We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, Hospitable, Delightful, Delicious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Durlacher Hof Alpine Country Inn

Durlacher Hof Alpine Country Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whistler
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Durlacher Hof Alpine Country Inn
7055 Nesters Road, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B7, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 19 Whistler B&B and Inns
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Charming, Hospitable, Delightful, Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2010

I highly highly recommend this place. Owners Ericka and Peter were an absolute delight. We only intended to stay one night, but as soon as we got there, I asked my husband to book a second night. We enjoyed jacuzzis both night in our charming bedroom, and delicious Austrian-flavored smorgasbords in the morning for breakfast. So much better than paying high prices for a non-personalized hotel stay. As we left, we were taking pictures with the owners as they bid us a very personal goodbye. Stay at this location!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    2
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
1
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2010

Poor value for money but good location. No TV in the bedrooms but there was a radio. The bed was very uncomfortable as it squeaked, woke up every time we moved. Was offered a change of room but when the internet didn't work we chose to leave to a different accommodation in town. The crashing internet sealed the deal for us to leave. The hostess was lovely and accommodating. Breakfast was good but you wouldnt want to be too hungry. We were asked what we wanted for breakfast and then arrived downstairs in the morning to discover the boss had told the hostess to change the menu and not provide us our request. A big disappointment. We also weren't allowed to use the kitchen for our own meals either which is important to us as the food in Whistler is highly expensive!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2009

We just completed another relaxing stay at the Durlacher Hof. This is truly a wonderful setting upon which memories are made. The hosts, Erika and Peter go out of their way to make guests feel welcome. The setting is very convenient to the various activities offered at Whistler. Rooms are generous and very well appointed. Breakfasts were delicious offering a variety of hot and cold items and fresh fruit.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2009

We were grateful to have stayed with Peter and Erika ( the Innkeepers) at Durlacher Hof in beautiful Whistler. We loved the cooking and all the attention to detail in our room. They made great recommendations for dinners at the local restaurants and activities.

  • Liked — Clean rooms and great breakfasts
  • Disliked — Nothing I can think of.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunnen
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2009

Your lovely pension is the nicest place we have stayed at. Just like being at home and with your hospitality Peter and Erika. We so enjoyed everything here. the food which was delicious, comfortable
very clean rooms and beds. all this and such beautiful scenery, and also the young staff you have is so very interesting. and helpful. we wish you luck in the years ahead, and we certainly will tell all our friends about the Durlacher Hof. Thank you again, The Schopfer's from the Swiss.

  • Liked — Hospitality. food and cleanliness
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2007

We just returned from a fantastic skiing holiday at Whistler and are very lucky that we stayed at Durlacher Hof. This Bed an Breakfast is absolutely unique and wonderful. The hosts put every effort to make the stay for their guests as comfortable as possible. The traditional
styled house is very authentic and the rooms are very clean. Absolutely remarkable is the Austrian breakfast which is delicious and gives you power for a marvellous skiing day. The Durlacher Hof was definitely beyond our expections!

  • Liked — Awesome Breakfast
  • Disliked — we just loved everything
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2007

We stayed at the Durlacher during winter 2006 based on recommendations in Frommers as well as online reviews. The best thing we can say abou the Durlacher is that the place was kept clean. We were extremely disappointed throughout our entire stay. The owners, once praised hosts by many magazine articles proudly displayed at the entrance, have run out out of steam. Throughout our stay we heard many stories about how difficult it is to run the B&B these days. Staff shortages were noticeable. Our first day we did not have our room cleaned. Each day breakfast was dull and uninspiring with many excuses from the host. The jacuzzi, one of the reasons we chose the palce, was broken. It was not fixed until the third day. Then the owners burdened us with stories about the repair history and cost.s Despite promises to turn the temperture up, the jacuzzi remained cold throughout our stay making it unuseable. Breakfast was booooooooooring. We had basically a quick and dirty version of a traditional Austrian breakfast. Muesli everyday and an egg dish. Sometimes we had Austrian pancakes (like a pancake.crepe fusion) that were often over cooked and tough. The room we had was for 3 people. It was probably the most bland of all the rooms. I have seen better college dorms. There was no character, old sheets, and nothing on the walls. The worst was that we had a problem with the cost of our room. We booked months in advance and received an email confirmation of the price. When we called to confirm the day before, they owners stated that we were quoted the incorrect price. After some haggling they agreed to honor the price. The afternoon tea appeared some days and needed to be asked for on others. They fireplaces were not used during our stay until the last day. The owners told us that they only use them when the temp goes really low. It just demonstrated to us that the owners cared more about controlling their costs that creating atmosphere and comfort for their guests. What a pity! Ultimately, if you want to stay at a B&B in Whistler, look elsewhere. The Durlacher days are done. The owners are tired. Spare yourself the headaches and the complaints. Owners should really sell it before the reputation really goes down the drain.

  • Stayed February 2007
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graz7, owner and manager at Durlacher Hof Alpine Country Inn, responded to this review, February 13, 2007
We sincerely appreciate your comments, and regret that you where so deeply dissappointed. It is unfortunate as other guests had different views. after a great Christmas and New Years 2 weeks. " Your arrival on New Years Day, " well we truly where exhausted after the very busy Holiday Season. You may wish to note that when reservation was made, it was requested ,a very budget price, for 3 people in a room. at this winter season. This will reflect why your room may have been bland., in your opinion.
It is difficult to clean a room, when one member is in the room most of the day. So very sorry your breakfast
was not as you had imagined. Yes we did have problems getting our service provider for the Hot tub
to do the repair, necessary after the freeze at Christmas. ( this was out of our control) Fireplace, we would have been pleased to make a Fire, If you wished to be in the lounge and enjoy, all that was necessaary was to ask. Each guest room has individual heat control, so it is certainly no for heat purposes, rather than for esthetics. We do heat with the Kacheloffen as well which permeates throught out the house from the Wood stove.

We certainly do appreciate your comments, and thank you for the time to note them. We will certainly take your comments to heart and address the issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Durlacher Hof Alpine Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durlacher Hof Alpine Country Inn

Address: 7055 Nesters Road, Whistler, British Columbia V0N 1B7, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Whistler
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Whistler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer a unique touch of the Tyrol in Austrian style lodging. Durlacher Hof is spacious and luxurious, with eight exclusive rooms designed for your comfort and personal needs. After a restful night in one of our gracefully appointed rooms, let us entice you with an old-world breakfast, replete with steaming coffee, homemade bread, and a selection of mouth-watering entrees to get you ready for the day ahead. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Country Inn Whistler
Whistler Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Durlacher Hof Alpine Country Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Durlacher Hof Alpine Country Inn to your Saves list