We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Located in the heart of the village” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Blackcomb Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Blackcomb Lodge to your Saves list
Blackcomb Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4220 Gateway Drive, Whistler, British Columbia V0N1B4, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 52 Hotels in Whistler
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Located in the heart of the village”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel along with two of my girlfriends and their boyfriends for two nights. I have to say that the location made our stay most enjoyable. It was located in the heart of the village. A wide selection of restaurants all within walking distance (Araxi is right next door). It was close to the gondolas and rental stores where we got our snowboarding equiptment.

Our room had two floors, first floor had a king size bed, washroom, small kitchen and a pullout double bed. The second floor had a double bed and a closet. I personally think some updating is needed for the rooms. There seem to be a soggy wood smell in the rooms, carpet and furniture seems dated.

Other than the dated rooms, the location of this hotel is perfect.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    115
    71
    41
    25
See reviews for
89
68
20
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

It was a comfortable place with a great location but watch out for the noise at night. It was a party till the morning light and the days in winter start later! The wifi was awful, intermittent connection when you're lucky. So if you need to stay connected for work or family...not an easy thing. Otherwise, it was just an ok stay. Fantastic location, right in the middle of things. Great kitchenette set up if you want to avoid eating out all the time. Expensive room and parking if you bring a car.
Never checked out the pool or fitness facility so can't comment on those.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

The Blackcomb lodge is very conveniently located to the base of both gondolas, restaurants, and shops. The snow base wasn't much while we were there so the accommodations were scrutinized a bit.

The staff was very friendly, but the rooms left more to be desired. I don't think much effort was put in to the clean-up of the rooms. The staff did accommodate basic requests w/out hesitation, though. The beds weren't very good, each guest could feel the springs in their bed. The kitchen and seating area are very small. We had 3 people, and if we had a 4th, cooking, and eating in the living area would've been quite uncomfortable.

The were comments on prior posts indicating the pool and hot tub were in need of an updgrade. I would agree, but at least the hot tub was hot. It was not room temperature, nor cold which prior reviews have indicated. The only draw back was that some guests felt it was ok to enter the hot tub in their briefs.

Overall, it served our purpose, but you definitely get what you pay for. If we were to do this again, we would look to spend the additional money for a better accommodation.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Whistler Blackcomb.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

We chose this lodge because of it's location but were a bit concerned after reading some of the reviews here. However, we were pleasantly surprised by the standard of accommodation. We booked two studio apartments, one for my husband and I the other for our three sons. They had a balcony and were at the front of the building, we were at the back. I'd packed earplugs as another reviewer suggested but didn't need them, even though Whistler was very busy due to it being Martin Luther King Day. We had brand new beds and they were really comfortable! The housekeeping was efficiently executed and the staff of the front desk helpful to our lads, although the young girl wasn't particularly welcoming when we first arrived. The kitchen was well equipped and we were provided with dishwasher tablets, tea towels, tea and coffee. The sauna was large with a window looking out to the poolside. The swimming pool was rather cold for some of the American guests but it was nothing if you're used to swimming in the UK! It was the hottest jacuzzi I'd ever been in - this proved to be a good talking point with other guests. Everyone we spoke to there seemed happy with the lodge, we've certainly stayed in worse chalets in Europe. We all thoroughly enjoyed our skiing trip here.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

I've been very disappointed by the quality of the hotel. The price per night was over 200$. The website claims that the hotel has been completely remodeled a few years ago, but it feels like it's been done in a very cheap way: the bathroom tub and the appliances (fridge, microwave, oven) are the cheap stuff that you find in low end motel or in cheap rental condos. The tub is probably 4 feet long, you can't lay down in it. The heater in the room is so noisy that I couldn't keep it on at night.

The walls are paper thin, you can hear everything going on in the rooms next to you. I stayed at the hotel 5 nights, and I couldn't get a full night of sleep without being woken up by the noise in one of the room next to me.

The clean-up service in the hotel is very minimal. They never cleaned up the coffee machine or the coffee cup, the bed was never made properly, the towel were thrown next to the sink in the bathroom.

On top of the room price, you will have to pay 18$+tax per day to park your car (that's an extra 10% on top of the price of the room). It would be really nice if this was at least advertised on their website

Overall, this hotel wasn't a pleasant stay. To be avoided

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Whistler Blackcomb.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is perfectly situated in the center of the village, surrounded by restaurants and nightlife. The staff are friendly, the rooms are large and clean. The pool and sauna are perfect after a day of skiing. The only issue we had was with the wifi, the connection was horrible and we could only get temporary service. Overall, well worth the money!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Blackcomb Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackcomb Lodge

Address: 4220 Gateway Drive, Whistler, British Columbia V0N1B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 52 Hotels in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Blackcomb Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
# We are pleased to announce that The Blackcomb Lodge & Spa has completed an extensive $5 Million Dollar Renovation and is now open and waiting for you to arrive and experience the comfort. # Blackcomb Lodge could not be closer to the fun and excitement of Whistler Village. Restaurants, shops, cinemas and art galleries surround the hotel. The Village Gondola is a brief 2 minute walk through the pedestrian village. Each Studio or Studio Loft unit provides full kitchen facilities and a variety of bed configurations for both families and couples. Relax in Whistler's only indoor pool, hot tub and sauna. Araxi Restaurant offers superb dining and an award-winning wine selection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Blackcomb Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackcomb Hotel Whistler

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blackcomb Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.