We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some of the best food I've ever eaten!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alta Bistro

Alta Bistro
Unit 104 | 4319 Main Street, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
+1 604-932-2582
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Alta Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 152 Restaurants in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $25 - $45
Cuisines: French, Contemporary, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: - Open for Dinner only from 5:30pm - Locally inspired cuisine set in a casual bistro atmosphere. Chef Nicholas Cassettari combines his classic training, top tier experience, and world travels with the best of B.C.'S bounty to create the fine flavours at Alta Bistro. Service is casual and prompt in the dining room and bar. The wine list is French focused, with the best of B.C. As well as international selections (many by the glass) with Enomatic machines dispensing fine and eclectic selections to pair with Alta's cuisine. Mixologist Scot Curry behind that bar crafts some of Whistler's finest. The cozy bistro atmosphere is lively and welcoming. Reservations are a must.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Some of the best food I've ever eaten!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Alta Bistro was my favorite restaurant during our 8 day trip to Whistler. Featuring local and sustainable food, imaginatively prepared, this small and unpretentious place was our best meal in Whistler and among the best I've ever had in NYC or Europe. Canadian food? How about elk tartar with a duck mouse? And the wine list was carefully assembled and featured BC ( British Columbian) wines available by the glass and the bottle which our server knowledgably recommend to go with our individual courses. Compared with many of the other well known restaurants in town, the food was an excellent value. I can't wait to come back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    277
    77
    27
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lennox Head, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

My husband and I visited Alta Bistro on high recommendation - and we are so glad we listened and booked in. This restaurant was flawless. We were lucky enough to experience the degustation menu on the night we visited. Each course was absolutely perfect - total taste sensations. The combinations of flavours were the best I've experienced for a long time (if not ever). Wines were matched to each course wonderfully, showcasing many Canadian wines which was great. The cocktails are a must-try, we had two each - they are very reasonably priced and also absolutely delicious.
I can't recommend Alta Bistro enough - it truly ticks all the boxes when it comes to a dining experience. This place is really something special.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“This place is for wine not for food!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

We dine at Alta with very huge expectations but it turned out to be very disapointing.
It was a busy Friday night, but when every other customer got good service we were totally forgotten and had to wait for 40 minutes between our first course and main course. We were starving and very upset. ( especially my teenager son)
When I asked what happened? Server said because it was busy they made mistake to order our second course.
Seems like this place for wine drinker rather than someone who wants to have fine dining experience with teenager who cannot drink wine. The table next us 4 people ordered 4 bottles of wine( while we were there for long time to get main couse we could see.) Seems like we were little bit out of attention while same server deal with big money spender. ( We ordered 2 glasses of wine and 2 ice tea) They apologized and gave us two free dessert but it was too late ...our dinner was already ruined with huge disapointment.
I will strogly recomend someone who is going to drink wine for this place but if you expect regular fine dining enjoy foods, should consider somewhere else.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“So glad we went”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

were a bit intimidated by the menu, but it was great. Every dish was amazing, and they offered to make some of them a bit more kid friendly. great cocktails, cool little room.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent meal at Alta Bistro, warmest welcome in Whistler!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We had an excellent meal at Alta Bistro on our holiday to Whistler. We stumbled in for an early seating with our two small children. No kids menu - hooray! - as this is fine dining, but the kitchen will do small portions of the menu items. My children loved their pork cheeks with forbidden rice risotto. The food was exceptional, the decor warm and cozy, and the service attentive and welcoming. Loved the oysters, pork belly especially. Thank you for a great meal!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alta Bistro also viewed

Whistler, British Columbia
Whistler, British Columbia
 
Whistler, British Columbia
Whistler, British Columbia
 

Been to Alta Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alta Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.