book a room in a winter ski destination. The wear and tear from snow and s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

My husband and I rented a unit here for six months for the 2011/12 winter season, so we have plenty of experience with Glacier's Reach.

Firstly, it is in a great location - right across the road from the free bus shuttle which takes you to the lifts, and from the Marketplace supermarket. It is a ten minute walk to the lifts and to the top of the village, and the same to Blackcomb base, so super convenient.

The complex itself is relatively small, but I feel that's because there are a large number of units in quite a small space. Our condo was privately owned and very well looked after, and I couldn't fault the unit itself.

However, the main issues is NOISE and this is a big one...the problem with Glacier's Reach is that the walls and floor are thin, many units have outdoor hot tubs, and it's relatively cheap. Add to that that Whistler is a party town and attracts people who want to come and get absolutely smashed on drink and drugs most weekends.

The 11pm noise curfew is ignored my most weekenders, and when called, security are useless half the time, so we had to call the police a couple of times. One time we called security as the stag party downstairs (who had hired a hooker) were being noisy, and instead of sorting the issue out, the guy went inside!!

However, this issue is more a general Whistler issue, and having been to parties in other complexes, one endemic to Whistler condo complexes. My advice, spend a bit more money than the cheapest places available and you might have half a chance of a decent night's sleep.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

I don't usually write negative reviews.

We stayed here during summer. The hot tub is insanely noisy at night and cannot be turned off. A phone call to management confirmed this. I slept on the couch instead.

The interior is sad and old. You can tell the owners do as little as possible to maintain the place, but still charge Whistler prices. Keep looking, there is much better out there.

You will also be woken up by the shouting tennis coaching that starts between 6am and 7am.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Just got back from a great stay at Glacier's Reach. We rented out room 25 which was a two bedroom, two bathroom place with our own private hot tub. Was well equipped and all we had to bring was our food and drinks. The bed that we slept in was really comfy and both rooms had air conditioners... which were noisy, but nice. We slept on the fold out couch the last night, which wasn't comfy at all but beats the floor! The whole place was really nice and fuss free... if youre someone who is always calling the front desk for something, this isnt your place. It really feels like your own little vacation home, not a hotel for sure. Super close to the village and right on the Valley trail. The hot tub was brand new and amazing, we spent lots of time in there. It was quite private too, since there are trees and bushes next to our building. Was sad to leave this morning... it was so nice and relaxing! Will definitely look into renting this place in the winter time. The price was great for the summer, fit four comfortably but could fit up to six. We booked it off alluradirect.com. Thanks!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

The positives...

The main thing is that it's in a great location. It's within walking distance to the Whistler Village, yet far enough that the Whistler night life doesn't keep you up.

The kitchen had a coffee maker, toaster and frying pans so making our own breakfast was a snap. It's even got a dishwasher for easy clean up.

In the evenings there's a nice security guard making sure that the noise levels are at a reasonable level.

The hot tub temperature was at a good level.

Everything was clean when we arrived.



The negatives...

Who designed the parking stalls? The underground parking is very tight and almost impossible to get in and out of your vehicle if another vehicle is parked next to you. I had to use the passenger door to access my vehicle and I couldn't even get mad at the other guy because he was centered in his stall as best as he could get.

We had an upstairs room and the sunlight in the summertime starts shining into the room at 6am. Yes, there are blinds but this place needs curtains too... thick heavy curtains to block out the sun. Apparently the bottom rooms were much darker so I guess if you like to sleep in, make sure you get a ground level unit.

Older furniture and the carpet needs to be replaced with new carpet or laminate.

Room Tip: Second level units let in too much sun in the morning. Get a ground level unit instead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glaciers Reach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glaciers Reach

Address: 4388 Northlands Blvd, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Glaciers Reach 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All of our suites at Glaciers Reach have Private hot tub, year round pool, full kitchen, in suite laundry, high speed internet, living room with entertainment centre and free parking. We have been offering our guest’s quality accommodation at a resort complex called Glaciers Reach since 1999. Our vacation homes are fully equipped, well maintained and very clean. On behalf of all of us at Glaciers Reach we hope that you enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Glaciers Reach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glaciers Reach Whistler
Glaciers Reach Hotel Whistler
Glacier Reach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glaciers Reach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.