We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Acommodations Are Very Good, but Paid Shuttle is a Pain” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Legends

Save Saved
You added Legends to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Legends
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2036 London Lane, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B2, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay Longer and Save More
Ranked #10 of 53 hotels in Whistler
Hampton, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Acommodations Are Very Good, but Paid Shuttle is a Pain”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Leading a group of 24 skiers across the continent and into Canada from the US can be daunting. Our week-ling stay at Legends has to be looked at with mixed comments.

The facility is really nice -- spacious lobby, handy ski storage, comfortable rooms, excellent slope access, etc. We arrived about 9 pm on a Saturday night and the bell man was a bit overwhelmed, but jumped right to the task. We weren't really expecting baggage service so his work was appreciated.. We were soon settled in for the evening. All of the staff were very friendly and helpful.

A comment about the rooms. We occupied 6 - two bedroom/two bath condos. While they were nicely appointed, the bedrooms could have used more adequate drawer space. They did have a nightstand and very small chest of drawers and some closet shelves, but several folks mentioned the lack of drawer space. Another issue with the furnishings is the fact one bedroom had a split king and the other a non-splittable king bed. That meant that one person in condos occupied with four singles had to sleep on the living room sleep sofa. That is certainly doable, but not the most comfortable nor convenient arrangement. There appears to be NO reason for not having split kings in each bedroom, making for maximum rental flexibility.

The staff provided fresh towels throughout the week and linen changes mid-week.

The Legends is very conveniently located adjacent to the Creekside Gondola. From the ski storage room it is just a very short walk across the courtyard to the gondola base. That worked very well going and coming. Less convenient, however, is access to the main Whistler Village.

While Whistler Creekside and Whistler Village are part of the same resort and the lifts from both locations serve all of the same mountains and trails, the shuttle bus between the bases requires payment of a fare ranging from $1.80 each way (for seniors buying tickets in groups of ten) to $2.50 each way (for non-seniors paying with cash on board). This, in and of itself, is surprising for transportation WITHIN a resort and the logistics of payment were even more annoying.

The Legends does sell single tickets at the front desk; a nice service. However, they only sell full fare tickets and neither senior nor bulk discount tickets. In fact, there is apparently NO place in Creekside that sells the bulk tickets. The whole process seems shortsighted for groups (or others) without their own transportation to access the businesses in the Village.

[As an aside, I should say that I was able to purchase the group tickets in advance by phone and have them delivered to Legends awaiting our arrival. Special thanks to Emma Dal Santo with the Resort Municipality of Whistler and Jody Warren of Tourism Whistler for going above and beyond to arrange the purchase and deliver the tickets so we could travel to our group dinners in the Village.]

We found Creekside to be somewhat limiting in meal and shopping options. Dusty's was certainly convenient (located adjacent to Legends) and adequate, but too loud and the food was not impressive. A short walk took us to the Southside Dinner which we enjoyed.

The bottom line for Legends is that the lodging is nice, has good access to skiing, but is pretty much isolated for groups or others without personal transportation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    132
    103
    16
    8
    6
See reviews for
128
39
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Friendly and helpful staff. Rooms are clean and are well maintained. Ski lockers are very convinient. 1 min walk to the creek side gandola. 2 fairly bug hot tubs outside and heated pool. Wish they also had a sauna.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Our first trip to Whistler & decided to stay in the 'quieter' Creekside after consulting both friends and TripAdvisor reviews. Location is excellent, close to gondola & bus stop to village. The room was comfortable and the housekeeping service was good. We really enjoyed our stay & will return, without hesitation, on our next trip to Whistler - which might be as soon as next year!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

beautiful decor in main areas. rooms were plain, but nice. we stayed in the 2 bedroom condo, which had a nice spacious master suite with tub and separate shower. 2nd bedroom was smaller but still had door into smaller bathroom. beds were VERY comfortable, and we have a brand new bed at home to compare to. Heard from someone else in our group that pull out sofa bed was "ok". kitchen area small but about average condo size kitchen. housekeeping service was excellent, except only one packet of coffee included and then they do not replace it again at no charge (we called). kind of cheap and upsetting for the price paid to stay here. locker room about 100 steps to Creekside Gondola lift. they have 2 nice outside hot tubs and a heated swimming pool. a nice fitness room and entertainment hang out room. even a nice movie theatre room with huge screen and you can pick which movie you would like from a list at the front desk. all staff VERY friendly. bus stop very close to front door, convenient to take you to the Whistler village which has a LOT of shopping.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Great location and room and service was great too. Front desk staff very good and helpful. We often come to whistler few times in a year but creekside was much better than village. It is rapidly growing and dusty was great for breakfast and dinner.

Room Tip: two bedroom upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Legends? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legends

Address: 2036 London Lane, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B2, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Whistler
#9 Family Hotel in Whistler
#15 Romantic Hotel in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Legends 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located ski-in, ski-out at the base of Whistler Mountain in Creekside Village, Legends offers a little something for everyone. Features include suites with full kitchens and living areas, a fitness centre, an outdoor pool, two hot tubs (one family specific), a children's games room, a media room with a large screen television and an alpine club lounge. With the Creekside Village just steps away access to many other amenities are endless, with a grocery store, liquor store, ski/board rental shop, Whistler Kids programs, a post office, Starbucks and a few shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Legends reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legends Hotel Whistler

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Legends, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.