We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, lumpy pillows!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aava Whistler Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Aava Whistler Hotel to your Saves list
Aava Whistler Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4005 Whistler Way | (On the edge of the village action), Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 52 Hotels in Whistler
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, lumpy pillows!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We stayed here for just the one night. Location of the hotel is great. It's off the main strip, so away from the noise, but only a minute's stroll away. Reception was great - a very friendly welcome and a free room upgrade! Parking was $19 for the night, which is about average for Whistler.
We stayed in a deluxe king room. Not huge, but at the end of the day, it was somewhere to lay our heads for the night. The room was clean, and came equipped with a fridge (which we ended up turning off as it was very noisy during the night) and an aircon unit (which again, was noisy). The big and only major negative for me during our stay was the fact that the pillows were SO uncomfortable. The bed was very soft and the pillows were extremely lumpy. I mean REALLY lumpy. It was like they were stuffed with golf balls! After several hours of unsuccessfully trying to sleep on lumpy pillows, I called down to the front desk to see if they had any different pillows. Someone promptly arrived with 2 more pillows for me, but these were still lumpy.
The bathroom was small but adequate.
I would stay here again, but definitely take my own pillow next time!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris M, Front Office Manager at Aava Whistler Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Northernstar30,

Thanks for the nice review.

We also take on board your thoughts regarding the pillows and will look into this, we use hypo-allergenic fabrics which can sometimes be less smooth than feather products - but we will strive to make them more comfortable.

See you again soon!

Kindest regards,

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

935 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    393
    122
    31
    10
See reviews for
234
374
53
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Limeira, SP
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Very confortable room and great beds, amazing radio inside of the room (You can use your Ipod and it's so cool!).They also offer a hot tub, tea, coffe in the room and fridge. Great localization too and the employers treat you very well, they are very nice. Just loved everything!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Retford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We were only here for two nights, but it has a great atmosphere and my husband a mad biker is already planning his next trip! The rooms are modern and have all you need. An easy and quick walk into the centre, and very helpful staff. Good secure parking, however a little expensive to what we had paid elsewhere. Great facilities for those mountain biking. The walls are a little thin, and we were woken a few times by people coming in early hours, but this didn't bother us much.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris M, Front Office Manager at Aava Whistler Hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Hi Hwalton,

Thanks for taking the time to post this great review!

We are the bike friendliest hotel in town and love having mad bikers like you guys around.

Please let me know next time you are in town, we look forward to seeing you again.

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

There's nothing terribly special about this hotel. It's a bit modern, as it was renovated three years ago, and it's clean. It comes with free wi-fi. The location is also a major plus, as it's close to the ski lift. The staff was nice and helpful. Even the housekeeping was super friendly!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris M, Front Office Manager at Aava Whistler Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear goonghaeng,

Thank you for your feedback regarding our location and staff, I am glad that you found your stay enjoyable!

We look forward to seeing you here again, and showing how special the aava really is!

Kindest regards,

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twyford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I selected this hotel online, was very pleased with our experience. Staff is friendly and helpful, rooms spacious and modern, great views (especially the sun coming up over the mountains) and a very quick walk to Whistler Village. Very much recommend this, especially to first-timers to Whistler.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell River, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I stay at the Aava Whistler four or five times a year on mt biking trips and every visit is the same - excellent service, friendly staff, clean rooms, and an incredibly efficient and safe bike storage system. There is also a bike wash station with tools, and the hot tub and sauna are great after a long day of biking. Everything you need for a weekend of dirt-based fun!
Tanya, Trek Dirt Series Coach

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris M, Front Office Manager at Aava Whistler Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Tanya A,

Thanks for the great review!

We had fun looking after the bikes all weekend - and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards,

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

Been mountain biking in whislter lots. This place has perfect location. Great rooms. The staff is down to earth and very helpful. I love how they are set up for mountain bikers. Secured lock up. Bike wash. Work station. I will definitely be staying here from now on!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aava Whistler Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aava Whistler Hotel

Address: 4005 Whistler Way | (On the edge of the village action), Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Whistler
#15 Family Hotel in Whistler
#16 Romantic Hotel in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aava Whistler Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A snowballs throw from the bustling village centre, and a few more footsteps to the Ski lifts, our fun and sociable team welcome our guests with stylish design, modern features, and comfortable and unique amenities.From your moment of arrival in our open and contemporary lobby, you will enjoy details and amenities unique to most village accommodations. From in-room technologies, HDTV channels, complimentary wireless and high speed internet, and iPod docking stations, to our full fitness room, over-size hot tub and year-round outdoor pool, Aava will pamper you with comfort, style, and friendly service.If traveling on business, our meeting spaces, and Banquets and Catering team will ensure the details of your meeting or function are unique and flawless.Come see for yourself - and join us at Aava - A modern mountain escape on the edge of the action in beautiful Whistler Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Aava Whistler Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coast Hotel Whistler
Whistler Coast Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aava Whistler Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.