We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aura Restaurant

Aura Restaurant
2131 Lake Placid Road | Nita Lake Lodge, Whistler, British Columbia V0N1B2, Canada
+1 604-966-5711
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Aura Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #21 of 152 Restaurants in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $33
Cuisines: Canadian
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Chesterfield
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Outstanding Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

We were recommended this place for a special tasting menu at Canadian dollars 35 for 3 courses. The meal was freshly prepared using local ingredients including wild garlic used for the exceptional starter of wilted leeks ,wild garlic leaves and flowers plus puree with a soft poached egg. The main course we chose steak which was cooked to perfection and to our choice with fingerling potatoes and diced salsa with red wine jus. For dessert my friend chose fresh raspberry meringue on pineapple with wild sorrel sorbet, whilst I chose chocolate and hazelnut tart with banana (wafers) and hay icecream. We also had freshly baked bread and butter. There was plenty of choice. Service was exceptional and the waitress took a lot of care to explain what the dishes comprised of. Our table overlooked the lake which was frozen at the time of our visit April 2014. The restaurant is situated in the Nita Lake Lodge Hotel which also looked fantastic. If you are in the area and want a special meal I highly recommend it There is also a la carte menu or a 5 course tasting menu. Plenty of choice of wines which being Canada are not cheap by European standards but I am sure would be of a good quality.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    36
    20
    9
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Nice setting, but disappointing meal and service.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

My family and I recently dined at Aura. It was off-season but that is no excuse for the service or the food.My wife ordered steak medium and it was rare and not very tasty. My kids ordered ice cream with chocolate sauce, it didn't come with sauce. We asked for plum sauce and the waitress brought us a1steak sauce . We were one of the few tables in the entire restaurant yet the wait staff was not very attentive. For the price I would have to say it was very disappointing although a beautiful setting of the lake and Hotel Nita was worth seeing.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy S, Guest Relations Manager at Aura Restaurant, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review.
We strive to provide all our guests with an attentive, delicious and customized dining experience in a relaxed setting and we are truly sorry that this was not the case during your visit to Aura. Please accept our sincere apologies for your disappointment.
I have passed your comments on to our food and beverage team who would love the opportunity to follow up with you. Please contact myself or our Food and Beverage Director, Stephanie Noel, on stephanie@nitalakeldoge.com or by calling 604-966-5706. We look forward to connecting with you soon.
Kindest Regards,
Nancy Steward - Guest Relations Manager - Nita Lake Lodge - nancy@nitalakelodge.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kelowna, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We had drinks and the Charcuterie plate in the lounge. Service was excellent and sitting by the fire looking out at the lake was a great break. Dinner was the Chef's Tasting Menu. The steak tartar on the potato chip, and the crab cake were mouth watering. The duck breast and it was the best duck I've ever tasted. Wine was paired at the recommendation of the Manager and the choices were perfect. I recommend this for a lovely evening with especially great food and wine.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

My wife and I were staying at the Nita Lake Lodge (which was an AMAZING lodge), and we ate at the Aura for breakfast twice, and dinner once. The food was fantastic and the service was great.
Everything we had was incredible. Highly suggest the omelets and eggs benedict for breakfast. For dinner, we had the duck and the burger. I normally do not do burgers for dinner, but this one was incredible!
When we stay at the Nita Lake Lodge again, we will most definitely go there again!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy S, Guest Relations Manager at Aura Restaurant, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for your review. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your dining experiences during your stay at the lodge and I have shared your comments with our team.
We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future!
Best Regards,
Nancy Steward - Guest Relations Manager, Nita Lake Lodge - nancy@nitalakelodge.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent dinner at Aura, Nita Lake Lodgr”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

We have accommodations in Creekside and so are familiar with Nita Lake lodge, frequently enjoying excellent burgers and beer at the Fireside Lodge, and delicious breakfasts at Aura restaurant. This is the first time we have dined at Aura for supper and were all very impressed with the service, the ambiance, and the quality of food. The ingredients are locally sourced and beautifully prepared, with menu items to suit the ravenous carnivores and the discriminating vegans in our group! Extremely knowledgable and courteous staff added to the relaxing evening.
We are looking forward to our next meal at Aura, Nita Lake lodge.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aura Restaurant also viewed

Whistler, British Columbia
Whistler, British Columbia
 
Whistler, British Columbia
Whistler, British Columbia
 

Been to Aura Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aura Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.