We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mini honeymoon, decent stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Horstman House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Horstman House to your Saves list
Horstman House
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   4653 Blackcomb Way, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 18 Whistler B&B and Inns
Burnaby, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Mini honeymoon, decent stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

To start, I can't say enough about the staff. Super friendly but got you in and out and what you needed. They were so awesome! The place itself was beautiful. Bought a groupin or social living voucher to go, so was pretty cheap. Our room ended up being an accessible suite ( which we didn't need but was cool anyway) it was quite big, the bathroom was amazing, kitchen was clean and the living room rustically decorated but obviously new furniture or super well cared for. Our view was not great, kind of the side of the building and a bit into the forest which was nice. There were loud kids in the room above or beside, maybe both, but didn't really bother us. Nice small pool and hot tub. Little gym.

Had some issues with parking. Even though we paid for it and it was under ground locked parking, there were signs all over saying spots belonged to differenteople who I was told had shares in the suites. It became such a problem that 2 out of 3 days we had to park outside. Plus it was so tight the parking several times we had to either go in the other door of our car and climb over or pull the car out so the other could get in.

Parking aside. It was great. Wonderful trails just outside the door, shuttle to take you into town Etc

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tricia H, Manager at Horstman House, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for posting a review of your stay at The Horstman House. We are very pleased to hear that you had a good experience and that you found the staff to be friendly and awesome during your mini honeymoon. Congrats!

The parking can definitely be a bit tight for those with larger vehicles or if a large vehicle is parked in the next stall. Parking, however, is free and there shouldn't be any charge. We do reserve parking for our owners but leave every other stall as unreserved for our guests to better facilitate parking. As well we have visitor parking outside the gated area which has higher clearance and a few wider stalls if people are having issues inside the underground.

Thank you for staying with The Horstman House and Whistler Premier. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    42
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
40
43
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Langley City, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

I've stayed here several times and have never had a complaint. Amenities are great, it's a little far from the Village but not too bad, still walking distance.

The front desk guy Phil was awesome! When our cab was late picking us up, he called the restaurant to let them know we would be late for our reservation. Its a good thing too because it was packed when we got there.

All around 2 thumbs up!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tricia H, Manager at Horstman House, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Thank you for posting a review of your stay at The Horstman House Lodge. It is great to read that during several visits with us you have never had a complaint! We are happy to hear that Phil was helpful in making sure your reservation was still in order even though the cab was late picking you up.

Thank you for choosing The Horstman House and Whistler Premier for your Whistler accommodation needs. We hope to see you again soon !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquitlam, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Great place in the upper village close to Lost Lake. Away from main village party crowds, but still easily walkable - or free shuttle out front.Front desk very friendly with pool and big hot tub perfect after a day on the slopes.

Room Tip: Back side quitier
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tricia H, Manager at Horstman House, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
We are pleased to hear you had a great getaway while staying with us during your time in Whistler. As you mentioned The Horstman House is a great place for those seeking to be away from all the action of the Whistler village. The free shuttles are definitely convenient and run quite often during those peak times when visitors are seeking to get to and from the ski lifts.

It is also great to hear that you found the front desk staff to be very friendly.

Thank you for choosing The Horstman House and Whistler Premier for your Whistler accommodation needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Very comfortable stay, alpine setting and decor. The rooms are clean, the staff courteous and helpful. Underground locked parking. Nice setting in the trees for the hot tub and pool. Inside there is a little gym.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tricia H, Manager at Horstman House, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at The Horstman House Lodge. We are pleased to hear you found it a comfortable retreat and enjoyed your time with us. The secluded pool and hot tub area is certainly a great feature of the property.

Thank you for choosing The Horstman House and Whistler Premier for your Whistler accommodation needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
collingwood ontario
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Great location, comfortable beds. Pool and hot tub were clean and great for relaxing after a busy day. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful- some of the best customer service we have ever received! The housekeeping could use improvement.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tricia H, Manager at Horstman House, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Thank you for putting up a review of your stay at The Horstman House. It is great to read that you found it be some of the best customer service you've ever received!! The beds are now even more comfortable as we have just recently replaced every bed with high end pillow top mattresses!

We have passed along your concerns regarding housekeeping to our department manager and are sorry you found it not at the level it should be.

We hope you get to come back and try those new beds!

Thank you for choosing The Horstman House and Whistler PRemier for your Whistler accommodation needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Stayed at Horstman House during the Labour Day long weekend and was very impressed. It’s located in the Upper Village, just a little way past the Four Seasons with lots of trails for walking and biking.

We didn’t have any issues with the concierge, as they were there when we arrived and check-in was quick and easy, but if you’re looking for room service, you won’t find it here.

When we arrived to our room, it was like walking into your own apartment, with a full kitchen (fridge, stove, dishwasher), large bathroom with shower and a big tub and nice sized bedroom with King bed looking out to the balcony . It’s great if you plan to eat out, or don’t mind bringing a few staples from home to cook. The kitchen is equipped with all the basics and made it easy to make a quick breakfast and/or lunch before heading out for the day. The night we had planned to go out to eat, we were so exhausted from biking all day, we ended up just ordering pizza. Our room was facing the wooded area in the back and while it was bit dark at times, I appreciated the quiet and serenity much more.

One of the reasons we picked this place, was the free parking (just down the road, it’s $30/night and that can add up fast) although we had constant issues with our key card (just keep sliding!) and the parking spots are pretty tight.

We requested a late check-out and they gave us an extra two hours to leave, which was really nice. There’s a fitness room, outdoor pool, hot tub and BBQ for everyone’s use (until 10PM). A secured bike room out front is great, but if you get in late, you’ll have a bit of a struggle getting your bike in and out (at least in summertime).

Overall, we enjoyed Horstman House and would stay again and would recommend to others looking for somewhere with a lot less hustle and bustle.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Horstman House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horstman House

Address: 4653 Blackcomb Way, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Horstman House 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Horstman House is a luxury "boutique" condominium hotel located right on Blackcomb Mountain. This intimate mountain retreat only has 51 suites, but has the same amenities as properties twice the size. Make your Whistler vacation truly special, stay at the Horstman House and treat yourself.Ski-In to complex.Outdoor Hot Tub.Fitness Room.Games Room.Outdoor Pool.Elevators.Gas Fireplace.Full Kitchen.Washer / Dryer.Located on Free Shuttle Route.Free Wireless Internet Front Desk.Free Parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Horstman House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horstman House Hotel Whistler
Horstman Hotel Whistler

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Horstman House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.