We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, Relaxing Stay Close to the Village” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glaciers Reach

Save Saved
You added Glaciers Reach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Glaciers Reach
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   4388 Northlands Blvd, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 53 hotels in Whistler
North Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great, Relaxing Stay Close to the Village”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Just got back from a great stay at Glacier's Reach. We rented out room 25 which was a two bedroom, two bathroom place with our own private hot tub. Was well equipped and all we had to bring was our food and drinks. The bed that we slept in was really comfy and both rooms had air conditioners... which were noisy, but nice. We slept on the fold out couch the last night, which wasn't comfy at all but beats the floor! The whole place was really nice and fuss free... if youre someone who is always calling the front desk for something, this isnt your place. It really feels like your own little vacation home, not a hotel for sure. Super close to the village and right on the Valley trail. The hot tub was brand new and amazing, we spent lots of time in there. It was quite private too, since there are trees and bushes next to our building. Was sad to leave this morning... it was so nice and relaxing! Will definitely look into renting this place in the winter time. The price was great for the summer, fit four comfortably but could fit up to six. We booked it off alluradirect.com. Thanks!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    32
    10
    12
    16
See reviews for
45
28
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Langley City, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

The positives...

The main thing is that it's in a great location. It's within walking distance to the Whistler Village, yet far enough that the Whistler night life doesn't keep you up.

The kitchen had a coffee maker, toaster and frying pans so making our own breakfast was a snap. It's even got a dishwasher for easy clean up.

In the evenings there's a nice security guard making sure that the noise levels are at a reasonable level.

The hot tub temperature was at a good level.

Everything was clean when we arrived.



The negatives...

Who designed the parking stalls? The underground parking is very tight and almost impossible to get in and out of your vehicle if another vehicle is parked next to you. I had to use the passenger door to access my vehicle and I couldn't even get mad at the other guy because he was centered in his stall as best as he could get.

We had an upstairs room and the sunlight in the summertime starts shining into the room at 6am. Yes, there are blinds but this place needs curtains too... thick heavy curtains to block out the sun. Apparently the bottom rooms were much darker so I guess if you like to sleep in, make sure you get a ground level unit.

Older furniture and the carpet needs to be replaced with new carpet or laminate.

Room Tip: Second level units let in too much sun in the morning. Get a ground level unit instead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tsawwassen, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

The only good feature was the hot tub. Request room 34 because thats the one that actually has some privacy on the upper floor level. Everything else about this place sucks... its small, the bed is uncomfy, theres codes to access the unit and ours was broken which was a major issue that needed to be resolved.

Theres a key for parking and a key for the hot tub which is annoying having to keep 2 keys, and 2 codes. You have to book in with the front desk if you want to use the pool which is irritating. AND theres no actually concierge or front desk onsite its 10 mins drive away.

Oh lets not forget that when we arrived the room hadnt been cleaned up properly as the previous guests belongings were laying all over the room. Not impressed.

Room Tip: 34 has the hot tub on upper patio (some privacy)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

My Wife, 17 year old son and I spent 6 nights in this condo in early April, 2012. We had a wonderful vacation. Like most things, this unit and location has pros and cons. The complex is located in Village North, across the street from the Marketplace. It is a 10 minute walk to the main village and gondola. If you are looking to be right in the thick of things, I would think twice before coming here. While Village North is definitely less bustling as it is out of the hub it has it's advantages. The IGA supermarket is very accessible, as are a number of stores, restaurants and casual eateries. We ate Crepe Montagne which was fantastic. There is also a pretty playground for younger kids. It is fairly quiet at night being away from the main bars and restaurants. While we walked to the lifts on occasion, there is a shuttle bus that picks up very close to the unit and drops off on top of the gondolas.

The complex itself seems quite small. There is a central area with an all seasons outdoor pool and hot tub. We didn't use these as our unit had a hot tub on the deck. The parking is all below ground. I imagine this is quite convenient in the poor weather. We found it a bit tight for the behemoth we rented at the airport.

The unit itself was nice, perhaps a bit small. It is well furnished with flat screen TVs in the living room and both bedrooms. There are a number of DVDs and books to borrow. A gas fireplace was a nice touch. The kitchen was very well stocked. This unit is really a combination of two separate rentals, 124 and 124a. The main condo is a one bedroom, second story, walk-up with a deck. It is attached by stairs to the second distinct upper bedroom and bath. There is a deck off the upstairs bedroom to the hot tub. We found it a bit disjointed at the beginning to have this complete second unit but spent most our time in the living room anyway. The condo was clean but we felt the linens had seen better days. This particular unit faces the main road as opposed to the interior of the complex. While this is a plus as it gave some nice mountain views off one of the decks, there was also some road traffic while we slept.

All told we were glad we chose Village North.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Unfortunately I can't recall the exact unit number as I would like to warn everyone. When we showed up there was a notice pinned to the door asking the "occupants" to contact a management company (obviously someone didn't pay the bills) or they were going to change the locks in 7 days, my wife was not impressed. The unit was your typical beaten up ski condo. Very little space, no management company on site for problems (my fault, I dealt directly with the condo owner). The hot tub was scalding hot and there were enough chemicals laying around the balcony to start a laboratory (open and accessible). I was afraid we were all going to be bleached. There is a shuttle to the hills, walking with ski boots and skis is too far. There is a central pool / hot tub area but I never saw anyone using it. My advice rent from a management company with on site presence.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else closer to the hill!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

After reading the reviews here we were expecting really small unit but turned out to be a good size. We were a family of 3, our daughter slept on a pull-out bed in a livindg room (second floor) and we occupied a bedroom on the third floor which had a big patio with the hot tub on it. Was nice to have privacy and we were able to enjoy the hot tub after our daughter was asleep.
The patio on the third floor is facing the mountains so there is a nice view there as well.
The unit looks renovated recently and was very clean. No wireless internet but nice flat screen TV in the living room. The kitchen was small but had everything we needed, we didn't cook much anyway.
Shuttle to the gondola stops right across the street and takes 5 minutes to get there - that was convenient.
The only real surprise to us was the size of the parking stalls - I think it is the smallest we've ever seen. In order to park we had to remove our side mirrors, otherwise woudn't fit. And we don't even have a big car! On the first night there was no car parked beside our spot so we were ok, but the second night there was a large SUV parked in the next spot so we figured if we try to park we would scratch it. So had to find another spot elswhere, luckily at the check-in we were told if designated parking stall is occupied we can pick any other available spot.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

Booked a last minute trip for 4 nights and really lucked out. This unit is just a few steps away from the entrance to the pool and hot tub for the Glacier's Ridge community. (many of the units seemed to have thier own personal hot tubs as well) Underground reserved parking was great b/c it snowed nonstop during our stay. The walk to the village gondola is a bit too much with gear and treking in wet snow, but the shuttle stop is just down the street, or you can drive right up to the blackcomb gondola in lot 7.

We did hear footsteps from our nieghbors, which is to be expected in a townhouse setting, but not enough to be disturbing. No construction in our area. Our one bedroom unit with futon was very clean and cozy. Jets in the tub and lots of fluffy towels. Not a whole lot of square footage but seems larger as the bathroom and bedroom are on different levels. The two decks face the pool area as well as a great view of the mtns.

Great value for those that want a pretty good location w/o paying extra for being right in the middle of village or ski-in/ski-out units.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Glaciers Reach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glaciers Reach

Address: 4388 Northlands Blvd, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Glaciers Reach 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All of our suites at Glaciers Reach have Private hot tub, year round pool, full kitchen, in suite laundry, high speed internet, living room with entertainment centre and free parking. We have been offering our guest’s quality accommodation at a resort complex called Glaciers Reach since 1999. Our vacation homes are fully equipped, well maintained and very clean. On behalf of all of us at Glaciers Reach we hope that you enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Glaciers Reach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glaciers Reach Whistler
Glaciers Reach Hotel Whistler
Glacier Reach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glaciers Reach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.