We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice location but noisy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Blackcomb Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Blackcomb Lodge to your Saves list
Blackcomb Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4220 Gateway Drive, Whistler, British Columbia V0N1B4, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 52 Hotels in Whistler
Istanbul, Turkey
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
293 helpful votes 293 helpful votes
“nice location but noisy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Hotel is located on one of the plazas on the pedestrian way of the village. Conveniently close to the gondolas. However I was surprised that how come it was allowed such a huge noise after midnight caused mostly by young crowd after they had a bit over the alcohol level obviously. They yell, scream all over the pedestrian streets. Wait a silent moment to fell asleep.
Room was outdated, carpets are dirty.
Room service was fairly poor. They just grabbed the used towels but forgot (!) to replace them a couple of time. They did not leave hand soap, coffee, etc. That is why we called the front desk several times. Yes, they supplied all immediately but it was annoying to call them and remind them all the time.
Somehow ski storage room guys didn’t seem happy what they were doing.
However skiing on Whistler-Blackcomb Mountains did cover all these discrepancies.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    104
    68
    39
    23
See reviews for
81
64
19
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Great service from the staff and the location couldn't be better for that price. Easy access to everything, shops and ski-lifts. Very helpfull with skirental and ski storage.

Will look it up for our next trip to Whislter.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Whistler Blackcomb.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

They put us in the worse room of the hotel with no balcony on the 1st floor, the room was shaped like a pizza slice. The location was great as it was in the center of all the activity but the noise level at night from the clubs and bars at night made it difficult to get good sleep after an exhausting day on the slope. The internet service was crappy as you had to keep disconnecting and connecting every 5 minutes to get on the web. There is no gym but the hot tub and pool were nice. The house cleaning was dismal as they do not clean, only replace towels, make beds and empty garbage. They didn't replace the coffee, cups and glasses every day. I had to keep going down to the front desk to get coffee pouches. I would not recommend this hotel because of the noise level, poor internet connectivity, no gym and poor house cleaning.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Whistler Blackcomb.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I couldn't fault the hotel facilities, or staff. The hotel was 2 minutes from the lifts and very conveniently located for everything else. To be fair, when we asked for a quieter room we did get a move to one which was good of them although we were disturbed to a lesser degree in that room by the people upstairs seemingly walking around in ski boots around 6am! However the experience prior to this in room 138 was one of noise keeping us awake until around 4.30am even with the window shut. The main culprit was "The Savage Beagle" club and it's patrons. The noise got worse progressively during the week towards the weekend. The patrons seemed to enjoy shouting loudly as they left the club, one night there seemed to be a very loud drinking game going on. The bass notes from the music were impossible to drown out even with ear plugs. The hotel has a notice on the back of the room doors concerning a bye law which prohibits loud noise in the hotel after 10pm. It's a pity this cannot be applied to outside the hotel. I'd have liked to give this hotel a better rating but I can't given the noise we experienced, especially as we missed out on skiing by having to catch up on sleep in the quieter daytime.

Room Tip: Insist on a quieter room when you book. If this can't be guarenteed, don't book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquitlam, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I stayed in the Blackcomb Lodge for 3 days and I had a very pleasant experience. The staff is great, they are very quick for service and explains everything before you go into your room. The hotel is not that big so it is nice and quiet most of the time. It is close to the village stroll so expect some noise coming out of the local bars close by after hours. The location is excellent by far from other hotels I have been at in Whistler Village. It is located at the Village center, where there is a local market close by, drug store, liquor store and a places to sit and eat. It wasn't even 2 mins walking distance from my room from the 2nd floor to the market or liquor store. Speaking of room, the rooms are very roomy. Being an older hotel, the rooms where built to be very large and spacious. The room included a kitchenette; stove burner, oven, fridge, sink and even a dish washing machine. Can you believe there is a dish washing machine in a hotel room? Not that I would use it but damn, you don't see those in hotel room now a days. I stayed in a two twin bed room as I was with friends. It also included a pull out couch. I recommend getting room 101, the corner room makes it very large and you are facing away from all the noise from the village center. Other facilities also included; indoor pool and hot tub. They weren't the best pool and hot tub but at least you get one. The hotel is also beside the Araxi Restaurant, Gordon Ramsey's restaurant, but being tight on budget, I just bought my meals across the village center in the market. Overall my experience with the Blackcomb Lodge is very good. The price is not too bad, make sure you get it as a packaged deal so the price will be cheaper when you go. I highly recommend you stay in this hotel if you are looking to do a vacation up at Whistler for a few days.

Room Tip: Choose room 101, the corner room is the biggest of all the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at the Blackcomb Lodge for a few days over Easter this year. We generally stay at the Whistler Pinnacle, which we always enjoy, but this time we had a friend with us, so needed a studio suite, which the Blackcomb had.

The hotel is in a great location, right on the main square in "downtown" Whistler. The walk to the base of the mountain is less than five minutes. The room itself (King bed, bathroom and kitchenette on the main floor with a overlooking loft with two single beds above) was perfect for our needs. The kitchen area was pretty tiny, and wouldn't be suitable for preparing actual meals, but for snacks and so on it was fine. There is no dining area, other than the coffee table.

Others have mentioned the noise at this location. In our case, our room faced away from the town centre, so this was not an issue for us. If we return, we would specifically request this same "view".

Our only real complaint was that the elevator broke while we were there. Because the loft rooms are really two stories, even walking up to the second floor was a bit of a hike with gear. I was nursing some torn ligaments in my ankle, which didn't help. I couldn't help but wonder why the elevator wasn't repaired over the three days it was busted, although it was Easter weekend. Regardless, it should have been repaired as this is the only elevator.

Ski storage was by way of racks in the foyer, which were then rolled into a retail area and locked up at night.

We would likely return, especially if we needed a second sleeping area, and assuming there was a rear-facing room. Overall, it was good value. We didn't use the pool or hot tub... They are located in the basement, adjacent to the parking area. We did like the proximity to the lifts. The Pinnacle is at least double the distance which isn't insignificant when hoofing it in ski-boots.

Cheers!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave_Mitchell_WP, Front Office Manager at Blackcomb Lodge, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for posting a review of your stay at The Blackcomb Lodge over Easter weekend. We are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable weekend and liked the convenient location of the lodge.

We must apologize for situation involving the elevator. We were fully booked last weekend and as such the timing couldn't have been much worse. We tried to have it repaired first thing but unfortunately the malfunction was that a mechanism in the door broke for which replacement parts were not available. Due to that we had to have a metal fabricator do some welding but with it being Easter weekend the elevator technicians were unable to get the work done.

We understand just how much of an inconvenience this is for our guests. We had extra staffing brought in to assist guests with their belongings at check out and tried to help as many people as possible Saturday evening when we had several guests arriving

If you do plan to return to The Blackcomb Lodge please contact us and ask for your returning guest discount and mention the issues involving the elevator this past weekend and we would definitely be able to do a discounted stay. As well we would recommend asking for the 'quiet side' at time of booking as this will help ensure we have you located on the side with your preferred 'view'.

Thank you for choosing The Blackcomb Lodge and Whistler Premier Resorts for your visit to Whistler. We hope to see you again soon!


.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blackcomb Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackcomb Lodge

Address: 4220 Gateway Drive, Whistler, British Columbia V0N1B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 52 Hotels in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Blackcomb Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
# We are pleased to announce that The Blackcomb Lodge & Spa has completed an extensive $5 Million Dollar Renovation and is now open and waiting for you to arrive and experience the comfort. # Blackcomb Lodge could not be closer to the fun and excitement of Whistler Village. Restaurants, shops, cinemas and art galleries surround the hotel. The Village Gondola is a brief 2 minute walk through the pedestrian village. Each Studio or Studio Loft unit provides full kitchen facilities and a variety of bed configurations for both families and couples. Relax in Whistler's only indoor pool, hot tub and sauna. Araxi Restaurant offers superb dining and an award-winning wine selection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Blackcomb Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackcomb Hotel Whistler

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blackcomb Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.