We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“solid value for money, will be back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aava Whistler Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Aava Whistler Hotel to your Saves list
Aava Whistler Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4005 Whistler Way | (On the edge of the village action), Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Breakfast Options!
Ranked #16 of 52 Hotels in Whistler
Surrey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“solid value for money, will be back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

We thought it was a great hotel overall. We stayed in other hotels in Whistler and learned that extra $100 does not get you much more than what you'll get at Aava. Clean, modern and spacious rooms. Aveda toiletries were very nice. Pool and hot tub outside helped to relax after a day of hiking. No breakfast, but we like to venture into town anyways, so it didn't bother us. I would recommend this to any budget conscious traveler to Whistler and we'll stay there again

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColinHedderson, General Manager at Aava Whistler Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2011
Thank you for sharing your review "Alex713"

We are happy to hear you enjoyed the Aava Whistler, and our efforts to create a modern alternative to Whistler's more "traditional" accommodations. Exceeding the expected comforts, providing full amenities, while also maintaining a great value for your visit has always been our focus.

Breakfast is available only steps away at the Whistler White Spot- directly across from our doors; or exploring the village as you have enjoyed is highly recommended.

Be sure to let us know when you can escape to Whistler again soon!

Kindest regards,

Colin Hedderson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

972 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    391
    410
    127
    32
    12
See reviews for
238
396
56
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
ontario
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

We ended up at Aava in a round about way but ended up loving it. It's a newer building, extremely clean and comfortable rooms and a 2 minute walk into the village. Opening the window at night, laying there looking at the mountains and feeling the cool mountain breeze felt terrific after leaving the Ontario heatwave.

The front desk staff were exceptional. They took the time to help us with travel directions and were truly interested in our travel plans. It's always great when someone who works at the location takes the time to tell you what could be of interest to you and means it. Even a friendly smile and good morning starts the day off right. We had just left a Vancouver hotel and had experienced the opposite so what a welcome relief!

We did the Canadiana ATV tour and fun wow!! I felt like a piece of popcorn bouncing around behind my husband but would not have missed it for the world.

We would not hesitate to stay at Aava again. Great location, view and people.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColinHedderson, General Manager at Aava Whistler Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2011
Thank you for submitting your kind review "winboOntario"

Glad you were able to escape the Eastern heatwave to Whistler and enjoy the Aava Whistler.

One of my favorite parts of the flavour of Whistler, is the interaction between the visiting guest and our enthusiastic, international, service teams (currently made up of a few Aussies, two Irish lasses, regions of India, the Philippines, heck even a couple of Canadians -among other areas of the world!)

Although often only briefly visiting Whistler as well, this traveling workforce fall quickly in love with Whistler, and are passionate to share their passions and secrets with our guests.

Be sure to speak to Charlene about the best trails to hit on your mountain bike, and Hartman for some of Whistlers many secrets and must do's, - as well the rest of our Guest Service teams for additional recommends!

See you next heat-wave!

Kind regards,

Colin Hedderson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carteret, New Jersey
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

this was perfect for me and 2kids,(12 and 13) AAva is right on the edge of all the fun and activities. Walking distance to everything. We had a great time.

Room Tip: look for online deals,(hotels.com) got me 1 night free
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011 via mobile

We really enjoyed staying at Aava. Its location is just steps from the center of the whistler village, super close and without the loud noises late in the evening. The pool outside and the hot tub were great!! The rooms are clean, all new and fresh and we absolutely loved the white leather headbord - wish we could find one for our own bedroom. Very classy!
Overall a great deal for a nice quiet hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColinHedderson, General Manager at Aava Whistler Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2011
Thank you for posting your review "Larisa1987"

We were happy to hear how much you enjoyed your Aava visit, at the edge of the action in Whistler!
Let me know if you need my assistance in sourcing your white leather headboard!

We hope to see you next escape from Seattle!

Kind regards,

Colin Hedderson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

The Aava hotel is conveniently located about 2 blocks from the main village, and our room literally looked onto the driving range of the Whistler Golf Club. 2 minutes after we checked in my boyfriend looked out the window and decided he needed to at least try the driving range.

The room was comfortable, and the bathoom was clean with a nice tub. We 95% of our awake time somewhere in the Whistler resort, and really appreciated the convenience and lower cost for this hotel. They had a hot tub we enjoyed. Unless you're planning to spend a ton of time in your room and need a very high end room, would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonardtown, MD
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

My first day arriving into Whistler before noon, I was concerned that I would have to wander around the village because generally check-in is after 4pm. The gentleman at the door was extremely helpful, friendly and offered to get my luggage.

It turned out that my room was ready and I could move in right away! The lady at the front desk was all smiles and very friendly as well. The biggest mountain biking event Crankworx had started and the buzz was in the air!

Before I made it to my car, my luggage was already being loaded onto the cart and taken to my room while I parked the car. First impressions say everything and my first 15 minutes were superb!

Once I parked my car and took the elevator to my room, I ran into the doorman and he asked if I wanted the luggage on the floor or on the bed. Very considerate! Throughout the the day and night I was there, the doorman was always smiles and polite. A great advertisement for Aava hotel to everyone coming into the hotel.

When I walked into the room, it was spacious, fresh and airy with cathedral ceilings. With the granite countertop in the bathroom, roomy shower stall, plush Queen bed and A products I was truly impressed.

That night when I went to sleep, it was like falling into a bed of plush, cushy sweetness. The sheets were soft and smelled really fresh. There was no noise coming from any rooms or outside. Great night's rest!

Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel to my friends and family! If this hotel had a kitchenette, I would probably stay here in the future for Crankworx 2012. Yes, I plan on returning to Whistler! If a kitchenette is desired, please ask the hotel if they have any available. I didn't ask for one because I was already booked in a condominium for 2 weeks that had a kitchenette.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

Great location just steps to the Village but nice and quiet, good value but we did have my husband's corporate rate. Rooms were very clean ( I even had a hot bath and usually think hotel tubs are gross!). Rooms are compact but they have everything you need including a mini fridge. The staff was super friendly, fun and helpful. Really appreciated how quickly they offered to call a restaurant and make a reservation for us for dinner, always ready to help and we even giggled over the "rockstar" British mountain biker. One and only complaint, I like to have coffee in my room and even bring my own small bottle of Baileys and the coffee machine only makes two cups at a time. I would prefer at bare minimum the 4 cup mini machines but would love to see a full coffee maker with the option of making a full or half pot. Great place, we will stay there everytime we go from now on.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aava Whistler Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aava Whistler Hotel

Address: 4005 Whistler Way | (On the edge of the village action), Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Whistler
#15 Family Hotel in Whistler
#16 Romantic Hotel in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aava Whistler Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A snowballs throw from the bustling village centre, and a few more footsteps to the Ski lifts, our fun and sociable team welcome our guests with stylish design, modern features, and comfortable and unique amenities.From your moment of arrival in our open and contemporary lobby, you will enjoy details and amenities unique to most village accommodations. From in-room technologies, HDTV channels, complimentary wireless and high speed internet, and iPod docking stations, to our full fitness room, over-size hot tub and year-round outdoor pool, Aava will pamper you with comfort, style, and friendly service.If traveling on business, our meeting spaces, and Banquets and Catering team will ensure the details of your meeting or function are unique and flawless.Come see for yourself - and join us at Aava - A modern mountain escape on the edge of the action in beautiful Whistler Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Aava Whistler Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coast Hotel Whistler
Whistler Coast Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aava Whistler Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.