We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth crossing highway 99!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aura Restaurant

Aura Restaurant
2131 Lake Placid Road | Nita Lake Lodge, Whistler, British Columbia V0N1B2, Canada
+1 604-966-5711
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Aura Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #20 of 152 Restaurants in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $33
Cuisines: Canadian
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Well worth crossing highway 99!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

Staying in Creekside we had only found burger bars and pizza until we walked into Aura. We didn't know about the $30 dinner menu but we were offered it and it was lovely food, without noticeably smaller portions. We will be back!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    36
    20
    9
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whistler, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not offered what we went for!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Went to the Aura restaurant due to seeing advertised a 3 courses for $30. Sat down and were presented with menus along with being told the specials. Asked if there were any other specials or offers on. Was told there was some drinks/cocktails specials. Didnt want to press the point too much assuming we had made a mistake with the day (we hadnt). So we thought well its our mistake and proceeded to order. My main alone was over $30 as was my wife's (in fact don't think there is a main under $30) so quite some difference. Very nice meal but during our main I hear word of this $30 menu mentioned on the table next to us and the waiter saying yes that they did offer it. We just forked out a load more because you seemingly have to ask about it, they dont mention it. The choices are even the exact same as the normal menu just slightly smaller mains. Well based on the portion size of what we ordered I think we got given the $30 size anyway. If you have an advertised offer then the waiter should mention it, it is that simple.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy S, Guest Relations Manager at Aura Restaurant, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear Nathan,
Thank you for posting a review of your experience.
Please accept our sincere apologies for the miscommunication of our $30 menu during your visit to Aura; this absolutely should have been offered to you upon seating. I understand that our Food and Beverage Manager, Evan, has been in touch to explain the situation and invite you back. We hope that when you return you have the exceptional and value-for-money experience we strive to provide all our restaurant guests.
Kind Regards,
Nancy Steward - Guest Relations Manager - nancy@ntialakelodge.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

A beautiful experience. My wife and I wanted a vegan meal, and they were very accommodating. The hostess even went to the kitchen, and the chef came out to explain their vegan offerings. He even offered to prepare a vegan soup for us.
All the courses were delicious. Starting with the specially prepared soup (tomato soup with tarragon oil and black trumpet mushrooms), polenta lasagna and unbelievably good quinoa kala salad.
And the service was perfect (pleasant waiter, with the right measure for everything).
An example of what a nice restaurant should look like.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Disappointing meal - below average for Whistler”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Just came back from the special $30 3-course menu offered Sun-Thurs. until the end of March. It is deceptively advertised. It is not a 3 course meal, but instead a "3 course snack". My entree had 2 medium sized scallops, which were extremely overpowered by salty bacon/charcuterie/sauce. My friend had a few thin slices of lamb. They were all out of the oysters, (both the warm and the chillled) which was one of the main reasons we had chosen to come to this restaurant this evening. Extremely disappointing. Average drinks. Below average dessert- brownies were extremely sweet, whip cream was warm. Too bad, I was really excited about this $30 menu. Service was also extremely slow.
I guess I'll stick to some of the better quality and value options around town.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy S, Guest Relations Manager at Aura Restaurant, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review your Aura experience.
We are truly sorry that you had a disappointing meal. I have passed your feedback on to our Food and Beverage team to ensure that the necessary improvements are made. We would love the opportunity to welcome you back to the restaurant and hope that your next experience not only meets, but exceeds your expectations. Please be sure to contact me personally to arrange this.
I look forward to hearing from you,
Kind Regards,
Nancy Steward - Guest Relations Manager, Nita Lake Lodge - nancy@nitalakelodge.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Breakfast yum yum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Great breakfast here. We loved the pancakes and the French toast. Very good pricing for what you get too. The view while you have breakfast of the lake is amazing

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aura Restaurant also viewed

Whistler, British Columbia
Whistler, British Columbia
 
Whistler, British Columbia
Whistler, British Columbia
 

Been to Aura Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aura Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.