We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aava - affordable style in Whistler” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aava Whistler Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Aava Whistler Hotel to your Saves list
Aava Whistler Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4005 Whistler Way | (On the edge of the village action), Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 52 Hotels in Whistler
new york city
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Aava - affordable style in Whistler”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Aava is in a good location in Whistler - across from the main plaza area with restaurants, shops and a supermarket, and 5 min walk to the lifts - BUT not on the main walkways so it's much more quiet than accomodations located on them. It's kind of like a less expensive W Hotel and has some stylish touches in the public spaces and rooms. Everything is kept neat and tidy and the staff is uniformly friendly. The rooms are not large so I'd suggesting upgrading yourself to a corner queen/king room with a sleeper sofa which offers extra windows and space for a little more $. You get a minifridge, but not a microwave, which would be handy as there's no real lobby area/bar/restaurant in the hotel. If you cross the street at the hotel entrance there's a White Spot restaurant that can provide room service for lunch and dinner and has pretty good food. Of course, being in Whistler means you're a 5 min walk from dozens of eateries at all budget levels. There's a pleasant outdoor pool/jacuzzi area with mountain views and a decent gym facility, but you can't bring drinks/snacks to them which is a let down seeing as there's no bar for apres ski. The hotel could use some design help in the lighting department - the bathrooms are full of harsh energy saving bulbs while the room is underlit with too few lamps and low wattage bulbs - at the very least they should reverse this so you look better in the bath and you can read in bed/chair! Easily I'd stay here again and hope they only continue to improve the overall look of the place.

Room Tip: By far the best rooms are the executive suites with fireplaces and kitchenettes if you can spring fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris M, Front Office Manager at Aava Whistler Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear papi6022

Thank you for your feedback on Tripadvisor, I am glad that you enjoyed your winter stay with us.

Our pool and hot tub area is a fun spot, we do allow drinks in this area, we just ensure that glass in not allowed for the obvious safety reasons.

Thanks for your comments regarding the lighting, we are always hoping to improve the design of the property and will take that on board for future projects.

Another thing to mention is that The White Spot has now closed, a new project is experimenting with a menu and will be ready to go for the Summer season.

We look forward to seeing you again next Winter!

Kind regards,

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

969 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    409
    127
    32
    12
See reviews for
238
395
56
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Aava is a fantastic place to stay in Whistler. I like it because you are not right in the village, but only a 2 minute walk into the village. It is close to everything. The front desk staff are quick and efficient and always eager to help plan your stay any way they can. The housekeeping staff can't do enough for you. The rooms are spacious, clean and well appointed. Thanks again Aava Whistler, for a quiet, relaxing, affordable vacation stay.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the golf course offer beautiful views of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver, BC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

There's a good reason why all the main events that come to Whistler use Aava as there headquarters. First class friendly staff, a clean and well run hotel and very convienient. Management here is amongst the best I have experienced!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris M, Front Office Manager at Aava Whistler Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Dvanunen,

Thank you for the great review!!

We always enjoy being the hub for big Whistler events and also enjoy having you here every time.

We hope to see you guys here soon!

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

The hotel is clean and the service is phenomenal. I have stayed there a couple of times and this hotel seems to have a calming effect on myself and family. We let go and let the service of the Aava staff take care of everything. They gave us great deals for the Scandinave Spa and Ziptrek as well. The staff know there stuff and make it easy for you. The hotel condition is great and clean.

Room Tip: The West wing is away from the highway, which helps with the noise. There isn't much noise from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris M, Front Office Manager at Aava Whistler Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Nacher M,

Thanks for your review, it was great to have you and your family with us again last weekend!

We hope to see you all back here one day soon!

Kind regards,

Chris,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I have probably stayed in at least a couple dozen different hotels in Whistler over the years. This is one of the nicer and cleaner ones in its class. Its close to the Heart of the Village without being in the noisy main street (Mind you, a few of the party-going skiers had a few beers and you could hear them in the hallways and at the pool, but that was not an issue into the late evenings). We had a view of the driving range and the mountains, so the mornings were great.

If you are a light sleeper or you tend to sleep in, you may hear house-keeping around 9am (Walls are a bit thin, but once again not an issue with me). The staff were friendly and pretty relaxed, if you are looking for valet parking, concierge or restaurant, this may not be for you, either stay at the Weston or Four Seasons for quite a few buck more.

There is a simple gym, outdoor hot tub and small pool (I didn't have time to use these amenities, but they seemed fine). The White Spot across the street closed down and a sign stated that a new restaurant was to open May 10, 2013. We found the Gone Village Eatery a 3 minute walk away from the hotel. Its open at 6:30am for breakfast!

Overall a very nice stay, will stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris M, Front Office Manager at Aava Whistler Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear NomadOU812,

Thanks for your feedback on Tripadvisor, we also like to think of ourselves as a 'nice gem in Whistler'. We hope to see you back here one day soon.

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We had a great time, whenever you came through the door, the people at the desk would greet you, they were informative, helpful and friendly.
The location was amazing, across the road and up the stroll and you were in the village, everything in walking distance, but away from the night noise and bustle. The swimming pool and hot tub was just what was needed after being on your feet all day, everything clean and well looked after. The room and the beds were very comfortable, never sleep that well at home. We were there to catch up on our kids and there was no problem about them using the facilities as well.
Would have liked the option of a breakfast, but you can,t have everything.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

lets start by saying this is a great place if your looking for affordable accommodation that is reasonable nice. Compared to some hotels for the same price in Whistler it is WAY better.

We stayed just one night here, the staff were friendly but don't expect them to come running to grab your bags because thats not going to happen.
The room is ok, pretty standard in what it has to offer and how it looks, the best part is probably the eveda bathroom products and the king bed is REALLY comfy.

The sauna is nice, and the pool and hot tub are ok but certainly nothing special.

I would stay here again because it's a good deal but if you are looking for somewhere special then you will need to move your price point up.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aava Whistler Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aava Whistler Hotel

Address: 4005 Whistler Way | (On the edge of the village action), Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Whistler
#15 Family Hotel in Whistler
#16 Romantic Hotel in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aava Whistler Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A snowballs throw from the bustling village centre, and a few more footsteps to the Ski lifts, our fun and sociable team welcome our guests with stylish design, modern features, and comfortable and unique amenities.From your moment of arrival in our open and contemporary lobby, you will enjoy details and amenities unique to most village accommodations. From in-room technologies, HDTV channels, complimentary wireless and high speed internet, and iPod docking stations, to our full fitness room, over-size hot tub and year-round outdoor pool, Aava will pamper you with comfort, style, and friendly service.If traveling on business, our meeting spaces, and Banquets and Catering team will ensure the details of your meeting or function are unique and flawless.Come see for yourself - and join us at Aava - A modern mountain escape on the edge of the action in beautiful Whistler Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Aava Whistler Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coast Hotel Whistler
Whistler Coast Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aava Whistler Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.