We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't rent private!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Glaciers Reach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Glaciers Reach to your Saves list
Glaciers Reach
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   4388 Northlands Blvd, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 52 Hotels in Whistler
Oakville, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Don't rent private!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Unfortunately I can't recall the exact unit number as I would like to warn everyone. When we showed up there was a notice pinned to the door asking the "occupants" to contact a management company (obviously someone didn't pay the bills) or they were going to change the locks in 7 days, my wife was not impressed. The unit was your typical beaten up ski condo. Very little space, no management company on site for problems (my fault, I dealt directly with the condo owner). The hot tub was scalding hot and there were enough chemicals laying around the balcony to start a laboratory (open and accessible). I was afraid we were all going to be bleached. There is a shuttle to the hills, walking with ski boots and skis is too far. There is a central pool / hot tub area but I never saw anyone using it. My advice rent from a management company with on site presence.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else closer to the hill!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    38
    11
    14
    17
See reviews for
53
31
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

After reading the reviews here we were expecting really small unit but turned out to be a good size. We were a family of 3, our daughter slept on a pull-out bed in a livindg room (second floor) and we occupied a bedroom on the third floor which had a big patio with the hot tub on it. Was nice to have privacy and we were able to enjoy the hot tub after our daughter was asleep.
The patio on the third floor is facing the mountains so there is a nice view there as well.
The unit looks renovated recently and was very clean. No wireless internet but nice flat screen TV in the living room. The kitchen was small but had everything we needed, we didn't cook much anyway.
Shuttle to the gondola stops right across the street and takes 5 minutes to get there - that was convenient.
The only real surprise to us was the size of the parking stalls - I think it is the smallest we've ever seen. In order to park we had to remove our side mirrors, otherwise woudn't fit. And we don't even have a big car! On the first night there was no car parked beside our spot so we were ok, but the second night there was a large SUV parked in the next spot so we figured if we try to park we would scratch it. So had to find another spot elswhere, luckily at the check-in we were told if designated parking stall is occupied we can pick any other available spot.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

Booked a last minute trip for 4 nights and really lucked out. This unit is just a few steps away from the entrance to the pool and hot tub for the Glacier's Ridge community. (many of the units seemed to have thier own personal hot tubs as well) Underground reserved parking was great b/c it snowed nonstop during our stay. The walk to the village gondola is a bit too much with gear and treking in wet snow, but the shuttle stop is just down the street, or you can drive right up to the blackcomb gondola in lot 7.

We did hear footsteps from our nieghbors, which is to be expected in a townhouse setting, but not enough to be disturbing. No construction in our area. Our one bedroom unit with futon was very clean and cozy. Jets in the tub and lots of fluffy towels. Not a whole lot of square footage but seems larger as the bathroom and bedroom are on different levels. The two decks face the pool area as well as a great view of the mtns.

Great value for those that want a pretty good location w/o paying extra for being right in the middle of village or ski-in/ski-out units.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012 via mobile

The condo lay-out, location, and cleanliness are fine.

The condo policies on noise and construction, however are not. Starting Saturday morning at 7 and Sunday morning at 8:30, the upstairs condo flooring is being replaced. There was no notice this would happen, and while the workers were told to delay their Sunday start until after 8 AM, the whole weekend is one of pounding and sawing.

The management co. or condo rules don't appear to require pre-approval or notice for such renovation projects. And this type of work should be done mid-week when there aren't as many guests.

If I could ski all day, it wouldn't be so bad, but I can't and was planning to relax in the hot tub and read. Relaxing is impossible with this racket. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Växjö, Kronobergs Län, Sweden
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

We were staying 3 nights in room 115A at Glaciers Reach. Didn't look anything like the pictures on their web site. And the most annoying thing was that we had to do our check in at the other side of the village, at the Aspens. Stupid and time consuming if you don't have a car. And when we finally got to the Aspens the woman in the reception were neither friendly or helpful.

Our booking included a private hot tub, but our hot tub were located just next to our neighbours front door and just a half meter from our window so it was really noisy all the time. The view from the hot tub and our hotel room was nothing like the pictures either, facing some threes and tennis courts. The room was very small, just enough to space to fit an queen bed. You couldn't even fully open the fridge because of the bed.

Really thin walls and roof, you could hear the neighbours all the time. And our bed was broken, unstable and noisy as hell. No extra blankets or pillows, just thin sheets in this cold room.

We know that you can't fully can't trust pictures but, this room is nothing like it. So how hard can it be to take some more pictures when the rooms obviously looks very different.

The only good thing was that it was easy to go to the lifts and the village... but on the other hand, that had nothing to do with Glaciers Reach. So we recommend no one to stay here for this price,in this room.

/Emma and Robert

Room Tip: do not choose room 115A. And not Glaciers Reach at all if you don't have a car for the check in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

The price with lift tickets is very hard to beat for what you get.

Tri-level unit with second level deck that has 2-3 person private jacuzzi (2 guys max).

The unit is nicely appointed, leather couch and flat panel TV, ipod dock, small dining room table for 4.

Kitchen is on the small side, so if you plan to cook a ton of meals for a lot of people, this is probably not the unit for you. But for 2-4 ppl this should work. Check the utensils and cookware before heading to the market. No condiments of any sort in the fridge or cupboards. Though we did leave some beer, vodka, and butter behind ;)

We had 4 grown men and it was a little tight at times but worked. The main BR has a nice queen and wall mounted flat panel TV, and it's own bathrooms. The light switches in the entire unit are pretty lame, they are on opposite walls inside the bathroom, not just inside the door where you normally expect them to be. Kind of that way in entire place, very odd/annoying. The second BR is very small, has two twin beds, which are not great for grown men, and the beds are very close because of the size of the room. Would probably not rent this place again if we go with 4 guys due to this room and bed setup. If you put them together you could make one queen and that would be OK. Fourth guy used the couch bed and it was good to go.

The proximity to the shops and walkway is nice, just couple hundred yards to the market and liquor store. A brisk 10-15 minute walk down the pathways to the gondola's, not terrible but our skier guy checked his gear every night rather than walk it every morning in ski boots. Us snowboarders didn't have a problem, actually warms up your legs a little before getting on the mountain.

Downstairs parking is super secure. The condo unit door entry is a code lock which is nice, so you don't have to mess with fondling a key all the time.

Overall a nice stay and great value. Would recommend. Unit 48. Trevor is the owner.

Room Tip: Unit 48... facing the quiet side of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012 via mobile

Just got home after a week at GR, suite 81A&B. Location very good, a pleasant 15 minute walk along the village stroll to the lifts. Ideal for family with 2 kids (upstairs a double bed, downstairs two singles that can be brought together if need be for two couples). Kitchen is excellent, and the grocery store is across the street at the market place. Entryway a bit tight, have to take turns getting boots off. Price was very good value. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glaciers Reach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glaciers Reach

Address: 4388 Northlands Blvd, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Whistler
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Glaciers Reach 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All of our suites at Glaciers Reach have Private hot tub, year round pool, full kitchen, in suite laundry, high speed internet, living room with entertainment centre and free parking. We have been offering our guest’s quality accommodation at a resort complex called Glaciers Reach since 1999. Our vacation homes are fully equipped, well maintained and very clean. On behalf of all of us at Glaciers Reach we hope that you enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Glaciers Reach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glaciers Reach Whistler
Glaciers Reach Hotel Whistler
Glacier Reach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glaciers Reach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.