We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aava Whistler Hotel

Save Saved
You added Aava Whistler Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aava Whistler Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4005 Whistler Way | (On the edge of the village action), Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Cruiser Bike Use!
Ranked #15 of 52 hotels in Whistler
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

There's nothing terribly special about this hotel. It's a bit modern, as it was renovated three years ago, and it's clean. It comes with free wi-fi. The location is also a major plus, as it's close to the ski lift. The staff was nice and helpful. Even the housekeeping was super friendly!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris M, Front Office Manager at Aava Whistler Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear goonghaeng,

Thank you for your feedback regarding our location and staff, I am glad that you found your stay enjoyable!

We look forward to seeing you here again, and showing how special the aava really is!

Kindest regards,

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

911 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    374
    388
    112
    28
    9
See reviews for
230
364
50
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Twyford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I selected this hotel online, was very pleased with our experience. Staff is friendly and helpful, rooms spacious and modern, great views (especially the sun coming up over the mountains) and a very quick walk to Whistler Village. Very much recommend this, especially to first-timers to Whistler.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell River, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I stay at the Aava Whistler four or five times a year on mt biking trips and every visit is the same - excellent service, friendly staff, clean rooms, and an incredibly efficient and safe bike storage system. There is also a bike wash station with tools, and the hot tub and sauna are great after a long day of biking. Everything you need for a weekend of dirt-based fun!
Tanya, Trek Dirt Series Coach

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris M, Front Office Manager at Aava Whistler Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Tanya A,

Thanks for the great review!

We had fun looking after the bikes all weekend - and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards,

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

Been mountain biking in whislter lots. This place has perfect location. Great rooms. The staff is down to earth and very helpful. I love how they are set up for mountain bikers. Secured lock up. Bike wash. Work station. I will definitely be staying here from now on!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
langley
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

My husband and I Checked into this wonderful clean room right across from Whistler village.
Everything from early check in to the checkout at the the end of our stay was great. Loved the soaker bathtub and the very comfortable bed. We would stay here again such a friendly and comfortable atmosphere.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has many of the amenities of much more expensive lodges for much less money. Great location close to main square. Restaurant in tge grounds has great breakfasts and comfort food. Friendly staff. Great for ski vacation.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Aava is in a good location in Whistler - across from the main plaza area with restaurants, shops and a supermarket, and 5 min walk to the lifts - BUT not on the main walkways so it's much more quiet than accomodations located on them. It's kind of like a less expensive W Hotel and has some stylish touches in the public spaces and rooms. Everything is kept neat and tidy and the staff is uniformly friendly. The rooms are not large so I'd suggesting upgrading yourself to a corner queen/king room with a sleeper sofa which offers extra windows and space for a little more $. You get a minifridge, but not a microwave, which would be handy as there's no real lobby area/bar/restaurant in the hotel. If you cross the street at the hotel entrance there's a White Spot restaurant that can provide room service for lunch and dinner and has pretty good food. Of course, being in Whistler means you're a 5 min walk from dozens of eateries at all budget levels. There's a pleasant outdoor pool/jacuzzi area with mountain views and a decent gym facility, but you can't bring drinks/snacks to them which is a let down seeing as there's no bar for apres ski. The hotel could use some design help in the lighting department - the bathrooms are full of harsh energy saving bulbs while the room is underlit with too few lamps and low wattage bulbs - at the very least they should reverse this so you look better in the bath and you can read in bed/chair! Easily I'd stay here again and hope they only continue to improve the overall look of the place.

Room Tip: By far the best rooms are the executive suites with fireplaces and kitchenettes if you can spring fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris M, Front Office Manager at Aava Whistler Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear papi6022

Thank you for your feedback on Tripadvisor, I am glad that you enjoyed your winter stay with us.

Our pool and hot tub area is a fun spot, we do allow drinks in this area, we just ensure that glass in not allowed for the obvious safety reasons.

Thanks for your comments regarding the lighting, we are always hoping to improve the design of the property and will take that on board for future projects.

Another thing to mention is that The White Spot has now closed, a new project is experimenting with a menu and will be ready to go for the Summer season.

We look forward to seeing you again next Winter!

Kind regards,

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aava Whistler Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aava Whistler Hotel

Address: 4005 Whistler Way | (On the edge of the village action), Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Whistler
#15 Family Hotel in Whistler
#16 Romantic Hotel in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aava Whistler Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A snowballs throw from the bustling village centre, and a few more footsteps to the Ski lifts, our fun and sociable team welcome our guests with stylish design, modern features, and comfortable and unique amenities.From your moment of arrival in our open and contemporary lobby, you will enjoy details and amenities unique to most village accommodations. From in-room technologies, HDTV channels, complimentary wireless and high speed internet, and iPod docking stations, to our full fitness room, over-size hot tub and year-round outdoor pool, Aava will pamper you with comfort, style, and friendly service.If traveling on business, our meeting spaces, and Banquets and Catering team will ensure the details of your meeting or function are unique and flawless.Come see for yourself - and join us at Aava - A modern mountain escape on the edge of the action in beautiful Whistler Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookIt.com, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Aava Whistler Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coast Hotel Whistler
Whistler Coast Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aava Whistler Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.