We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room 561” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aspens on Blackcomb

Save Saved
You added Aspens on Blackcomb to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aspens on Blackcomb
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4800 Spearhead Drive, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 52 hotels in Whistler
Vancouver
1 review
“Room 561”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We had to wait a long time to check-in as there was only one person serving a line of about ten people.There needs to be more support at the front desk as guests were also trying to get pool towels and the phone also had to be answered while checking in the guests.

Our room had an open layout with good air flow during temperatures during high 20s temperatures. We like the warmer side of things so didn't feel we needed air-con. The room was tastefully decorated but the carpet was heavily stained and needs to be replaced/cleaned. The balcony was a good size and we enjoyed the evening sunsets. However our room overlooked the pool so there was a much noise for most of the day.The kitchen was stocked with basic kitchen supplies.

The elevator was very slow so we often took the stairs. You can walk/ski in & out easily from this hotel to the Upper Village.At the time of our stay, there were many big groups of kids who were running through the hallways.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RQWManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Aspens on Blackcomb, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review, we are truly sorry that you felt that our staff were not aquipped enough to handle the amount of people at time of check in, unfortunaly as it is summer, we loose alot of our seasonal staff and find it quite hard to re fill those positions, with limited people in town.
We are very happy that's you felt your room was Of a good standard, with regards to the carpet, I will ensure that the owner of that unit is contacted to discuss.
ResortQuest are sorry that you felt the hallways were over run by children, we do our best to minimize noise for our other guests, but Unfortunatly can not control other peoples children. As Whistler in the summer is very child orientated, we do get a lot of groups with children.

Again thank you for your review, And we hope to see you visit us again soon.

Warmest Regards
Emma Sanderson
Guest Service Manager
ResortQuest Whistler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    65
    38
    13
    12
See reviews for
78
34
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Wa
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Pros: One of the few real ski in/out sites in Whistler. Quieter location than properties right in the Village.

Cons: There was only ever one front desk person and she was so overworked. You have to line up at the desk for everything--first, when you arrive and need a card to get into the parking garage; to get a key to get into the pool, etc. Having to wait after a long trip at the front desk, while others check in or get problems resolved, just to get your car into the garage is a real hassle. They need better staffing up front.

The elevators are woefully in adequate for the size of the complex--it'll take forever to get one on the morning, when everyone's heading out to ski. It might be fine in the summer, when taking the stairs is an option, but it's not an option to walk down 4 flights of stairs in ski boots. And I wonder about their maintenance--a staff member told us she'd been stuck in the elevator for 4 hours on Christmas Day. If I were to stay here again, I would only consider a ground floor unit.

You pay for parking here. I almost never pay when I rent a condo in Whistler Village or Village North, but for some reason the Blackcomb properties usually charge.

Neutral: if you need groceries or want to walk to dinner, you'll either need to take the bus or walk up and down about 200 yards of ski slope. There's no real grocery at Blackcomb so you need to walk about 15 minutes to the one in Whistler (or bus). So this unit is best for people that load up on groceries and are planning on staying in at night, or who don't mind being further from stores and restaurants.

Room Tip: Choose a ground floor unit so you can avoid the elevator situation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RQWManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Aspens on Blackcomb, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thank you for takaing the time to write this review, although after very carefull investigation I understand that you were not a ResortQuest Whistler guest, but a blackcombe peaks, on behalf of our staff we would like to apologize that you felt our front desk agents were quite busy, we are working hard to try and solve that problem.

On the separate note of a member of The Aspens team informing you of being stuck in the elevator,
It has come to my attention that that member of staff is not employed by ResortQuest Whistler but the strata company employed by the owners corporation. I have passed on your concerns to them and can only apologize to you.

We do hope that if there is a next time that you choose to come and visit Whistler, that you choose ResortQuest Whistler

Regards

Emma Sanderson
Guest Relations Manager
ResortQuest Whistler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

We stayed here on a Groupon purchase, so the value was very good for the money. We had multiple reasons for being in Whistler: seeing friends, attending a wedding, and getting in some mountain biking.

Pretty much saw the same front desk staff person the entire time we were there, and she was very helpful (though I imagine a little overworked). Check in was efficient, though you are given a lot of "stuff" (key cards, fob for entry into bike locker and pool area, and towel cards). We noticed that every door had a different entry system so I assume each owner installs what they want.

Parking was $15/day, which we were informed of in advance of our arrival. Bikes are not allowed in the condo (fair enough--they can do a lot of damage) and there is a bike locker in the parkade. We did not park our bikes there because it is not in the gated area of the parkade, so we didn't feel it was as safe as locking it directly to our car. Bike thefts are not uncommon in Whistler.

Suite was a standard 1-bedroom condo. Wireless was available, kitchen appeared to have everything you would need (we didn't use it much). We were on the main floor so we had to make sure to lock our windows and balcony doors before departing, but that's pretty standard. Hot water was intermittent, but we didn't find it to be an issue given the warm weather so we just let the front desk know when we checked out (they said they would look into it). They accommodated a late checkout, which was very helpful as I believe standard checkout time was 10:00 am.

Location was great, especially since we don't like to be in the heart of Whistler. We usually stay on the Blackcomb side because it's a little quieter, especially in the evening. A short walk along well-travelled trails gets you to Whistler village quickly, and even faster on bikes.

Didn't try the pool but it seemed to be busy most of the day.

This is not a place you would stay if you're looking for pampering, valet parking, housekeeping, and turn down service. This is a "do it yourself" kind of place, and it is likely popular with families, groups of friends, and those that like to cook their own food while on vacation. We've stayed here in winter (for skiing) and in summer (for mountain biking) and the location really can't be beat. Otherwise, it's a good condo, of the standard you would expect with short term rentals.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RQWManagement, Manager at Aspens on Blackcomb, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Thank you so much for your review, it truly is a pleasure to read reviews like this with happy customers.
ResortQuest Whistler is very happy to hear that your stay was enjoyable:)
Again thank you so much

Warmest Regards
Emma Sanderson
Guest Service Manager
ResortQuest Whistler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

The King size bed was (2) singles squished together and they kept separating all night and it was bed you would expect at a lower class hotel. There was one fan for the entire suite, which puzzled me as it was 30 degrees during the day and very hot into the evenings. There was also a very ignorant security guard that was recently hired to "watch" the pool. I have stayed at the Aspens more than 70 times and my family owns in the complex. All in all a failing grade for this visit and would not rent this same unit again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Whistler Blackcomb.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RQWManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Aspens on Blackcomb, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, although when I read this I was a little saddened, we wish that all guests of staying with ResortQuest Whistler at The Aspens on Blackcomb have a exceptional experience!

With regards to the bed and fan, I have sent this request to our maintence department to discuss with the owner replacing them.
As ResortQuest would love to be able to have a say with regards to the strata staff, unfortunately that is decided by the strata company in place and the owners. I will however pass on your comments to them.

On behalf of The Aspens on Blackcomb we do hope that you come back and enjoy our hotel, and if you have any questions in the future, do not hesitate to contact me.

Warmest Regards
Emma Fukushima (nee Sanderson)
Guest Service Manager
ResortQuest Whistler
esanderson@resortquestwhistler.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012 via mobile

Our stay in Whistler was very good. Our accommodation was ideally situated. There was easy access to many services and facilities. Our confirmation was good and it contained good directions and instructions. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RQWManagement, Manager at Aspens on Blackcomb, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review.
On behalf of ResortQuest Whistler we are so very pleased that you enjoyed your stay, we truly hope to see you again soon


Warmest Regards
Emma Sanderson
Guest Service Manager
ResortQuest Whistler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed here with a group of families attending a kids baseball tournament hosted by W histler. The room was very large, we had a 1 bedroom suite with a king bed in the bedroom and a pullout queen size in the couch. Our room was located across from the pool and we were able to access from our large sundeck. The weekend we were there happened to be the warmest day of the summer so far, so great to have the pool so close...but not so great in the room without Air conditioning. It was 35 celsius during the day and we couldn't cool down the room at night. Needless to say we had very little sleep the 2 nights we were there.
Other than the AC issue, not a bad hotel to stay in.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RQWManagement, Manager at Aspens on Blackcomb, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this review.
On behalf of ResortQuest Whistler we are glad that overall your stay was nice, we do understand the frustrations with regards to no AC and have put this forward to the council of owners to look at, as all the units in most of the hotels in whistler are privately owned it is the owners final desicion as to what amenities are put in the hotel.
We do thank you for your feed back and hope you come back again soon


Warmest Regards
Emma Sanderson
Guest Service Manager
ResortQuest Whistler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

We booked a 1 bedroom, it was roomy enough and had all the amenities including the kitchen and fireplace. Great location just above the Fairmont overlooking the lift. They had a tv in the main room but none in the bedroom. Overall great value.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Whistler Blackcomb.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RQWManagement, Manager at Aspens on Blackcomb, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Thank you so much for your review, we are so very glad that you enjoyed your stay.
On behalf of ResortQuest Whistler we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warmest Regards
Emma Sanderson
Guest Service Manager
ResortQuest Whistler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aspens on Blackcomb? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspens on Blackcomb

Address: 4800 Spearhead Drive, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 52 hotels in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aspens on Blackcomb 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to stay at The Aspens on Blackcomb, a gorgeous Whistler resort with individually-decorated furnishings and the option of spectacular mountain views. Centrally located in North America’s top ski resort, you’ll be able to hit the slopes straight from your front door. The Aspens on Blackcomb is the perfect romantic getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Aspens on Blackcomb reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aspens on Blackcomb, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.