We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Depressingly ugly, noisy rooms are made almost tolerable by great front end staff.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Aava Whistler Hotel

Save Saved
You added Aava Whistler Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aava Whistler Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4005 Whistler Way | (On the edge of the village action), Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 53 hotels in Whistler
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Depressingly ugly, noisy rooms are made almost tolerable by great front end staff.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Our room was small, the bed was awful. The neighbours were loud, the blinds didn't keep out glaring light, even at night. The staff however were top notch. We will not return. If you do stay here get a room away from the elevator. (Drunks shouting about their conquests after the bars close.) Away from ice machine. (Sounds like a trash compactor)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

848 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    363
    357
    96
    24
    8
See reviews for
211
328
49
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

So I stayed there for 2 night (1-2Mar 2013) on a very short ski trip. The hotel is very clean, service was great and they even have FREE GoPro cameras for clients of the hotel to use (Visa deposit required). Hot tubs were clean and not overly crowded, though I didn't use any of them.

No restaurant in the hotel itself but there's a white spot literally 10 seconds across the hotel.

CONS: Wall are a bit thin and you can hear people cough and walk around. Also outside the "village" boundaries....by about 100M no more.

Room Tip: Pick a room away from elevators...near the ends is better, West wing was my room and middle was &quo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whistler, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Stayed here with my wife and kids found the place to be clean and staff very helpful. The village is noisy at night but the Aava is just far enough away so you do not hear the party at 3am. I stayed in a hotel in the middle of the village last year with a night club underneath and that was tough. Stay here when in Whistler for the money it is the best option.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sussex
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Stayed here over new year, it is a great location however there where more than a few issues,
The hotel doesn't have a bar, there is a restaurant in the grounds but it isn't connected to the hotel.
Wifi, I could connect to the wifi for the first couple of days, the hotel then put signs up saying it was out fault for using it to much, hmmm,m,
No hot water at peak times, 6-8pm, again the hotel put up signs asking us not to use so much hot water.
Hot tub gets mega busy early evening.
We stayed B&B, very limited breakfast menu, or you could pay extra

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I decided on a weekend getaway to Whistler from Vancouver. Being young and frugal we shopped around, waited and finally got a good deal on this hotel. When we arrived, we were efficiently checked in and got a beautiful mountain facing room. It was close to all the late venues of Whistler, so it made for good fun. The staff were nice and professional, they are very laid back and confident as opposed to some chain hotels who can become overly (almost sarcastically) helpful. This hotel does little things to make the difference (bike and snowboard service, rentable gopros, can/bottle recycling in the rooms and pool.) My only complaint is the $20 a night for parking which isn't really stated anywhere.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We have stayed here on two separate occasions and have found the staff friendly, helpful and accommodating. They are a pet friendly hotel which is nice if u are bringing your furry friend along. They are located within a few minutes to the lift and far enough away that you don't hear the party in the village when u want a good night sleep. They have bike and ski storage. They have a hot tub and a pool. The rooms were pretty basic but clean and comfortable. They even have a GoPro you can borrow to record your adventures of the day.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Canaan, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

This was one of the best hotel experiences I've ever had and when it happens on a ski vacation it makes it even better. My son and I traveled to Whistler for the first time during the February school break. The staff is amazingly responsive and helpful - even before we got there by helping arrange airport transfers and ski rentals (at a discount). The hotel is perfectly located - a short walk to the Whistler or Blackcomb gondolas - you can even wear ski boots and walk it easily. The hotel is in Whistler Village and you can somersault to any sort of nightlife that one may want. The hotel is modern and clean - housekeeping is friendly and courteous. Rooms are on the smaller side but who stays in their room? We had the double queen beds, comfortable with plenty of pillows. There is a locker area to store skis/boards that is easy to access. We did not order room service. The hot tub was a nice surprise - when do you find a public hot tub that is maintained and clean? This hot tub is a center for meeting people after a day of skiing so bring the frosties in cans around 5PM and you'll be very popular. The White Spot restaurant is across the street and has an amazing breakfast for $11 and with great service (guests get a 10% discount). The hotel shuttle is a nice feature and helped us transfer our bags to the bus pick-up to start the trip home - a very sad day when we left out friends at the Aava Whistler. This hotel was a First Class Value and worth every cent.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the golf driving range - these face the mountains and no traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aava Whistler Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aava Whistler Hotel

Address: 4005 Whistler Way | (On the edge of the village action), Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Whistler
#14 Romantic Hotel in Whistler
#15 Family Hotel in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aava Whistler Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A snowballs throw from the bustling village centre, and a few more footsteps to the Ski lifts, our fun and sociable team welcome our guests with stylish design, modern features, and comfortable and unique amenities.From your moment of arrival in our open and contemporary lobby, you will enjoy details and amenities unique to most village accommodations. From in-room technologies, HDTV channels, complimentary wireless and high speed internet, and iPod docking stations, to our full fitness room, over-size hot tub and year-round outdoor pool, Aava will pamper you with comfort, style, and friendly service.If traveling on business, our meeting spaces, and Banquets and Catering team will ensure the details of your meeting or function are unique and flawless.Come see for yourself - and join us at Aava - A modern mountain escape on the edge of the action in beautiful Whistler Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Aava Whistler Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coast Hotel Whistler
Whistler Coast Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aava Whistler Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.