We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Double edged sword on location” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Blackcomb Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Blackcomb Lodge to your Saves list
Blackcomb Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4220 Gateway Drive, Whistler, British Columbia V0N1B4, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 52 Hotels in Whistler
A TripAdvisor Member
“Double edged sword on location”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

The pros: Awesome proximity to the village (you're in it). Clean rooms. Nice value. Good staff.

The cons: Super loud outside the window even with it closed (loud until 2AM). We were on the side facing the Amsterdam Pub. Swimming pool and hot tubs are INDOORS, not OUTDOORS. An indoor hot tub is worthless.

The conclusion: Good value and location, but if a quiet night's sleep and an outdoor hot tub are important to you, stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Whistler Blackcomb.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave_Mitchell_WP, Front Office Manager at Blackcomb Lodge, responded to this review, December 3, 2011
We want to thank you for taking the time to post this review. We are glad to hear that your experiences with our staff were good.

As you mentioned the hotel is right in the middle of the main area of the Whistler village. As such there is some outside noise. We do like to accommodate guests who are seeking a quieter room by putting them in the non village side of the property. Guests are able to request the quiet or village side prior to arrival and we will assign them the side they would prefer.

It is unfortunate that you did not enjoy our interior hot tub, pool and sauna area but many of our guests do. Whistler Premier does have many properties that have an outside pool and hot tub if that is amenity that guests are after.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    115
    71
    41
    25
See reviews for
89
68
20
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, Washington, USA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

Room was fine, pool was cool, hot tub was marginally warm, the sauna was fine. Ask for a room not near the ice machine and elevators. Location was excellent close to all activities and the staff was warm and friendly.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Whistler Blackcomb.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave_Mitchell_WP, Front Office Manager at Blackcomb Lodge, responded to this review, November 20, 2011
We want to thank you for taking the time to post this review. We are glad to hear of your positive experience with our staff during your recent stay at The Blackcomb Lodge.

Unfortunately on the Cornucopia weekend we were having issues with our hot tub which resulted in our needing to drain, refill and reheat the hot tub. It wasn't opened until the temperature was within the safe operating range but would have been a bit below the 103 degrees we normally keep it at.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

Myself and 2 friends stayed in a studio loft which was very impressive. It was spacious with an enormous bed and 2 single beds upstairs in the loft. The bathroom was small but well equipped and clean. The studio had a very equipped kitchen with everything you could possibly need including a dishwasher.

The staff were friendly and gave us a very good rate as we just walked in on the day. The location is superb, right on the square opposite a supermarket and liquor store, surrounded by bars and resataurants (notably Araxi from Hells Kitchen which is directly next door!) and just a 5 minute walk from the ski lifts. I would definately stay again during the ski season & can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave_Mitchell_WP, Front Office Manager at Blackcomb Lodge, responded to this review, November 20, 2011
We want to thank you for taking the time to post this review. We are glad to hear you had a great time while staying with us at The Blackcomb Lodge and adding your excellent photos was a nice touch.

As you mentioned the kitchens in our studio and studio loft units are fully equipped including a full size dishwasher. We are one of the few properties to offer such in the main Whistler Village area. As you experienced the location of the lodge is quite conveniently located on the Village Square.

We are especially glad to hear that you would stay with us again and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

Overall stay was good not until the last day. Reasons? As follows:

1. Garbage were not taken.

2. New towels were supplied but used towels were not taken.

3. Beddings were not made.

4. No coffee supplied on the last day.

5. And on our last night we also had to park outside the hotel because there were no more spot available on the underground parking of the hotel. When we checked-in, the front desk lady only told us about the free parking which is 5 minute walk from the hotel and the underground parking. We opted for the underground parking because it is convenient since we have three kids with us. When we got back on our last night, there were no spot available and the front desk guy told us to go the overflow parking which we do not know. We thought we have guaranteed spot on the underground parking of the hotel that is why we opted to pay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave_Mitchell_WP, Front Office Manager at Blackcomb Lodge, responded to this review, October 14, 2011
We are pleased to hear that you had a good time while staying at The Blackcomb Lodge. unfortunately it sounds like your room was missed on the final day by our housekeeping staff for the daily servicing. We have addressed this with our housekeeping manager to determine what went wrong and how we can avoid this in the future.

On busy weekends we do on occasion get full in our underground parking. Sometimes there will be more than one vehicle per unit and we run out of room. We have "overflow" parking nearby for which we should be giving directions on how to get there and back to the hotel. If this wasn't done then we apologize for any confusion that may have occurred.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wenatchee, Washington
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We have been to Whistler several times and we always stay at the Blackcomb Lodge. The location is superb being it is right smack in the center of the village square and all it's goings ons. We try to secure a room with a balcony overlooking the village square so we can sit with our own cocktails and watch all the silly people! It does get a bit noisy at night on this side of the resort but it is worth it for us. I just turn on the AC unit and a portable fan to drown out the noise from late night partiers. That is of course we aren't one of those partiers!
Housekeeping does a fine job and they also respect the Do Not Disturb sign if you have posted it on your door. If they see you in the hall they will ask if there is anything you might need and always with a smile! Front desk has been consistently pleasant even when I bug them over the phone repeatedly before we even arrive! Several of the studio suites have full kitchens and king size beds. Some are Loft suites which can house quite a few folks. The furnishings are comfortable and modern and with a lodge type feel.
We strongly reccomend this resort to those who are ready to have a good time and enjoy the sights!

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room overlooking the Village Square if you want to enjoy the people-watching and s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave_Mitchell_WP, Front Office Manager at Blackcomb Lodge, responded to this review, October 14, 2011
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay at The Blackcomb Lodge. We appreciate and want to thank you taking the time to post this review. Your tip to request a village side room to take advantage of some great people watching is spot on. I would also like to point out that if a guest is looking for a quieter room they can request to be on the driveway side of the building and this will cut down on the noise a considerable amount.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

After reading some of the reviews here I was concerned about staying at the Blackcomb Lodge because I like clean and I like quiet. After a four day stay, I have no complaints in either respect. We really enjoyed our stay. We didn't have much contact with the staff but those we met were polite and helpful. The lobby is small but well kept and has a ski lodge ambiance totally appropriate to the location.

We had already been assigned a quiet side room when we checked in and it was as described. Only once did I hear the people across the hall come home after I went to bed and that was just a bit of momentary conversation and a closing door. No noise from outside at all despite being surrounded by the village.

The studio we booked was clean and well equipped (No bread knife though - seems like an odd omission). Decent cabinetry and lots of it. It has a dishwasher which you don't always get, in my experience. Not too much counter space if you want to do a lot of cooking but for breakfasts and lunches it was great.

Room 117 has two single beds, in case anyone checks in there. I was annoyed at first but the beds pushed together easily. The housekeeping came every day and did the towels and garbage and cleaned the bathroom. They "made" the bed by throwing the two single quilts over the joined beds in a rather lumpy manner but at least they did it.

The location can't be beat and it is the real star of this place. You are right in the village surrounded by shops, restaurants, pubs, grocery and liquor stores and the iconic Moguls coffee shop is next door. Araxi Restaurant is one of the best in Whistler and is outside the front door. Ingrid's cafe and deli is just around the corner.

What more could you want? Oh, maybe an IPod dock would be nice. Perhaps when they replace the clock radios they could get one with a dock.

Room Tip: Room 117 has twin beds, is on the quiet side. View of mountains & hotel/yoga studio. No IPod do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave_Mitchell_WP, Front Office Manager at Blackcomb Lodge, responded to this review, October 14, 2011
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Blackcomb Lodge and that you would choose to stay with us again. We appreciate and want to thank you for taking the time to post this review. As we are right in the middle of the busiest area of the Whistler village there is definitely exposure to the noise that comes along with it. As was the case with your stay we always try to put guests seeking quiet on the non village stroll side of the building and this reduces the noise considerably. Guests can always contact us prior to arrival and this will help insure they get the side they prefer.

All of our 'Studio' suites come with beds that can be configured as either a king size or two single twin beds. Guests can request how they would like their beds configured prior to arrival or as was the case with your stay we can make the change after check-in if needed.

Our company has been striving to improve in all areas and our housekeeping department is no exception. I am glad we were able to meet your needs with regards to the cleanliness of your room as this is of utmost importance to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trail
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

I stayed here with my 3 kids and my parents while visiting family in Whistler. The lodge is in a terrific location...directly in the center of the village. One step outside the door and you have so many shops and restaurants to choose from. It was great too because most regular hotels only allow for a family of 4. Our room, the suite with loft, slept all 6 of us comfortably, with room to move around.
Here are the positives:

Kitchenette-fully stocked with dishes, pots, pans, glassware, fridge, stove, microwave and dishwasher!! It was great to have the kitchen as 4 nights of eating out gets expensive. The grocery store is directly across the street and we ate in for breakfasts and one dinner too.

Space-room for 3 adults and 3 kids comfortably. King size bed, two twins in the loft and a double size pull out couch. Not a lot of room to eat though...some of us had to sit on the bed to eat. But, we did find two folding chairs in the closet the day we were leaving. Silly us for not checking.

Location-see above. You couldn't ask for a more convenient place.

Pool and hot tub- The Blackcomb lodge says it is the only hotel in Whistler with an indoor pool. My kids loved it even though it seemed kind of small to me. My dad complained there was too much chlorine though. Nice to have the pool on the rainy day though!

Here are a few negatives:

Housekeeping- This is my one major complaint. The room was never properly cleaned while we stayed there. My son tracked some sand in on the first day there and it was there 4 days later when we left; moving the coffee table to set up the sofa bed revealed that housekeeping had not swept under it...for a long time; the towels we left in the tub on the first day to be exchanged were left until the following day...we had to track down the maid for clean ones; when we arrived in to the hotel and checked in, the dishwasher was full from the previous guests(they were clean, just not put away); air conditioner didn't work right either. The air it blew was warm and the top of the unit got hot to the touch(hot enough to burn your hand). We just kept the window open.

Noise- Being right in the center of the village, there is quite a bit of noise from the street for most of the night(until about 3am). Our room was directly above Araxi( the restaurant) and we heard people talking and laughing all night. But, that is part of the experience of being in Whistler...that is the lifestyle! Its not so loud that you can't sleep, and besides, if you are doing Whistler right, you should be so exhausted after a day of hiking, biking or skiiing that noise shouldn't be a problem. :) The noise did not keep any of us awake, including my boys.

This was a good hotel/lodge and I will definitely be back again. The staff were friendly and helpful and like I said, the location cannot be beat!!!

Room Tip: If you don't want the village noise at night, ask for a room that faces away from the village st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blackcomb Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackcomb Lodge

Address: 4220 Gateway Drive, Whistler, British Columbia V0N1B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 52 Hotels in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Blackcomb Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
# We are pleased to announce that The Blackcomb Lodge & Spa has completed an extensive $5 Million Dollar Renovation and is now open and waiting for you to arrive and experience the comfort. # Blackcomb Lodge could not be closer to the fun and excitement of Whistler Village. Restaurants, shops, cinemas and art galleries surround the hotel. The Village Gondola is a brief 2 minute walk through the pedestrian village. Each Studio or Studio Loft unit provides full kitchen facilities and a variety of bed configurations for both families and couples. Relax in Whistler's only indoor pool, hot tub and sauna. Araxi Restaurant offers superb dining and an award-winning wine selection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Blackcomb Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackcomb Hotel Whistler

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blackcomb Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.