We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great mountain biking for a newbie” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Whistler Blackcomb

Whistler Blackcomb
4545 Blackcomb Way, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
604 904 8134
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 36 attractions in Whistler
Type: Ski/ Snowboard Areas, Resort Communities, Mountains, Golf Courses, Hiking Trails, Cross-country Ski Areas
Activities: Skiing, Viewing wildlife, Snowboarding, Heli-skiing, Mountain biking, Hiking, Cross-country skiing, Snow-shoeing, Mountaineering, Snowmobiling
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Whistler Blackcomb is consistently ranked the No. 1 ski resort in North America with over 8,171 acres of terrain. As a true four season resort, Whistler Blackcomb offers skiing and snowboarding in the winter and downhill mountain biking and alpine hiking in the summer. Guests can even enjoy summer skiing/riding on the Horstman Glacier in June and July. At Whistler Blackcomb, there is something for everyone all year long.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Bartonville, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great mountain biking for a newbie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We had a most awesome teacher and guide, Nick from Wales, who showed us the ropes and taught us the basics of downhill mountain biking. The mountain itself was unbelievably gorgeous, with low clouds just below the peaks, the peak to peak gondola was epic, and we even saw a black bear munching on the grass of one of the slopes. The mountain biking was exhilarating, even for beginners, and there was so much more for intermediate to advanced riders. Even if you're a girl, like most of us in our party, and complete beginners, go ahead and go for it! Epic!!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    898
    173
    37
    14
    22
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“A return visit 18 years later”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

On our first visit to Whistler in Nov 1995 we saw a small quaint ski village. Since then the Olympics have been staged there and the 'village' has grown a lot. Still a bit of quaintness though. This time we were there in June and saw mountain bikes instead of skis. It's a beautiful area. Wouldn't recommend unless the weather is good.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Breathtaking views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Beautiful views whether you are going up or down. You need not be a skier to enjoy a visit. Make sure your camera has space for a lot of pictures.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Whistler in the Summer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

If travelling with hardy downhill bikers you don't have to sped the entire time in the bike park yourself. I did various activities, white water rafting & zip line both not for the faint hearted but, the thrill is just amazing and the safety is second to none. Book in the village they'll explain all. Also did some tame horse riding, the country is just so beautifull. We usually travel in the winter for skiing so it made a lovely change to do the summer vacation. We're an active family so the sun & beach for 2x weeks doesn't do it but, Whistler in the summer - amazing. Be sensible, check your travel insurance before you travel. Canada is a beautiful country with the most friendly of people. We have a timeshare so stayed at the Woodrun, gorgeous - Enjoy.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Amazing snow and mountain”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The best snow of my life. If it is a powder day, be sure to get up really early and be there at least 30 minutes before the opening to enjoy the fresh tracks.
Park is awesome, custermer care is great and the moutains are tremendous. It's the best ski resort i've ever skied in my life.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whistler Blackcomb also viewed

Whistler, British Columbia
Whistler, British Columbia
 
Whistler, British Columbia
Whistler, British Columbia
 

Been to Whistler Blackcomb? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whistler Blackcomb, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Whistler Blackcomb to your Saves list