We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food fest menu was marvellous! Wow!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alta Bistro

Alta Bistro
Unit 104 | 4319 Main Street, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
+1 604-932-2582
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Alta Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 167 Restaurants in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $25 - $45
Cuisines: French, Contemporary, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: - Open for Dinner only from 5:30pm - Locally inspired cuisine set in a casual bistro atmosphere. Chef Nicholas Cassettari combines his classic training, top tier experience, and world travels with the best of B.C.'S bounty to create the fine flavours at Alta Bistro. Service is casual and prompt in the dining room and bar. The wine list is French focused, with the best of B.C. As well as international selections (many by the glass) with Enomatic machines dispensing fine and eclectic selections to pair with Alta's cuisine. Mixologist Scot Curry behind that bar crafts some of Whistler's finest. The cozy bistro atmosphere is lively and welcoming. Reservations are a must.
Whitehorse, Canada
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Food fest menu was marvellous! Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Alta Bistro went all out for the Cornucopia Food Festival. They hosted a family style evening meal paired with wines from Laughing Stock Winery. The meal was amazing. The Pinot Gris with the oysters was light, fresh and heavenly. The Chardonnay was crisp and perfectly paired with mackerel and roast potatoes and onions. The Syrah and a Kobe-style organically raised beef from Alberta combo blew my mind and my taste buds. The Portfolio red wine mix with the charcuterie plate was a delight. The service was on the ball - constantly providing water and answering questions. The wait staff was also good humoured… as you can imagine, we got a bit silly with all that wine. The evening ended with a mulled wine sorbet. Wow! A wonderful spot and a memorable night. We were in a booth in the corner and we could watch the evening unfold. Great spot but bring a sweater for the booth as we found it a bit cool. Alta Bistro sets the bar high!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    277
    77
    26
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whistler, Canada
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“One of my favorit restaurants in Whistler”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

The menu does not seem to be big but it is enough to go several times without that it get's boring. The portions are good and the wine pairing, if you ask for is fun, even that you will pay more for your wines than your dishes. The atmosphere is a mix between Bistro, wood, paintings, casual but combined with Service and knowledge which is one step up. A restaurant I would recommend to go every evening as much as for special occasions. It is fun, good in all aspects and for what you get not expensive at all. Not the last time I went for dinner.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“It's own style and clear about it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We ate several times at Alta Bistro and had very consistent experiences. The menu has just enough options and features local products, real local products. The Chef "has a thing" for textures AND delivers on it very well: you get surprised by "crispy bites" in many courses, not at the expense of the flavor or overall balance of the dish. The very solid kitchen execution suggests to me that the team "at the back" encompasses skilled and trained professionals.

While the service appear casual at first glance, don't be fooled, these guys do not miss a beat! Friendly, a step ahead of your needs, attentive and nice to chat with.

Eating at Alta Bistro reminds of having conversations with people that are comfortable in their own skin: easy going, clear about what they stand for, not mimicking anyone else ...enjoyable for all involved.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Fabulous Salmon Entree”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Alta Bistro had a special 3-courses for $19 when we dined and it was overall very good. The best part was the salmon entree, wonderfully prepared and very creative. The salad and dessert were good, not great, which is why only 4/5 rating. Service was top notch. We would go again, and probably will in December during ski season.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
1 review
“SO Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Had one of the most thoughtful, enjoyable meals here. Tiny place, big heart. We we kept waiting for a while, and the staff at Alta made sure our wait was enjoyable, with a round of complimentary drinks and a charcuterie platter. An excellent table d'hôte as well! Love, love, love Alta :)

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alta Bistro also viewed

Whistler, British Columbia
Whistler, British Columbia
 
Whistler, British Columbia
Whistler, British Columbia
 

Been to Alta Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alta Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.