We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big Rooms, No AC” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aspens on Blackcomb

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Aspens on Blackcomb to your Saves list
Aspens on Blackcomb
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4800 Spearhead Drive, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 52 Hotels in Whistler
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Big Rooms, No AC”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed here with a group of families attending a kids baseball tournament hosted by W histler. The room was very large, we had a 1 bedroom suite with a king bed in the bedroom and a pullout queen size in the couch. Our room was located across from the pool and we were able to access from our large sundeck. The weekend we were there happened to be the warmest day of the summer so far, so great to have the pool so close...but not so great in the room without Air conditioning. It was 35 celsius during the day and we couldn't cool down the room at night. Needless to say we had very little sleep the 2 nights we were there.
Other than the AC issue, not a bad hotel to stay in.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RQWManagement, Manager at Aspens on Blackcomb, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this review.
On behalf of ResortQuest Whistler we are glad that overall your stay was nice, we do understand the frustrations with regards to no AC and have put this forward to the council of owners to look at, as all the units in most of the hotels in whistler are privately owned it is the owners final desicion as to what amenities are put in the hotel.
We do thank you for your feed back and hope you come back again soon


Warmest Regards
Emma Sanderson
Guest Service Manager
ResortQuest Whistler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    72
    42
    14
    14
See reviews for
86
35
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

We booked a 1 bedroom, it was roomy enough and had all the amenities including the kitchen and fireplace. Great location just above the Fairmont overlooking the lift. They had a tv in the main room but none in the bedroom. Overall great value.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Whistler Blackcomb.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RQWManagement, Manager at Aspens on Blackcomb, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Thank you so much for your review, we are so very glad that you enjoyed your stay.
On behalf of ResortQuest Whistler we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warmest Regards
Emma Sanderson
Guest Service Manager
ResortQuest Whistler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

This summer was the scene for a ski race camp at Whistler. We have stayed on both the Whistler and Balckcomb mountains. They have different advantages. We stayed at the Aspens as this is where the race camp prefer, and the ski storage, meetings etc all take place here. You can do better - Le Chamois is right opposite the lift and well appointed!

Room Tip: We had a 2 bedroomed apt on the 3rd floor. This location is perfect - the accommodation is average...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RQWManagement, Manager at Aspens on Blackcomb, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Thank you for your review, on behalf of my self and ResortQuest Whistler we are glad that your stay was enjoyable.
Whistler hope to see you again soon

Warmest Regards
Emma Sanderson
Guest Service Manager
ResortQuest Whistler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We stayed here as a group participating in the Tough Mudder competition in June 2012. We had a two bedroom, two bathroom, unit with full kitchen. The full-kitchen really helped cut our dining-out costs down as we ate over half our meals in the unit. There was a pull-out couch in the living room as well, and a small dining area. There was a covered deck off the dining area to enjoy some fresh-air. This was a great place to stay and I think we'd stay here in the Winter to ski as well because of it's proximity to the lifts. It is also an easy walk to restaurants. We ate at Milestones which is only about a two minute walk down a trail along the ski area. It is also only about a 20 minute walk into the Whistler Village via trails, although you can also stick to the roads. The unit we had was well stocked with towels, blankets and pillows. The unit as a whole was in great condition. We were not in the room much, but they did have a radio, tv, dvd player, etc. The complex does have a pool and hot-tubs which always had people in them, but we didn't try them out. We had to pay $15/day for parking through a machine in the lobby. When we arrived we had time to park, drop our gear in our room, and straight to the lobby to buy a parking pass (total of about 15 minutes), and by the time we got back to the parking area, there was a guy walking around handing out tickets. So when you arrive, make sure you get your parking pass immediately! Overall a great stay, and we'll likely stay there again.

Room Tip: Make sure you buy a parking pass as soon as you arrive!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RQWManagement, Manager at Aspens on Blackcomb, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Thank you so much for your review.
ResortQuest are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the tough mudder.
We do thank you for the information on the parking attendant, and will mention this to the start company who deals with the parkade and parking tickets.
Again thank you and we hope you had fun in the tough mudder.

Warmest Regards
Emma Sanderson
Guest Service Manager
ResortQuest Whistler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

Our Groupon Nightmare,
Very long story but,
I was required to pay an additional 14% fee above and beyond my Groupon purchase when reserving a date. To make matters worse, I had only one choice of weekend available.
We arrived at 11:20 pm to check in. The complex was overly quiet and looked abandoned as if nobody was staying there.
Desk person "Colin" informed us that only one room was available for us even though our confirmation was for a different, much more desirable room (201).
We journeyed up to room 336 (back of the building) and was surprised to be greeted by a room that stunk of smoke the moment that we opened the door. After less than a minute my date was congested due to her smoke allergy and therefore we ventured back down to the front desk.
Once there, Colin, again reinforced to us that "this is all that we have for you..."
After a few minutes of us politely asking to speak to a manager he mysteriously was able to locate another vacant room. This was room 129.
We arrived in room 129, which was the last room at the end of the complex. Very cold and not at all inviting. No sooner did we close the door we were alarmed by the disturbing noise of the underground parkade security door opening directly below us. The only thing that I have heard that parallels this sound is sitting directly above the landing gear in an airplane when it is being activated.
Rather than call down, we made another trip down to Colin at the front desk.
Again, he insisted this time, " this is the only room left this weekend, you better take it. "
We looked at the time realizing that it was now 12:15 am (55 minutes) after first arriving.
Again, I politely asked to speak to a manager. At this stage, Colin phones "David" who echoed the same message as we had been told before. " This is the only room left this weekend, you better take it... "
Upon further discussion of wanting our money back, David asked to speak to Colin on the phone.
As they were speaking on the phone, my date pointed out to me a mouse running on the floor behind the front desk counter. I pointed this out to Colin, who proceeded to deny the obvious mouse that was there.
I again asked to be reimbursed for the cost of my prepaid stay and was denied.
All of a sudden, Colin announces that he found another room. Room 214.
We go up to room 214 and find red ants on the floor in the kitchen. I immediately walk into the bedroom and draw the sheets back to find 3 red ants running to safety in the bed sheets.
It is now 12:55 am (95 minutes after arriving) and we still do not have a room to stay in for the weekend.
When we arrive back down at the front desk Colin is waiting with the phone and immediately gives me the phone to speak with David.
I explain to him that we are very dissatisfied with the appalling service, completely inappropriate and unhygienic property and demand a full refund.
David then comes back to me with an offer to upgrade into a 2 bedroom unit for $ 171 more because our "Groupon" deal was not enough.
In the end, exhausted and frustrated, we left the complex early the next morning as we had no other option at 1:20 am but to stay for the night. (2 hours after we arrived)
I left the whole experience completely embarrassed in front of my date, utterly lied to by both of the resorts staff and completely soured by the whole experience. To make matters worse, we were now forced to find and pay for another accommodation for our stay as they refused our request to refund our money.
My recommendation is that Groupon “black list” this vendor. I recommend this due to the very poor level of service and unacceptable offering for the product.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RQWManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Aspens on Blackcomb, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your lengly review, it is sadens us to hear that your expectations were not met, we do try to pride ourselves on exceeding our guests experiences.

ResortQuest sincerely apologies that you felt the rooms that you were given we're not to your satisfaction, we however are a property management company and in turn all our units are privately owned, this can cause a problem with our guest as all our units are not the same style or decor. Some owners choose to invest in their unit and some don't, but Unfortunatly as we do not own the units we can't not make that desicion.
I can assure you that if we were not fully booked, we would have done everything in our power to accommodate you in the best room we could find, we do however try to be fair to our guests and our owners and work on a first come, first served rotaion basis of our units. Along with most of Whistler The Aspens is a fragmented building and in turn we do not manage all of the units, so it may not look full, but it is for us and the units we manage.

With regards to the 14% you were asked to pay on top of your groupon price,, that Unfortunatly is pretty standard with any service that you buy on groupn, but I do understand that it still may be frustrating.
ResortQuest do hope that you will some day come back and enjoy Whistler, even if it is not with us.

Warmest Regards
Emma Sanderson
Guest Servicd Manager
ResortQuest Whistler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

My husband and I went 10+ years ago, and the accommodations were quite nice then. Now we visited Whistler as a family and it doesn't stand out like it did. It is still a decent place to stay, if you are not looking for much extra and you know your way around, but otherwise, keep expectations low. Would only stay again, if we can get a deal (eg. <$90/night).

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RQWManagement, Manager at Aspens on Blackcomb, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Thank you for your review, it is sad to hear that your expectations were not met on your stay this time around, ResortQuest Whistler do however hope that you come back one day and fall in love with Whister again.

Warmest Regards
Emma Sanderson
Guest Servicd Manager
ResortQuest Whistler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

We were thoroughly disappointed. Right from check-in and onwards we were shocked at how rude the staff was. I thought this was a tourist destination, high on hospitality, we experienced none of it. We will not go back. It was our first time to Whistler and we have told everyone how much of a let-down it was. Nothing was easy, many trips to reception, which could have been avoided if the staff was just the slightlest bit friendly or helpful. Made very clear from the start that they did not want to answer any of our questions and that the policy was "less is best". One example: there was only one plate and two cups, when we went back to the reception desk to inquire about this, we were told "look in the dishwasher". When I first enter the suite on my "trip away".. I don't think I should have to empty the dishwasher! Food still left in the fridge and it carried on from there...

Room Tip: Don't go to whistler, service was horrible no matter where we went. I get the feeling that too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RQWManagement, Manager at Aspens on Blackcomb, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, when I read this I was horrified by the lack of customer service you not only revied from us but other places in Whistler.
Whistler does pride itself on good customer service and although that can be hard sometimes with the amount of transient staff, it is still not acceptable.

I have certainly looked in to the way that our staff delt with your stay, all ResortQuest can do is apologize, feel free to contact me if you have any further questions or concerns

Warmest Regards
Emma Sanderson
Guest Servicd Manager
ResortQuest Whistler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Aspens on Blackcomb? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspens on Blackcomb

Address: 4800 Spearhead Drive, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B4, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 52 Hotels in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aspens on Blackcomb 3.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to stay at The Aspens on Blackcomb, a gorgeous Whistler resort with individually-decorated furnishings and the option of spectacular mountain views. Centrally located in North America’s top ski resort, you’ll be able to hit the slopes straight from your front door. The Aspens on Blackcomb is the perfect romantic getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Aspens on Blackcomb reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aspens on Blackcomb, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.