We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spring skiing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Horstman House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Horstman House to your Saves list
Horstman House
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   4653 Blackcomb Way, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 18 Whistler B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    43
    12
    3
    0
See reviews for
42
44
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mount Vernon, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Recently spent five nights during Spring Break with my family in unit 301, which was clean but somewhat cramped for six people. The rooms had no dressers, so we lived out of our suitcases. The WiFi was sketchy at best. Despite call to front desk, nothing was done to improve this service. In today's world, if you advertise WiFi but cannot assure connectivity, you best not say you have it. Parking was extremely tight. Parking our Honda Odyssey was always a chore. The pool and hot top were full when we wanted to use them. While the property has good ambiance, we won't be returning.

Room Tip: Stay away from the elevator and as high up as you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Spent three nights at Horstman House. Very comfortable, though not extraordinary. One BR unit was small, but ok for two people. Excellent value. Easy bus to to slopes and good facilities overall. Hot tub and pool were great ways to end the day. Location was quiet, though noise from upstairs carries. Maintenace/housekeeping was fine. Would come and stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

A recent ski vacation in Whistler was enhanced by the service and quality of this hotel. It is a condominium that is rented out to vacationers by the night, week or longer. So the suites are fully serviced with kitchen including full appliances, dishes and cutlery, separate living and sleeping rooms. The lobby area includes kids game area, pool table, ski storage and luggage storage and lockers with bathroom and showers. Parking is secure and free. The staff is cheerful, friendly and helpful. On departure day, you can check out, ski all day, then return to the property to shower, change clothes, retrieve your stored belongings and car. It is located a short distance from Whistler Village, where many shops and restaurants are located but there is free bus service to the front door and the buses run q10 minutes early morning until late evening. You can ski in from the nearest runs but not out to the lifts. It is a premium property and not inexpensive, especially on weekends, but good value for the money if booked early. There is no on-site cafe or food sales.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paget Parish, Bermuda
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Horstman House. The location is on the free bus route, and the rooms were clean and attractive. We had a two bedroom suite, however the walls are not noise proof so voices/ music travels through. Wifi did work but was a little on the slow side. The hot tub was great at the end of a day, but the bubble jets were not working so well. In all we enjoyed our stay and if your looking for a nice place on a smaller budget I would recommend Horstman House.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timbuktu, Mali
Level Contributor
90 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Decent mountain themed condo, but nothing wow. Basic kitchen with basic appliances for maximizing revenues net of expenses to owners.

Wifi did not work on first day, but on day 2 and 3 after much complaining.

Nice hottub.

Solid value for families and budget conscious couples that wish to avoid the overpriced hotels nearer to the lifts.

In Whistler you get what you pay for. You pay less, you get less.

One slow elevator only. I can only imagine the slow speed during a busy weekend.

Everything average. Nothing wow but nothing mediocre either !

Room Tip: Pick a top floor if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mukilteo, Washington
Level Contributor
158 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We have stayed at Horstman House several times and always enjoyed our stay. The staff is pleasant and the rooms comfortable. Plus they have a great outside hot tub, small pool, and a workout room. It is nice to have a place with a kitchen as food prices in town are high. But they have several great food stores in town (a 15 minute walk).

Room Tip: Pick one on the mountain side. And away from the workout room on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tricia H, Manager at Horstman House, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at The Horstman House Lodge. We are pleased to hear that once again you had a great stay with us and found the staff pleasant and the room to be comfortable. Those new pillow top mattresses definitely help with the comfort level!

We want to thank you again for your continued patronage of The Horstman House and Whistler Premier.

We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whistler hotels
3.1 mi away
Nita Lake Lodge
Nita Lake Lodge
#1 of 52 in Whistler
4.5 of 5 stars 1,196 reviews
1.0 mi away
Crystal Lodge Hotel
Crystal Lodge Hotel
#12 of 52 in Whistler
4.5 of 5 stars 1,468 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Whistler Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Coast Blackcomb Suites at Whistler
0.9 mi away
Summit Lodge & Spa
Summit Lodge & Spa
#5 of 52 in Whistler
4.5 of 5 stars 1,034 reviews
3.1 mi away
First Tracks Lodge
First Tracks Lodge
#2 of 52 in Whistler
5.0 of 5 stars 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horstman House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horstman House

Address: 4653 Blackcomb Way, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Horstman House 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Horstman House is a luxury "boutique" condominium hotel located right on Blackcomb Mountain. This intimate mountain retreat only has 51 suites, but has the same amenities as properties twice the size. Make your Whistler vacation truly special, stay at the Horstman House and treat yourself.Ski-In to complex.Outdoor Hot Tub.Fitness Room.Games Room.Outdoor Pool.Elevators.Gas Fireplace.Full Kitchen.Washer / Dryer.Located on Free Shuttle Route.Free Wireless Internet Front Desk.Free Parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com and Venere so you can book your Horstman House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horstman House Hotel Whistler
Horstman Hotel Whistler

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Horstman House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.